05/28 Jerry AMPS 193 +2 92 +4 69 +6 82 +10 105 PMPS 121

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
yesterday

This morning Jerry's number had returned to blue and at +2 he's green. Hated those pinks yesterday...ugh.
It was a bit disheartening yesterday to have to face the fact that we had a failed trial and then see pinks yuck.

Anyway onward and upwards, he is back on a drop dose and although I've not seen a BM yet he seems content and comfortable. His appetite is good and he is looking alert and bright eyed. I will continue to monitor his litter box and if I don't see any action by early afternoon I will be contacting the vet.

Have a wonderful day everyone and hope all of the sugar fur babies have a productive day.:)
 
Hopefully Jerry just needed a little more time on the juice. You'll get there again soon, don't worry. Sending poopie vines! :D:):D
 
Hopefully Jerry just needed a little more time on the juice. You'll get there again soon, don't worry. Sending poopie vines! :D:):D
Lol thank you for the poopie vines. Feel like the poop police at the moment. With two sharing a litter I'm trying to catch them in the act while getting other stuff done...ha ha. I was happier with his numbers this AM..so all good. ;)
 
@Sonia & Leo I like the poopie vines also !:) Me too I'm a poop police, with 3 kitties I'm always running to a LB to see who does what !!:rolleyes:

I know how you must feel about going back to a drop!! We're all aiming for remission but you have to take the time it takes to have a strong one!
After such a short period of time, you're lucky Jerry is almost there! Now he just wants to give you enough time to prepare his OTJ video! :p
 
@Sonia & Leo I like the poopie vines also !:) Me too I'm a poop police, with 3 kitties I'm always running to a LB to see who does what !!:rolleyes:

I know how you must feel about going back to a drop!! We're all aiming for remission but you have to take the time it takes to have a strong one!
After such a short period of time, you're lucky Jerry is almost there! Now he just wants to give you enough time to prepare his OTJ video! :p
Well Camille had already asked me for the photos so she has them ready for next time. Just to clarify, I wasn't in any particular rush to go OTJ it was suggested so I thought it was the next step. Live and kearn, I'm fine with being back on the drop and Jerry's numbers will indicate when he's ready. Just another learning curve.
 
Just to clarify, I wasn't in any particular rush to go OTJ it was suggested so I thought it was the next step.
I never thought you were in a hurry and rushing things!
When you have a failed trial it's always a bit discouraging like you said initially! So I just felt bad for you and tried to encourage you to wait for the next when Jerry will be ready, as you said! :bighug:
 
I never thought you were in a hurry and rushing things!
When you have a failed trial it's always a bit discouraging like you said initially! So I just felt bad for you and tried to encourage you to wait for the next when Jerry will be ready, as you said! :bighug:
Oh Lyane, please don't misunderstand me I truly appreciate your encourgement and good thoughts i apologise if my comments didn't come across correctly. I certainly didn't think you were implying I rushed things. I learned a valuable lesson and it was fantastic to see that my little Jerry pie could keep his numbers down at a reasonable level all by himself. Again I'm sorry if I came over wrong. I'd hate you to think I didn't like your kind words.:bighug:
 
At +4 I fed him a higher carb LC food to slow him down. Still has not pooped (or his brother for that matter) they are in cahoots to worry Mom.:):)
 
Oh Lyane, please don't misunderstand me I truly appreciate your encourgement and good thoughts i apologise if my comments didn't come across correctly. I certainly didn't think you were implying I rushed things. I learned a valuable lesson and it was fantastic to see that my little Jerry pie could keep his numbers down at a reasonable level all by himself. Again I'm sorry if I came over wrong. I'd hate you to think I didn't like your kind words.:bighug:
Thanks, I'm so happy and relieved ! :) I'm French so I'm always worried not to choose the proper words, so that's why I made my reply a little clearer..!
What a positive way to see things when you say that Jerry is now able to keep his numbers safe all by himself ! Now let's follow your cute little Jerry pie ! :cat::bighug:
 
I’m sorry I didn’t see your questions yesterday later and respond.

Whether 12% is too much for him or not depends on how carb sensitive he is. If he’s not very, it might work great for him. I feed balanced raw to my cats and so haven’t kept up on what a good, higher LC food might be. The other members here can help more with that.

