05/26 Merlin PMPS 22.2 (400), 15.1 (286)@+1, 11.1 (200) @+2, 10.2 (184),6.8 (122) @+3, 9.6(173) @+4

BG 15.5 @ +8 on libre
Looks like he’s begun the bounce? Or maybe just back to normal. I will be checking again every hour, and Ill post it here. Four hours til big decision about tonight’s dosage. Don’t know how I will get .25 on that syringe as I don’t have calipers to hand… Thanks for all your help at crisis time today, Bron, Suzanne, and Tee. I’m going to take a nap with Merlin now. :cat:
 
Ok thanks. I will scan in an hour. I feel really yucky about all of this. I don’t want to do this again and again. I don’t know what choice I have. Does anyone else’s cat react like this? Could it be because of last week still? I don’t want to do this at midnight tonight because why wouldn’t it act the same so soon? Especially since it is a reservoir. Wouldn’t giving him more so soon add to what is already in his system? Does anyone ever dose Lantus once a day instead of twice since it is so long lasting and overlaps like it does?
C
BG 15.5 @ +8 on libre
Looks like he’s begun the bounce? Or maybe just back to normal. I will be checking again every hour, and Ill post it here. Four hours til big decision about tonight’s dosage. Don’t know how I will get .25 on that syringe as I don’t have calipers to hand… Thanks for all your help at crisis time today, Bron, Suzanne, and Tee. I’m going to take a nap with Merlin now. :cat:
You need a nap. You have to just eyeball it between the half unit mark and the stopper.
 
Does anyone ever dose Lantus once a day instead of twice since it is so long lasting and overlaps like it does?
This would not be good because he will probably be all over the place. You would build the depot and then drain the depot…. add to the depot again and then drain the depot. Shooting any kind of insulin only once a day is not supposed to be done. Even “single cycle” insulin like Caninsulin and ProZinc are shot every 12 hours because cats metabolize insulin so much more quickly than humans.
 
Good job again today team Merlin. Glad you didn't listed to that other vet yesterday regarding a higher dose.:rolleyes: Occasionally we get cats that just need tiny bits of insulin, or that have a strong reaction on the first dose that doesn't sustain. Going with 0.25 unit will help him through that bounce that looks like it's coming.

Jill, a handle tool I used a lot is the attached file. It is a spreadsheet showing the World to US conversions, making it easier to manually enter into the US spreadsheet when it doesn't do the conversion for you because you've got multiple entries or text. I typically opened it first thing in the day and left it up on my computer.
 

Attachments

I hope he won’t climb too much higher.
That’s what I’m worried about. He got up to 32 and above last time. I’m also super worried about the drop after 3 or so hours. And having another late and stressful night. I would like to just start over again tomorrow at .25 at 9. Would that be a super bad thing at this point? I’m going out for a short walk, so I tested just now. It’s 21.9 right now. He’s also very hungry. Had one spoon of LC at 6:30.
 
Jill,
I would go ahead and give him 0.25. He's having half the dose from this morning.
Check the syringe plunger to make sure it's on the zero line and draw the insulin to inbetween the zero and 0.5 line to 0.25
Don't worry we're here for you and Merlin.
I’m wracked with indecision. I’m sorry. He has eaten. We have it measured. But I don’t want to have the crisis at midnight.
 
I cant do this if Suzanne wont be here. Especially in three hours. I cant do the honey dosing thing on my own. I need advice.
 
I’m deciding to do this in the morning. 9 am again, we will give .25. I don’t feel right about this right now. I’m sorry.
 
I just want to know if not giving him .25 right now, after he has had too much earlier, will be worse than giving it to him and risking his numbers dropping like today.
 
I just want to know if not giving him .25 right now, after he has had too much earlier, will be worse than giving it to him and risking his numbers dropping like today.
I am pretty confident that @Suzanne & Darcy will be on shortly. She's US eastern time zone.
If you decide to shoot the new reduced dose of insulin now there are plenty of people around to help if Merlin drops in BG. Promise! You ARE NOT ALONE
 
Hi Suzanne. I think we want to wait to give the .25 dose in the morning. Would this seriously harm Merlin? It’s getting late now too.
 
I just want to know if not giving him .25 right now, after he has had too much earlier, will be worse than giving it to him and risking his numbers dropping like today.
It will be worse if you miss because he risks getting ketones, his numbers are above the renal threshold meaning that his body cannot cope with the amount of sugar in his blood and it spills over into his kidneys.
The insulin opens closed doors so his body can use the nutrients from his food, without insulin he cannot process food.
Sorry to be so blunt Jill but needs his insulin.
 
Last edited:
Here's the deal. I don't know how to pursuade you that it's okay to give him the .25 units. I think he's going to continue to climb.

But I am putting my mind back to last week and all the trauma that you went through.
 
Do I think you will do irreparable harm to Merlin by not shooting tonight? No. Do I think you will be doing irreperable harm to him tonight by shooting, .25 units. No.
 
Thank you, Suzanne. I so appreciate you being here. How important is it to do it tonight? Will it hurt Merlin to wait til 9 to shoot .25?
 
If you all are too tired now, I understand. But if he's in numbers where you are advised to shoot by the really experienced people here (like Wendy, who I respect very much, and Bron, too... although she's not here right this minute), then I hope you will take their advice.
 
Remember this morning. Even though he did surprise us, you were able to keep him safe with some food and honey intervention. He was not in danger.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top