05/5 AMPS19.7 looking for input

Catrina

Member Since 2023
I feel like Molsons BG numbers just keep going up. I don’t see much progress or improvement even with dose increases… is this normal? Should I increase him to 2u from 1.5 maybe that will make a difference? Rather than increasing by 0.25u. I feel like when he first started insulin he was getting better Bg levels then he is now. It’s like it’s stopped working :(
 
Link to previous posts:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/looking-for-advice-on-dosing.276299/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/spreadsheet-question.276084/

Since you are following SLGS, you would increase the dose only once a week. You don't have enough tests to see how low a dose is taking Molson. The odd blues that you see show that the insulin is indeed working and he is going lower - we just don't know how low and whether he needs more insulin or less!

Is it possible to do a curve once a week or better still get a spot check whenever you can in the day or night? When is the baby due? I'm sure you have a lot on your plate right now!
 
Link to previous posts:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/looking-for-advice-on-dosing.276299/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/spreadsheet-question.276084/

Since you are following SLGS, you would increase the dose only once a week. You don't have enough tests to see how low a dose is taking Molson. The odd blues that you see show that the insulin is indeed working and he is going lower - we just don't know how low and whether he needs more insulin or less!

Is it possible to do a curve once a week or better still get a spot check whenever you can in the day or night? When is the baby due? I'm sure you have a lot on your plate right now!


I’ve been doing a curve once a week on saturdays. I feel like he gets odd blues but then goes right up to purple again. Where as before he was a lot of yellows so idk what’s better (odd blues and a lot of purples or slot of yellows)

I try to do random day time tests randomly in the week in between curves on saturdays. I am going to do a curve this Saturday as well and if his nadir is above 8.3 I will increase by 0.25u I guess. It’s just so discouraging cuz I still don’t see much progress and I’ve been seeing a lot of 20s lately..

Baby has arrived! Thank goodness for my husband doing all of Molson tests and insulin shots since my hands are tied with breastfeeding a newborn haha
 
The pinks you are seeing are just his body's reaction to the lower numbers that it is not used to. We call it bouncing. As his body get used to lower numbers, the bouncing will reduce and he will "flatten out".

Congrats on the baby! It's good that you have your husband's help with testing. A newborn and a sugarcat are too much for one person to deal with!
 
Back
Top