06/01 Java PMPS 92 +2 140 back in the green! Hold current dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lovely!
I think we should be holding this dose based on protocol as we are seeing nice green nadirs - but should we fatten it up to try and work through the bounces he has after about 3 cycles? Or, do we just let his body adjust?
Lantus dosing is based on nadir, with only some consideration given to PS values .
This dose is still showing action. If it should go stale then an increase of 0.25u would be appropriate.
The bounces will work themselves out over time as his body adjusts to him spending increasingly longer chunks of time in normal numbers. That is where the healing takes place
- and healing can take time. Go with the flow.:cool:

Step back from the screen a bit an look at the last two weeks on the ss - then scroll up to the 2 weeks prior to that- See the change? A whole lot more green on the scene. ( It's pretty common for the PMPSs to go green before the AMPSs.)


You are doing great!

 
Perfect thanks! :)

That's an interesting comment re dose going stale.......is there anything that causes this? Or is it just a pancreas not healing and the body becoming more dependent on insulin?

C
 
I agree with Sandy - I'd hang onto a dose that keeps getting Java back into the greens.

There are a number of things that can cause a dose to "go stale". I've seen some people say a dose no longer works due to things like weather/time of year. Who knows? Insulin is a hormone so not so predictable. Neko's diabetes is caused by a benign pituitary tumor (acromegaly) and it can every once in a while rev up or down. She also has/had Insulin Auto Antibodies which was a big part of her dose going stale when she was newly diagnosed. The antibodies would grab onto the insulin (foreign body injected) so it couldn't do it's job. But I've also seen seasonal changes, the last two years she's had to go up dose in October. Dunno why. Just is.
 
Thanks Wendy! Java is wearing green at the moment so we will stay with the 5.75 and cross fingers for a little bit of healing :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top