05/29 Mister AMPS 238 +1 235 +3 274 +6 307 PMPS 297 +1 274 +2 251 +3 247

Elizabeth & Mister

Member Since 2026
05/28 Mister AMPS 276 +1 259 +2 214 +3 130 +4 111 +5 117 +9 95 PMPS 119 +1 131 +2 94 +2.5 90 +3 96 +4 111 +6 132

I am trying to move Mister's shot times to an hour earlier (6a-6p) but he apparently doesn't like that time, because instead of walking back this morning we are now even further away. I almost had to use to cat wrap this morning. I swear this cat understands English because as soon as I decided to bring it out, he decided that getting his shot was fine, "no biggie mom". :rolleyes: But it's in him and was within 15 minutes of his last shot and getting back on schedule is the least of my concerns. I'll shoot 30 mins early until we get there (God willing. This is Mister's world, I'm just living in it)

I've been writing some notes down on questions I have, mostly about SLGS since this is also new to me. Before I came here I wasn't really following any method closely. I'll post those in a little bit I think I need to add to it just a bit first. I struggle with asking for help, I don't know why..what is that? I feel like I'm being "too much" sometimes. Not looking for sympathy, just trying to call myself out so that I can get over that. Everyone has been so willing to help and so patient, I don't know how I would do this without this place. You all mean so much to me. I hope I can help someone new someday who feels the way I'm feeling right now.

Safe surfing kitties, it's Friday!💚🏖️
 
05/28 Mister AMPS 276 +1 259 +2 214 +3 130 +4 111 +5 117 +9 95 PMPS 119 +1 131 +2 94 +2.5 90 +3 96 +4 111 +6 132

I am trying to move Mister's shot times to an hour earlier (6a-6p) but he apparently doesn't like that time, because instead of walking back this morning we are now even further away. I almost had to use to cat wrap this morning. I swear this cat understands English because as soon as I decided to bring it out, he decided that getting his shot was fine, "no biggie mom". :rolleyes: But it's in him and was within 15 minutes of his last shot and getting back on schedule is the least of my concerns. I'll shoot 30 mins early until we get there (God willing. This is Mister's world, I'm just living in it)

I've been writing some notes down on questions I have, mostly about SLGS since this is also new to me. Before I came here I wasn't really following any method closely. I'll post those in a little bit I think I need to add to it just a bit first. I struggle with asking for help, I don't know why..what is that? I feel like I'm being "too much" sometimes. Not looking for sympathy, just trying to call myself out so that I can get over that. Everyone has been so willing to help and so patient, I don't know how I would do this without this place. You all mean so much to me. I hope I can help someone new someday who feels the way I'm feeling right now.

Safe surfing kitties, it's Friday!💚🏖️
Hi Elisabeth,
First of all, I had to laugh at Mister suddenly deciding the shot was "no biggie" the moment the cat wrap appeared! 🤪😜🤣They really do seem to understand far more than they should!!!

And please don't ever feel like you're being "too much." Every single one of us started out feeling overwhelmed, confused, and afraid of making mistakes. I know I still ask what feels like a million questions, and everyone here has always been incredibly kind and patient with me too.

Honestly, asking questions isn't a burden, it's how we learn and how we keep our kitties safe. The fact that you're taking notes, learning SLGS, and trying to understand the "why" behind everything tells me you're doing an amazing job for Mister.

One day you'll absolutely be the person helping a newcomer who feels exactly the way you do right now. ❤️

Wishing you and Mister a safe, calm surf and an uneventful move back to the new shot schedule!

Happy Friday !!!
 
Hi Elisabeth,
First of all, I had to laugh at Mister suddenly deciding the shot was "no biggie" the moment the cat wrap appeared! 🤪😜🤣They really do seem to understand far more than they should!!!

And please don't ever feel like you're being "too much." Every single one of us started out feeling overwhelmed, confused, and afraid of making mistakes. I know I still ask what feels like a million questions, and everyone here has always been incredibly kind and patient with me too.

