06/01, Apollo, AMPS 160, +2 = 68

Desi D

Member Since 2022
Ok I'm still learning this and attempting my best at regulating using TR but the last few days my Apollo has been stressing me out.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...APCx9bgynkBABtO3Bt5m5Wafo/edit#gid=1760804571

A week ago I did a full curve on his dosage of 2.5 (the first few weeks were advice going from the vet and were crazy so I started over from the first glucose curve I had done at 2.0 units). Everything seemed decent on his 2.5 dosage. I had planned to continue and do another curve at the end of this week to see if it's holding steady or I could reduce it/increase it as necessary based on guidelines.

Then on May 30 his AMPS was way lower than it had been so I gave a reduced shot (both AM and PM) and was home all day to monitor. No issue. Next morning go back to his normal dosage but unfortunately I was working and my husband fails at testing so I couldn't get home to test/PM shot until his usual +1. I gave him a token dose because he was so low. Was this right?

This morning he was back again to his "normal" AMPS levels so back to full dose of 2.5. Now suddenly at +2 he's back to 68. I've already given him a little more carbs and will be home all morning/afternoon to monitor.

What I can't figure out now is what dosage should I be giving him this evening. I'll be gone from 6pm-10pm so can't monitor easily. Also I don't want to keep changing his dosage levels and want to be able to hold it steady.

What am I doing wrong or need to fix with his dosage? I can't be home all day/everday to monitor and the days my husband is home he can monitor behavior but is still learning how to test (he's unfortunately afraid of blood and needles so huge learning curve). Is it normal with Lantus that they start having this low of preshot levels and stay leveled out??? Any other advice is helpful.
 
I'm no expert, as I've only been at this for a month, but I think consistency is key.

Once Faraday started seeing greens regularly (and a mix of blues and greens), I held the dose (and am still doing so). It means you've found a good dose of insulin for your kitty and need to keep it up! But ECID, and I can only speak from my/Faraday's experience!

ETA: if you have a look at Faraday's SS, you can see that blue AMPS were coupled with green PMPS #s for a while before things went green on both AM and PMPSs.
 
I'm no expert, as I've only been at this for a month, but I think consistency is key.

Once Faraday started seeing greens regularly (and a mix of blues and greens), I held the dose (and am still doing so). It means you've found a good dose of insulin for your kitty and need to keep it up! But ECID, and I can only speak from my/Faraday's experience!

ETA: if you have a look at Faraday's SS, you can see that blue AMPS were coupled with green PMPS #s for a while before things went green on both AM and PMPSs.
Thanks for the share! It still scares me to shoot that low honestly, especially if I know I won't be home to watch/monitor the cat for awhile. I guess I just need to get used to it and start trusting a little bit more and get a few more curves done to where I feel more confident of when he hits his low. Definitely didn't help that my boy didn't want to eat much the previous 2 days.
 
Back
Top