05/27 Lucy - PMPS 171 (.5u) - should I shoot?

Susan and Lucy

Member Since 2021
I'm not sure if I should shoot. This is the lowest that Lucy has been pre-shot (171 on ReliOn human meter). We have only been shooting insulin for 5 days (after going off insulin for 2.5 wks when her very first shot on 05/05 sent her down to 34 with a 1unit dose that the vet prescribed).

She nibbled a little bit of pate just before I tested her tonight (just a few bites - maybe a tbsp at the most?). She is on .5 units Lantus now.

Thanks!

-- Susan
Lucy 16yr F | Dx 4/07/21 | Lantus SLGS .5u 2x daily | Relion Prime | Moderate neuropathy-Methyl B12 | Wt: 7.5 lbs | Friskies Pate 2x daily-only eats ~1/3-1/2 or a mix of FF Classic pate
Lucy's Spreadsheet
 
The nervousness is so hard to handle! Feels good to make a decision though, doesn't it? I don't want to advise on dosing but I am sure no damage done. "Fur shot" :bighug: Lucy is a very pretty girl.
 
Thanks Liz. It did feel good to just decide and not second guess myself. I know that none of this is guaranteed and every cat is different. Heck, every DAY is different. It was just that her PMPS (171), was so close to that 150 no shoot number and I'm new at this so I felt more comfortable waiting.

I happened to look at Minnie's spreadsheet. That poor baby has been through a lot. And so have you!
 
Hi Susan, Lucy is doing great!
The next time you get a number lower than you are comfortable shooting, stall without feeding and test in 20 minutes. If she is flat or higher, it should be safe to shoot - provided you can monitor.
 
Hi Susan, Lucy is doing great!
The next time you get a number lower than you are comfortable shooting, stall without feeding and test in 20 minutes. If she is flat or higher, it should be safe to shoot - provided you can monitor.
Thank you I will try to do that. I didn't do it tonight because she ate some of her leftover food before I was able to take it away from her. So I knew that her numbers were influenced by food and I didn't know how to adjust for that. But every day, I get a little more confident in understanding what the BG patterns mean and that is thanks to all of your wonderful people who are so generous with your patience and advice!
 
Dont worry Susan you will get there, I remember Magellan's first pj party. He is rather rude and gives no symptoms that he is in trouble. So I have to check and double check. Just remember you have to take care of yourself too.
 
Back
Top