Honestly, asking questions isn't a burden, it's how we learn and how we keep our kitties safe. The fact that you're taking notes, learning SLGS, and trying to understand the "why" behind everything tells me you're doing an amazing job for Mister.

One day you'll absolutely be the person helping a newcomer who feels exactly the way you do right now. ❤️

Wishing you and Mister a safe, calm surf and an uneventful move back to the new shot schedule!

Happy Friday !!!
I appreciate this so so much 🫂 I always come on here and get a dose of hope and it makes each day a little easier.

Cats really are so smart! They may not show it in the same way like dogs do but I definitely believe they understand us, and they also don’t much care what we have to say 😆

Mister was semi-feral when I found him, it took months for me to be able to pet him, weeks to even sit close to him. I used to leave his food at the edge of my yard and I slowly started moving it closer until he was eating on my porch. The first night I brought him inside he slept so heavy, like he was finally safe. We’ve been through a lot together, I nursed him when he was attacked by something while he was living outside (not once but twice 😞) a big move across states, he was with me through my divorce, he’s been my little companion. I’d do anything I ever could to keep him happy and healthy. I think in a way he understands that, too.

Have a great weekend Hellen! Thank you for such a thoughtful message💕
 
I appreciate this so so much 🫂 I always come on here and get a dose of hope and it makes each day a little easier.

Cats really are so smart! They may not show it in the same way like dogs do but I definitely believe they understand us, and they also don’t much care what we have to say 😆

Mister was semi-feral when I found him, it took months for me to be able to pet him, weeks to even sit close to him. I used to leave his food at the edge of my yard and I slowly started moving it closer until he was eating on my porch. The first night I brought him inside he slept so heavy, like he was finally safe. We’ve been through a lot together, I nursed him when he was attacked by something while he was living outside (not once but twice 😞) a big move across states, he was with me through my divorce, he’s been my little companion. I’d do anything I ever could to keep him happy and healthy. I think in a way he understands that, too.

Have a great weekend Hellen! Thank you for such a thoughtful message💕
Ohhhhhhhh, poor baby!!! You are both so lucky to have found each other, and I am absolutely sure that everything is going to be fine. You've got this, Elisabeth!!!!! ❤️
 
Feline diabetes has a huge learning curve, you are still in early days past his diagnosis. It has barely been a month and it can take 3 months before things start to become routine. We have occasionally referred to FD as a graduate degree. We have all been in your shoes, which is why we are all here to help you. We know what it's like to want to do the right thing for our fur-baby, but not knowing exactly what that is. Keep asking questions. You aren't the only one that will learn, but also other new members who are reading your posts and learning along with you.
 
Feline diabetes has a huge learning curve, you are still in early days past his diagnosis. It has barely been a month and it can take 3 months before things start to become routine. We have occasionally referred to FD as a graduate degree. We have all been in your shoes, which is why we are all here to help you. We know what it's like to want to do the right thing for our fur-baby, but not knowing exactly what that is. Keep asking questions. You aren't the only one that will learn, but also other new members who are reading your posts and learning along with you.
That is an excellent point. I have found many answers to questions and learned new things just reading condos, even ones from prior years. Thank you Wendy💕
 
Mister is bouncing today, poor baby. But it's given me time to get groceries and a few things done so I feel more productive today. I have a few questions I wanted to ask for anyone who might see this and know the answers or can provide some insight.

On the SLGS sticky where it talks about lower pre-shots and general rule of thumb it says,
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.

Wouldn’t skipping or reducing the dose in this situation be counterproductive? What about the depot? I know with TR this isn’t recommended so can someone help me understand what makes it different or okay to do with SLGS? Is this just for situations where the CG can't monitor/needs to leave, isn't comfortable, doesn't have data, etc.? This threw me off because it goes against everything I've learned so far about using Lantus.

