05/25 Willow amps 112/amps@+13 100, gave reduced dose/+1 92/ +2 63

nslade001

Member Since 2018
Hi, sorry I can't update my SS.

Willow had a reduced dose (earned)yesterday morning, a good day, then last night a very steep drop at +2.5 to earn another reduction.

Here is link to last night's condo(Friday)

Tagging @Christie & Maverick who helped last night as well!

at +6 (2:15am) this am Willows BG was 103 ( 5.7), and there was a large puddle of vomit in her litter box; she gagged when offered her chicken treats and left.

Now at +9 (5:15am) her BG is 142 (7.9) and the chicken treat response/reflex was a very strong gag again. Wayne showed her normal meal slurry and she sniffed it, didn't gag but gave a little nose lick and turned her nose up, but no gag.

While I've been typing she's gotten up and had 2-3 long drinks of water, no gagging....See if she keeps it down..

Amps will be in under 2.5 hours now....What if she still gags at food??? What will I do? It seems very counterintuitive to forcibly pill (and then chase it with water) a nauseated cat. But I can't give insulin to a cat that won't eat! And I only have cerenia pill, not injection.

Do I hold off and try to get injectable Cerenia from the vet? But what if my vet isn't in till noon?

Please advise, I'm at a loss! I don't know if these are bounce numbers or feeling sick numbers, if the BG drop last night was caused by the cartrophen injection or by the (reduced that morning) insulin

Thanks so much, with love, nikki

ETA link to yesterday condo (Thurs)
 
Im sorry to hear Willow isn’t feeling well, let’s see if she eats and go from there, post on results
 
Last edited:
I think if Willow is still acting nauseas you should give the cerenia and not wait for the vet to open. You may need to stall to see if she eats. I wouldn't give insulin if she won't eat and she's still in these lower numbers, but it's best to see what her AMPS is like Jamie said.
 
I would see if she can keep the Cerenia down. Is there any chance she got into something she shouldn't have?

I am wondering if Willow should get in to see the vet. While your last test is by no means a worrisome number, it's higher than usual for Willow. There could be something brewing.
 
I would see if she can keep the Cerenia down. Is there any chance she got into something she shouldn't have?

I am wondering if Willow should get in to see the vet. While your last test is by no means a worrisome number, it's higher than usual for Willow. There could be something brewing.
Hi, thanks to everyone.

She looks a bit better this am, pupils not as dilated; she her amps was 112 (6.2) which is more her "high normal" .

She ate a meatball with 1/4 Cerenia but refused the other 1/4 tab, so I pilled and chased it with water.

Her usual daily dose of cerenia is 1/4 tab, but her prescribed dose is 1/2 tab ( the tabs are 24 mg) and I wanted her to get maximum effect.

How long should I wait? I'd like to make sure she will eat before giving insulin. If she's still not eating in 30 mins should I just mirtazapine her, or should I give Cerenia an hour (ETA I mean give it an hour to work!)Postponing isn't a problem, we're always home to monitor.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) , she was at the vet yesterday and got an exam and blood work, according to the blood her creatinine is down, got the sdma test and it's fine, this vet says she's not in CRF! Will update labs today.

She did get her 1st ever cartrophen injection yesterday at the vet. Also started last night on on aventiclav for UTI, but she's had clavamox before.

Please advise, thanks so much. With love, nikki
 
Just read yesterday's condo; I see she had a shot of cartrophen recently. Boomer just started cartrophen about 5 weeks ago. I don't think she would be feeling the effects of it yet. If she's receiving an antibiotic perhaps it has upset her tummy? I wouldn't give mirtazapine while she is still acting nauseous; I would wait to see if the cerenia is helping.
 
We're 99.9%sure she didn't get into anything (the 0.01% is just because she's a cat). We have *nothing* she can get into.

She had clavamox many times before with no issues, it's the same as aventiclav apparently. Although the last time, after 9 days I think, she had diarrhea we attributed to the antibiotic, so we switched. But nothing like this.

Also adding we didn't test till +2.5 and she was already below 40, her biggest drop in a long time and fastest drop ever. She's been nadiring earlier, she could have been lower at +2 or maybe even earlier; we thought with her preshot it was safe to test at +2.5. could this be a hypo response?

