05/29-Dolly-AMPS 93 -57@2.5 -69@3 -67@4.5 -75@6 -69@7.75 -PMPS 79 -105@1.5 -90@3

wow those look good. Am i wrong or are you getting close to OTJ trial?

To qualify for an OTJ trial Dolly would need 7 reductions all the way down to a drop dose. She’s nice and tightly controlled which is the first step to getting there. :)


Adrienne, I just clicked on an old post by Dr. Lisa. The carb content is not completely accurate. Remember we have to go by what the manufacturers say which is not always the truth (my thought). Cat food is made in large batches so the ingredients aren’t necessarily mixed the same way in each can. Don’t get so hung up in that. The only way to be totally accurate is to make your own food. Dr. Lisa’s comment was not to get so hung up on tge carb % as 10% could be 3-4.
 
To qualify for an OTJ trial Dolly would need 7 reductions all the way down to a drop dose. She’s nice and tightly controlled which is the first step to getting there. :)


Adrienne, I just clicked on an old post by Dr. Lisa. The carb content is not completely accurate. Remember we have to go by what the manufacturers say which is not always the truth (my thought). Cat food is made in large batches so the ingredients aren’t necessarily mixed the same way in each can. Don’t get so hung up in that. The only way to be totally accurate is to make your own food. Dr. Lisa’s comment was not to get so hung up on tge carb % as 10% could be 3-4.
Thanks Elise, not sure what you mean about getting hung up on the carbs/food. I tried making Dolly food like cooked chicken, shrimp etc, she’s having none of that. I also tried raw. One taste and walked away. Tried several times. I have bought and tossed many different brands. If I want her to eat well it has to be her favorites. She only really like two different FF pates, Chicken Feast and Chunky chicken Feast 3-4% carbs. An occasional Friskies Turkey and Giblets. I am always on top of her numbers when they start to drop so I feel I am ahead of her dropping below 50. So if reducing her based on that, it could take forever for reductions. She’s had her low 50’s this week and I give a small amount of mc and she starts coming up quickly. I’ve considered not doing that and letting her possibly drop below 50 with no intervention. I know Dolly and food, when she is fine on the low carb or needs a little mc. Overall her numbers are great just don’t understand when those blues pop up. I don’t think she needed the increase from 1.25, her numbers were fine except for occasional blues, same as 1.5. What do you think I am doing wrong? I believe feeding her this morning lowered her AMPS.

Wanted to mention I have to put Forti Flora on her food to get her to eat. She just tested at 57, just gave her some fresh lc.
 
Last edited:
What I meant on not getting hung up on carbs in food is simply anything within a range of 3-10% could all be the same. I think Dr. Lisa explained it when she redid her food chart. So a 3% carb food might actually be 10% and vice versa.
 
What I meant on not getting hung up on carbs in food is simply anything within a range of 3-10% could all be the same. I think Dr. Lisa explained it when she redid her food chart. So a 3% carb food might actually be 10% and vice versa.

Thanks, So only food you make is guaranteed to have the correct amount of carbs. :rolleyes: Dolly is just on e of those cats that doesn't like variety, gets stuck on one or two flavors and that's all she will eat. I wish I had the money back for all the cat food I've tossed.:banghead:
 
Thanks. I hope so. Stress level rose a little the last couple days due to increased urination which has me a little baffled
Maybe a UTI? I’ve never seen a SS quite like yours. May I ask how it helps you with Buddy’s numbers? I guess you are looking for the average over a time period ie 3 days. Does this affect any decisions you make regarding his food, dosage? I am truly interested. Thank you.

Maybe some spot checks after PMPS would be helpful as well to see where he goes at night. It’s often different from the am cycle, sometimes lower. :):)
 
Last edited:
Her numbers look so good. Do you ever get scared when Dolly hits the 50's? Give her what she likes to eat - providing it is safe which I'm sure it is with you being the attentive cat mama. It is so important that these kitties eat when they get low on the BG. Thanks for supporting me through my trials.
 