Also, doing the curve at the end of the week if I need to adjust his dose... Is a curve only necessary for the starting dose or do I need to be doing one every week even if I continue testing frequently? And is it the curve nadir or his weekly nadirs that will tell me whether to adjust dose? (For example if he had a nadir of 100 on Wednesday but I did a curve on Sunday and his nadir was 200, wouldn't I keep the same dose due to the lower nadir from that week?) That might sound like an obvious question and it was touched on in my previous condo but I’m having a little trouble keeping everything straight.

And last question for now- since he's seeing some lower numbers at the dose he's on now, and also because I reduced for 2 cycles on the 26th (you can read about that in my condo from that day), I was planning on using yesterday as "day 1", since that's when I switched to SLGS. Is this appropriate?

Mister is doing well today other than his bounce. I hate seeing those pinks. Hoping he breaks it soon. I'm down for a nap for a bit and I'll check back in soon. Thank you all so so much. 💕
 
What you have quoted is the "when you are new bit" on shooting lower numbers. Read a little further down the dosing sticky and you'll see this:
With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method.
I see you have shot as low as 101 before. You have data on shooting low. See how much you've learned about Lantus already! People following SGLS for the first time often can't or won't test further during the cycle. Skipping may be a safety thing.

If you test enough and know how low the dose is taking the cat, you don't need a curve. A curve is for people who only have preshot data and the odd spot check. Occasional curves are still useful for you to learn how Mister is using the insulin, such as spotting the onset time and nadirs. You change doses based on how low the dose is taking the cat, not just the one time curve day.

Switching day is your choice, maybe put a black line in between those days saying you switched so people can easily see the change.
 
What you have quoted is the "when you are new bit" on shooting lower numbers. Read a little further down the dosing sticky and you'll see this:

I see you have shot as low as 101 before. You have data on shooting low. See how much you've learned about Lantus already! People following SGLS for the first time often can't or won't test further during the cycle. Skipping may be a safety thing.

If you test enough and know how low the dose is taking the cat, you don't need a curve. A curve is for people who only have preshot data and the odd spot check. Occasional curves are still useful for you to learn how Mister is using the insulin, such as spotting the onset time and nadirs. You change doses based on how low the dose is taking the cat, not just the one time curve day.

Switching day is your choice, maybe put a black line in between those days saying you switched so people can easily see the change.
So it’s more so, skipping still isn’t the best thing for him but it’s mentioned as an option for those types of situations. I’ll be honest in that when I first started all of this, I think I was looking for black & white instructions. “If ___, then do ___” as that is what my brain jumps to first. So I’ve had a little trouble with the all of the gray areas when dealing with FD. but yes I am getting there! I appreciate you answering everything, I’ll add a line to my SS too that’s a good idea
 
Just wanted to pop in to say you’re doing so amazing, Elizabeth 👍💓
Mister is one lucky kitty that you’re his person 💞

We are here for you. As Hellen and Wendy have mentioned, we were all in your shoes and want to pay it forward to help those coming in behind us.
You’re in good company and we all want you to succeed and Mister to be healthy.

Sending you both lots of support and hugs 😻🥰💕🐈‍⬛
 
Just wanted to pop in to say you’re doing so amazing, Elizabeth 👍💓
Mister is one lucky kitty that you’re his person 💞

We are here for you. As Hellen and Wendy have mentioned, we were all in your shoes and want to pay it forward to help those coming in behind us.
You’re in good company and we all want you to succeed and Mister to be healthy.

Sending you both lots of support and hugs 😻🥰💕🐈‍⬛
It’s amazing how such community has been built here, all because we love our fur babies (and each others fur babies too) !
Thank you Staci, sending you and Ivy lots of love. I’m glad she had a great surf today😊🫂
 
Seems like another stretch of flat yellows before he breaks the bounce.

Here he is posing for the camera,
IMG_0817.jpeg
 
Back
Top