05-3 Ella +11=454 pmps 474 (data?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257

Hmmm..well she went back to 337 in a hour...That is weird. So much for getting excited!. What to do now (question mark)I guess I cant be sure if that yellow was indeed a yellow. I guess I should have gotten a bg at around +7 or 8.
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

When you get a test thay seems questionable, you can do another test to make sure. Like, for example, now, you could test again to make sure the 337 is correct.
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

I hate to this but I feel I shot myself in the foot a bit by not waking up to do some late night tests. Without data, I am not sure I feel comfortable putting insulin in her is she just raised a 100 points in an hour. That may indicate that she could drop that much too which would still be safe but who knows where she would go from there. I cant come home at lunch so i think it is the best decision. Arghh...I wish I was home today or I wish it was night time. Tomorrow I can get a +2 and come home for lunch although I know I will be depelting the shed again so I am messin with the numbers. Boo hiss!!!
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

Hi Dyana,

Yes I tested again at 331 but can we cant say for certain that is wasnt 257 at +11 although it seems that way though. gah...i should have tested again!
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

One of these days you will be able to shoot and leave for the day. If you're not ready, that's okay. I know you've been through a lot with Ella. We can start again, tonight. Eventually, you'll want to get her on a consistant dose. I hope with Ella being Ella, we get to that point soon.

Yes, getting a test around nadir time at night time is good, so you know how the dose is working in her.

I haven't read your condo from last night yet, so I'm doing that now.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

Do you think I should have shot her Dyana? (got my question mark back:)
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

I think so, because she was rising.
But it's okay, we need to keep her safe above all else. And, sometimes, you have to go with what your gut tells you.
I'll see you tonight.
Have a good day.
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

Ya I was going with my gut when I saw that sunny yellow. It did seem like a plausible number at the time so I didn't question it.

Now she's hiding under the bed:(
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

Hi Tamara,
The +11 could well have been an accurate number. It is not uncommon for a kitty to have a big rise between +11 and +12. I think you could have given the shot this morning, but I agree with Dyana that you have to do what fits into your comfort zone. Have a good, worry-free day at school. This evening Ella can start over. The weekend will be here soon and that can be the time she gets established on her new dose of 1 drop.

Hugs, and don't worry!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (weird)

Ella...I think it could have been a bounce!
she's at 430 now!!! Oh my!! I feel terrible!!! Should I give her some insulin?
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (feeling terrible) 430! insuli

Tamara,
I don't know. Has she eaten? This +2 number may be food influenced. Did you plan to shoot at 6 A.M. this morning? If so, your shot would be 2 hours late if you shoot now. Personally, I would shoot the 1 drop dose. But you will have to shoot between 7:30 and 8 P.M. tonight, too, to keep as close to a 12-hour shot schedule as possible.
If you don't shoot, I don't think that Ella will rise much higher. Sorry not to be of much help.

Ella
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (feeling terrible) 430! insuli

you have probably already left, but if you want to give insulin now you can. We can help you get back on schedule as the numbers allow.

The 257 was probably accurate. It might mean that her shed is almost refilled after the skipped shots. :smile:
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 (feeling terrible) 430! insuli

I left without giving the insulin:( I didn't know if I could do it see as I need to shoot at 6:00am/pm in order to get my +2. Oh I feel terrible for her:( She looked SO uncomfortable. I hope she will be ok.

Libby: Does it sound like she bounced? She rose 100 points in an hour!
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 ,+12 430:(

Just wanted to share that since you are using a Contour meter and know how expensive the stupid strips can be, they can be used well past the expiration date (like even a YEAR), so you can probably get some great deals on eBay by buying expired strips, as long as the package is still sealed.

MJ
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 ,+12 430:(

it's common for kitties to really rise at the end of the cycle. there are many who do that, so i would probably believe that 257.

the great thing about FD is you get another chance to do it all again! wahoo! :lol:

try not to beat yourself up or second guess what you did with what you knew at that moment in time - just march on and incorporate what you've learned into your mental notebook (or ss) for next time that you're faced with a similar situation.
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11 257 +12 337 ,+12 430:(

Thanks for helping me see the positives:) I'm breaking all the rules today! Just fed her a wee snack at +11 cause she is 454 and starving because she's hyper! Being she's so high I'm not worried about her numbers being influenced.
Poor Ella! She is pacing around all cracked out on sugar! It's unfortunate that I'm learning at her expense. I apologized profusely and I hope she forgives me!

Will def be shooting a drop tonight and I hope it brings her down a bit!
 
Re: 05-3 Ella +11=454 pmps 474

are tests necessary tonight? i haven't done any because she was so high and we depleted her shed. i'd rather save her the poking but if we need data then i will gather it:)
 
Hi Tamara,
It is good to always get a bedtime test (when you go to bed).
I'm so sorry that Ella is high tonight. The insulin will at least go into her shed and tomorrow will be a better day.

She'll be OK. And so will you :smile:

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks Ella:)
We will be ok. It's just discouraging to see her so high after so many pretty greens. We'll get back in the lagoon:)
In the meantime she's joined the CPC. I need to have a chat with her about her loyalty to the club. Silly kitter!
 
(((Tamara))))

Just wanted you to know that as you dance this dance with Ella, you make the best decision you can at the time with the data you have.....and then don't beat yourself up if it doesn't turn out like you thought. A million times I wish I had had a crystal ball and wondered if Gracie would have been OTJ if not for me :lol: But there is no way for us to predict anything with FD and so our decisions have to be made for safety....which is what you did...and that is always the best decision. She'll come down....she'll be green again. You are awesome!

Hugs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top