Her numbers look so good. Do you ever get scared when Dolly hits the 50's? Give her what she likes to eat - providing it is safe which I'm sure it is with you being the attentive cat mama. It is so important that these kitties eat when they get low on the BG. Thanks for supporting me through my trials.
Hi Summer we are all here to help each other. You know things that can help others, your experiences with Susie are invaluable to another person struggling. I don’t get scared like I used to, “most” of the time I know whether she needs higher carbs, rare occasions she’s needed Karo or maple syrup, a high carb treat. I would love for Dolly to have numbers like Susie’s, many would. You have to weigh your fear over her health. That’s what it’s all about, getting them healthy. Last year I was literally up for 3 days, I looked like a zombie. Just before Thanksgiving I told Elise I was done with TR. I remember her telling me, let’s get through the holidays, relax, we can discuss options after that. I stayed with TR and so happy I did. Yes it can be exhausting, yes it can be scary, but on the other end she hopefully goes into remission or at the least a tightly regulated kitty. You don’t want those yellows, they are not healthy. Just think if she hits remission you check her once a week then every two. No more exhaustion or fear. You got this Summer. You are ahead of me if you continue to trust that everyone has Susie’s best interest at heart. Hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
;)
Nice AMPS today!:D Stay green, Dolly!
Thanks Lyla. So good to hear from you. I wish you could get Butters into the cardiologist sooner and then dental. I wish all to be well and behind you and Butters. I don’t like when I have unresolved issues sitting in my head.:banghead: I need to be able to move on even if it means I have to take action to make things better. I need to be in control.:smuggrin: I hope you understand what I am saying about who’s in charge. ;) Wishing good things for Butters, feeling good, eating well, pooping and playing. I hope the seizures have not returned. Sending loving prayers to you both. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Maybe a UTI? I’ve never seen a SS quite like yours. May I ask how it helps you with Buddy’s numbers? I guess you are looking for the average over a time period ie 3 days. Does this affect any decisions you make regarding his food, dosage? I am truly interested. Thank you.


Maybe some spot checks after PMPS would be helpful as well to see where he goes at night. It’s often different from the am cycle, sometimes lower. :):)
im just a bit a data nerd so I added some rolling average. The meters have a +\-15% error range so rolling average data helps me see past that variance. It’s like to get Buddy’s 5 day average below 100 before taking him or Insulin.
 
Hi Summer we are all here to help each other. You know things that can help others, your experiences with Susie are invaluable to another person struggling. I don’t get scared like I used to, “most” of the time I know whether she needs higher carbs, rare occasions she’s needed Karo or maple syrup, a high carb treat. I would love for Dolly to have numbers like Susie’s, many would. You have to weigh your fear over her health. That’s what it’s all about, getting them healthy. Last year I was literally up for 3 days, I looked like a zombie. Just before Thanksgiving I told Elise I was done with TR. I remember her telling me, let’s get through the holidays, relax, we can discuss options after that. I stayed with TR and so happy I did. Yes it can be exhausting, yes it can be scary, but on the other end she hopefully goes into remission or at the least a tightly regulated kitty. You don’t want those yellows, they are not healthy. Just think if she hits remission you check her once a week then every two. No more exhaustion or fear. You got this Summer. You are ahead of me if you continue to trust that everyone has Susie’s best interest at heart. Hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Right now I am just so tired. So totally unexpected today. I thought she would bounce. I never was aiming for remission even though I know that is the best for Susie. I just wanted her regulated in safe numbers. Right now I just want her to come up so I can shoot and sleep but I don't know if that is going to happen. It seems this cat wants remission. Anyway, I'm hoping that my next test, in one minute, will show she is rising and not just a point or two. I want to see blues. I don't want to be up all night. I know that sounds selfish but I need a break and poor Susie's ears do too.
 
