05/27 Boomer AMPS 113 +3 83 +5 79 PMPS 103 +3 29 +3.5 52 +4 58 +4.5 65 +5.5 58 +6 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 113 shooting 1.5u

Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds but left his +6.
Allen ate reasonably well overnight but I've had to try 3 kinds of ff to get him to eat his breffis. This surprised me because first thing this morning he was licking the floor near Boomer's dish to pick up any leftovers. He's eaten only a wee bit. He's receiving Cerenia every 48 hours but I'm wondering if we should be using Ondansetron with or instead of the Cerenia. I may get some from Dr Larry tomorrow to try.

I haven't seen Daisy and Duke yet but I know that yesterday they were here early and left before the time that I would normally be up. So they may have already come and gone. Maybe I'll see them this afternoon.

Bird update: DH bought a big bag of birdseed a couple of days ago and the birds don't seem to like it. sigh. If it isn't the cats and their appy issues it's the birds :rolleyes:. So I'll go out today and buy another kind. On the upside, the squirrels don't like it either :smuggrin::rolleyes:

Today on the Bean's agenda: DH's granddaughter is coming for a visit this morning. She's 3 and she's a busy little girl and talks non-stop lol. Other than that, I have a baby session tomorrow morning so I'll have to set up the studio later today and get the props ready. And I haven't been for a walk lately so perhaps I'll go for one later this afternoon after Boomer's +6.
 
Busy busy busy. Have you tried Allen on daily cerenia? Birds who visit my feeder don't like Stokes brand. Of course they have to like the most expensive brand what I refer to as the exotic flavors. You know the ones with metalwork, fruit, nuts. Oddly they don't like thistle either.
 
Busy busy busy. Have you tried Allen on daily cerenia? Birds who visit my feeder don't like Stokes brand. Of course they have to like the most expensive brand what I refer to as the exotic flavors. You know the ones with metalwork, fruit, nuts. Oddly they don't like thistle either.
We haven't tried daily cerenia although back last year when we were giving it to him it was every 36 hours.
Darn stuff costs about $8 a pill here (dose is 1/2 pill). :mad:
 
Yes 4 mg daily is maintenance dose for most kitties. I was told the pill takes about 24 hrs to start working. I don't have first hand knowledge if that part is true. Smokey always had it daily and he started at 15 mg.
Allen's appy does seem a bit improved about 15 hours after the cerenia.
The cerenia has definitely helped with the vomiting. But there are plenty of times when he eats a wee bit then sits there staring at his dish. He may eat a wee bit then stare some more. And he's been drinking more.
I may see if Dr Larry has the Ondansetron on hand. I am hopeful that Allen will get used to the increased dose of diazoxide.
 
Bird update: DH bought a big bag of birdseed a couple of days ago and the birds don't seem to like it. sigh. If it isn't the cats and their appy issues it's the birds :rolleyes:. So I'll go out today and buy another kind. On the upside, the squirrels don't like it either :smuggrin::rolleyes:
I have found that the only seed that all the birds love is the black-oil sunflower seed. If you get a seed mix, they will pick out the black-oil sunflower and leave the other kinds of seed. It's more expensive, of course, but it does attract birds (and squirrels). The most expensive seed is Niger (thistle). It is a favorite of finches.

Boomer is looking good. I hope Allen's appetite will improve with the stimulant.

Nice that you could enjoy lunch with DH's granddaughter.
 
Boomer, be a good boy and keep heading towards shore. It's much more fun in the shallows than out by the shark net!

With some of my kitties, I found Ondansetron worked better than Cerenia. With others, I had to give both. Hopefully your vet will have some or give you a prescription so you can get some at a pharmacy. Sending tummy and appy vines.
 
Boomer, be a good boy and keep heading towards shore. It's much more fun in the shallows than out by the shark net!

With some of my kitties, I found Ondansetron worked better than Cerenia. With others, I had to give both. Hopefully your vet will have some or give you a prescription so you can get some at a pharmacy. Sending tummy and appy vines.
DH mentioned Pepcid AC tonight. Is that an alternative to the Ondansetron?
 
Cerenia can be given every 24 hours if that helps. Neko needed both Cerenia and ondansetron when nausea was the worst. You also have to make sure you are giving enough. Often vet's prescribe too low a dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top