If it’s not a good time for you to do TR, then you shouldn’t and if he’s eating dry again, you shouldn’t switch to TR. It’s just going to be important to try and feed his curve with that higher LC so he doesn’t have the chance to drop below 90. That could be a challenge but I know you’ll do your best.

Insofar as the constipation, how about giving him some raw egg yolk? It’s really good for that kind of thing. I’d start with about 1/8 of a raw egg yolk and see if it helps. If not, give him a little more but don’t go overboard. As a more long-term solution, you might want to try FoodFurLife’s raw egg yolk powder. It’s great to address hair balls and gastrointestinal motility and is much better for them than the dry food or miralax.
 
Thanks, I'm so happy and relieved ! :) I'm French so I'm always worried not to choose the proper words, so that's why I made my reply a little clearer..!
What a positive way to see things when you say that Jerry is now able to keep his numbers safe all by himself ! Now let's follow your cute little Jerry pie ! :cat::bighug:
Lyane, so glad we got that cleared up. Your english is excellent wish my french was. I speak dutch ( lived in the netherlands for 30 year) but my french is non existent unfortunately. :D
 
I’m sorry I didn’t see your questions yesterday later and respond.

Whether 12% is too much for him or not depends on how carb sensitive he is. If he’s not very, it might work great for him. I feed balanced raw to my cats and so haven’t kept up on what a good, higher LC food might be. The other members here can help more with that.

If it’s not a good time for you to do TR, then you shouldn’t and if he’s eating dry again, you shouldn’t switch to TR. It’s just going to be important to try and feed his curve with that higher LC so he doesn’t have the chance to drop below 90. That could be a challenge but I know you’ll do your best.

Insofar as the constipation, how about giving him some raw egg yolk? It’s really good for that kind of thing. I’d start with about 1/8 of a raw egg yolk and see if it helps. If not, give him a little more but don’t go overboard. As a more long-term solution, you might want to try FoodFurLife’s raw egg yolk powder. It’s great to address hair balls and gastrointestinal motility and is much better for them than the dry food or miralax.
Marje, not a problem. I think that Jerry is carb sensitive as he reacts quite quickly to HC when I've needed to get his numbers up. I tried to keep his numbers up today but didn't do a very good job, I should have reacted a bit more aggressively after +2 but he dropped to 69 before I got another test in. What do you suggest I do this evening, I know it's early and I will post his PMPS before shooting.

Neither of the boys have pooped yet today.... they know Mom is watching I tell ya, but both are doing fine. Jerry is hanging with Dad and Ben is trying to help me type this message to you so I'm just going to watch and wait. I will try the egg yolk, do you mix it with food or just give it straight. Both of my boys are funny with human food, all of my past cats couldn't get enough of raw egg, snips of raw meat, mussels etc. these two just turn their noses up. I will give it a try though as I know if I talk to the vet I'm just going to be told that I have to put him back on the dry food and that we'll have to work the insulin around the diet which doesn't work as the number will testify.

Anyway thank you for checking in, so glad that you are. :bighug:
 
I think most people here who give egg yolk get the powder and mix it in food. Marje is dealing with a family emergency and may not be able to post.
 
I think most people here who give egg yolk get the powder and mix it in food. Marje is dealing with a family emergency and may not be able to post.
Oh sorry to hear about marje hope it will be ok. Thanks for letting me know Carla. I'll look into getting some, willing to try anything.
 
Marje, not a problem. I think that Jerry is carb sensitive as he reacts quite quickly to HC when I've needed to get his numbers up. I tried to keep his numbers up today but didn't do a very good job, I should have reacted a bit more aggressively after +2 but he dropped to 69 before I got another test in. What do you suggest I do this evening, I know it's early and I will post his PMPS before shooting.
Anytime his +2 is down from the PS, you need to feed and test sooner rather than later.

With raw egg yolk, I just feed it and my cats lick it off their plates. I mix the egg yolk powder into their food.

Thank you...I’m in and out of the board waiting to head east.
 
Anytime his +2 is down from the PS, you need to feed and test sooner rather than later.

With raw egg yolk, I just feed it and my cats lick it off their plates. I mix the egg yolk powder into their food.

Thank you...I’m in and out of the board waiting to head east.
Thank you Marje, take care of yourself and you have my very best wishes. Hope everything works out well for you. Big hug.
 
Back
Top