Right now I am just so tired. So totally unexpected today. I thought she would bounce. I never was aiming for remission even though I know that is the best for Susie. I just wanted her regulated in safe numbers. Right now I just want her to come up so I can shoot and sleep but I don't know if that is going to happen. It seems this cat wants remission. Anyway, I'm hoping that my next test, in one minute, will show she is rising and not just a point or two. I want to see blues. I don't want to be up all night. I know that sounds selfish but I need a break and poor Susie's ears do too.
I understand. I remember when Bhooma would stay with me all night. One night I fell asleep and was so embarrassed when I woke up, sent her a message and she knew I had fallen asleep. I understand the exhaustion and no life. My husband bought movie tickets and we were on our way out the door when I decided I should check Dolly one more time. Needless to say, no movie that day. :arghh: That was my real wake up call about how my (our) life now revolves around Dolly's needs and safety. Owning an animal is a very expensive (or can be) commitment. We make the choice about being a pet owners and hopefully give them the care they can’t give themselves. It’s hard Summer, I know. Many nights I just wish I could go to bed when my husband does, not have to get up early every morning. I am just hoping and praying that all of this will be gone and Dolly will be in remission again but maybe it's not in the cards :rolleyes: for her. Healthy and tightly regulated will be fine, I can accept that as well, just not my first preference. I've seen a lot of changes in you the last several weeks like I already told you. A lot of the fear is gone, a lot move confident about your decisions. I believe the changes in how you feel about the whole process will get easier as Susie's numbers improve. It doesn't have to be about loss of sleep, feeling you have no life. On the other end of this is the joy you will feel about a happy healthy Susie that your love and hard work made happen. Sending hugs and hopes for an early night for you, I saw the beautiful blue :cool:. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I understand. I remember when Bhooma would stay with me all night. One night I fell asleep and was so embarrassed when I woke up, sent her a message and she knew I had fallen asleep. I understand the exhaustion and no life. My husband bought movie tickets and we were on our way out the door when I decided I should check Dolly one more time. Needless to say, no movie that day. :arghh: That was my real wake up call about how my (our) life now revolves around Dolly's needs and safety. Owning an animal is a very expensive (or can be) commitment. We make the choice about being a pet owners and hopefully give them the care they can’t give themselves. It’s hard Summer, I know. Many nights I just wish I could go to bed when my husband does, not have to get up early every morning. I am just hoping and praying that all of this will be gone and Dolly will be in remission again but maybe it's not in the cards :rolleyes: for her. Healthy and tightly regulated will be fine, I can accept that as well, just not my first preference. I've seen a lot of changes in you the last several weeks like I already told you. A lot of the fear is gone, a lot move confident about your decisions. I believe the changes in how you feel about the whole process will get easier as Susie's numbers improve. It doesn't have to be about loss of sleep, feeling you have no life. On the other end of this is the joy you will feel about a happy healthy Susie that your love and hard work made happen. Sending hugs and hopes for an early night for you, I saw the beautiful blue :cool:. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much. Maybe tomorrow I will have a different perspective and will be willing to get back into the trenches. Then again, maybe tomorrow will be a massive bounce. I never know what to expect anymore. Good night.
 
Hi Adrienne, what a beautiful cycle for Ruby so far, she's looking great.
I hope you have a good evening, I'll be checking back looking at her SS ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you Diane. I hope and pray you are having a good day and Ashley is managing, I hope you understand my words, I don’t really know what to say, I just hope she is as good as possible. Of course I don’t know what it’s like where you live, here any holiday needs to be celebrated with illegal fireworks. I hope for Ashley’s sake they don’t do this In your area. Sending prayers and hope Tyler is being a good boy :cat:
Take care of yourself. Talk soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you Diane. I hope and pray you are having a good day and Ashley is managing, I hope you understand my words, I don’t really know what to say, I just hope she is as good as possible. Of course I don’t know what it’s like where you live, here any holiday needs to be celebrated with illegal fireworks. I hope for Ashley’s sake they don’t do this In your area. Sending prayers and hope Tyler is being a good boy :cat:
Take care of yourself. Talk soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hey Adrienne, just asking about Ashley means a lot to me.
I'm in New Jersey and they are allowed to shoot off fireworks, they sell them in any supermarkets.
Memorial day so far no one has done any, but who knows.
The 4th of July is another story. We leave the house when it starts to get dark and go park some where until the idiots are done around my house.

I just want to go outside and crack them one lol
I have a bad Italian temper :p

Tyler is good
I'll talk to you soon ♥:bighug::bighug:
 
I
Thank you so much. Maybe tomorrow I will have a different perspective and will be willing to get back into the trenches. Then again, maybe tomorrow will be a massive bounce. I never know what to expect anymore. Good night.
Its me again, I read over my messages. I can see why you might feel I was being pushy. I am so sorry. You do what you are comfortable doing. I have no excuses but my own exhaustion and fears. I wish I could press delete but it’s too late. Seriously, I am your friend with the best of intentions even though it may not have sounded that way. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top