05/27 Mister AMPS 333 +2 238 +3 180 +5 157 PMPS 181 +1 175 +2 177 +3 200 +5 222

Elizabeth & Mister

Member Since 2026
05/26 Mister AMPS 152 +1 109 +1.75 68 +2 75 +2.5 89 +3 92 +4.5 102 +7 143 PMPS 270 +1 274 +2 222

I got some much needed rest last night. Still woke up feeling tired but that is the norm for me. Sleep deprivation can be a scary thing, when your mind isn’t firing properly. Thank you to everyone who helped me yesterday, the guidance and support within this forum is truly amazing. I was in tears reading through my condo.

Good news, I’m almost there in transitioning Mister’s civvie sister Calliope fully to wet food. She now eats her meals alongside Mister, 100% wet. She prefers it straight from the can rather than her bowl which is crazy but okay little girl, from the can it is. She still goes to her old dry food bowl location and meows and paws around looking for it, so occasionally I’ll drop her 1/2tsp or so. The small bag of Dr. Elsey’s clean protein she’s been on is almost gone, and that will hopefully be the last of it. I did find one brand of freeze dried food that she likes (Stella & Chewy’s) so that’s going to be her “crunch n munch” as we call it, replacement.

I got some good cuddles in with Mister during our nap yesterday (hard to get the picture, but he laid on me snoring for over an hour). Through all of the tears and exhaustion, I wouldn’t trade this little boy for the world. I’ll be keeping up with TR at least while I’m here at home with him. If I feel like it’s too much later on when my schedule changes, I’ll post and reassess.

Have a great day everyone. I can’t believe it’s the 27th of May already 😮


IMG_0794.jpeg
 
Last edited:
Quick question- when I first started Mister on Lantus, the pharmacy I went to wouldn’t accept my coupon so I ended up just buying one pen so I could get him started. When they called me for my refill, I was able to get 3 pens for the price of 1. My question, as long as I keep these in the fridge, unopened, they will still be good (as in last longer than the stated 28 days) correct? I know to check the insulin after 28 days to make sure it’s clear (I do this every day), but obviously it’s going to be a lot longer than that before I’m ready to use these new pens. He still has ~1/3 remaining in the original pen
 
Quick question- when I first started Mister on Lantus, the pharmacy I went to wouldn’t accept my coupon so I ended up just buying one pen so I could get him started. When they called me for my refill, I was able to get 3 pens for the price of 1. My question, as long as I keep these in the fridge, unopened, they will still be good (as in last longer than the stated 28 days) correct? I know to check the insulin after 28 days to make sure it’s clear (I do this every day), but obviously it’s going to be a lot longer than that before I’m ready to use these new pens. He still has ~1/3 remaining in the original pen
My understanding is yes, if they remain unopened they are still good. The 28 day count down starts from opening, but even still, many use well past the date when keeping it in the fridge. I believe I've gone 3 months.

Also, glad you were able to get some rest (and cuddles!!) 🤗
 
My understanding is yes, if they remain unopened they are still good. The 28 day count down starts from opening, but even still, many use well past the date when keeping it in the fridge. I believe I've gone 3 months.

Also, glad you were able to get some rest (and cuddles!!) 🤗
Okay great, I thought that’s what I was told just wanted to make sure. And thank you so much !
 
Mister surfed the blues today and his PMPS is 181. It’s almost time for his shot, and I’m just posting for some support.

I get anxious shooting him lower, since he drops so fast.

Let’s surf the safe greenies Mister man.
 
What a sweetie! It is great to see those blues and greens popping up more often on his spreadsheet.
Thank you Seth! It really is. I think about how he was doing in April when I had him at the emergency room, and how he’s thriving now. Just super grateful
 
Good job shooting. I’m glad you took the dose back up and you both rested.

You can likely use the opened pen to the last drop as long as you keep it in the frig (not in the door…I always kept ours in the cheese drawer). The unopened pens are good until their expiration date.

Did his cozy calm shirt come?
 
He went up instead of down…😐

Is this most likely because of the depot draining from me reducing his dose?
I did some more reading this morning and now i understand why that’s not a productive move to make, how it can take multiple cycles to see a difference (I knew this too! At least I knew it about increasing the dose, silly of me to not realize it has an effect both ways) I don’t think he would be bouncing from the numbers he saw earlier and I’m pretty certain I didn’t miss any during his injection.
I was prepared for an active cycle tonight but he seems to have other plans. I hate the feeling like I messed up, but I appreciate the learning experiences. I’ve always been stubborn, many bumps on this head of mine.
 
Good job shooting. I’m glad you took the dose back up and you both rested.

You can likely use the opened pen to the last drop as long as you keep it in the frig (not in the door…I always kept ours in the cheese drawer). The unopened pens are good until their expiration date.

Did his cozy calm shirt come?
Thank you! Me too, I feel much better. The brain fog was real.

And yes it did! I’ve got the hang of putting it on Calliope, so I’m hoping I can repeat that with Mister when I need to. *Anti-jinx* - he’s been really good with his shots the last several cycles. I think moving the injection site more on his flank has helped a lot, I can grab more skin there and better see the skin to know I’m getting it all in there. He gives a tiny growl and that’s about it, hasn’t tried to run away. (One more time- *anti jinx!*) but the cozy wrap is here for when he gets antsy🙏
 
Back
Top