She's also drinking like a racehorse all night and morning (no vomiting) which she hasn't done since we can remember....A long time.
 
Hi, so her amps was 112 (6.2). Gave cerenia, waited. Offered food; ate 1 tsp meow luau and tiny bit FF chunky chicken.

Retested amps@+13 was 100 (5.6)

Gave insulin at +13, reduced dose, 1.55u Lantus.

She is wiped; if her Appy hasn't improved by +4 we'll give mirtazapine, much as I don't want to.

With love, nikki
 
Be careful giving the mirtazapine if she is still nauseas. She still won't be able to eat and it could make her miserable because she'll want to. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Be careful giving the mirtazapine if she is still nauseas. She still won't be able to eat and it could make her miserable because she'll want to. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you, that's partly why I don't like giving it. She's eating some food now (without mirtz) with no signs of nausea, so I think she's just inappetent at this point. I won't give mirtazapine unless she's simply not eating enough, or we're making life miserable for her by constantly chasing her to eat (it's happened).
With love, nikki
 
Ate 2 tsp food

+1 ... 92 (5.1)

Odd...*Extreme* gag reflex when offered her boiled chicken treat after testing, after she'd eaten.
 
Hope she feels better soon. Was she tested for p'titis?

No, she was doing pretty awesome until last night, actually, except for what we think is a UTI flaring up again. It was just a vet recheck because we're back in NS and I wanted her blood work done again (it's been 2.5 months).
Thanks! With love, nikki
 
I'm betting what's going on is that Willow is reacting to the Anticlav. It is not exactly the same as clavamox -- it's a relative but not the same drug -- so it's possible that she's reacting to the antibiotic.

If it's possible, I'd feel more reassured if you looped your vet in about Willow's reaction as well as your having given her Cerenia and mirtazepine. I am sure it's safe -- it's just that none of us are vets and while we're likely thinking along the same lines as your vet would, I'd feel terrible if we missed something that's incredibly obvious to your vet.

Also, can you update Willow's spreadsheet when you have a chance. I'm terribly dependent on looking at a spreadsheet.
 
Side effects of Cerenia in cats
  • Lethargy and drowsiness.
  • Lack of appetite.
  • Excessive drooling.
  • Diarrhea.
Cartrophen side effects ( in dogs)

Lethargy and/or mild depression
Mild inappetence lasting up to two days after administration

Common side effects of mirtazapine include:
  • Drowsiness.
  • Weight gain.
  • Dry mouth.
  • Increased appetite.
  • Constipation.
  • Lack of energy.
  • Weakness.
  • Dizziness.

Nearly ALL drugs are tested on Dogs NOT cats. Don't you think the combination of "OFF Label" drugs in a small cat could "cause her to FEEL sick?

Ravan has stage 2 Kidney disease. He gets Low Phosphorus food (mostly Raw) & Calcitriol 2 X's a Week. His last blood work showed a slight improvement.

He also gets D-Mannose a natural product to prevent UTI Excellent short video about UTI's

Using antibiotics can cause a never ending cycle of UTI's.

Have you considered A good quality CBD Oil for her appetite? It works for all 3 of my cats. It's good for inflammation & pain also. The only side effect I know of is they get Hungry, & in a good mood,Playful! :joyful:
 
I'm betting what's going on is that Willow is reacting to the Anticlav. It is not exactly the same as clavamox -- it's a relative but not the same drug -- so it's possible that she's reacting to the antibiotic.

If it's possible, I'd feel more reassured if you looped your vet in about Willow's reaction as well as your having given her Cerenia and mirtazepine. I am sure it's safe -- it's just that none of us are vets and while we're likely thinking along the same lines as your vet would, I'd feel terrible if we missed something that's incredibly obvious to your vet.

Also, can you update Willow's spreadsheet when you have a chance. I'm terribly dependent on looking at a spreadsheet.

Hi, you and I were thinking along the same lines.... The antibiotic somehow being involved. I'd already decided not to give it again until she's stabilized, if at all. Especially since I got my copy of the U/A today and from what I can tell, there's not an infection.... There's something, but it's not an infection.
We also haven't given mirtz yet, we've gotten her to eat some via coaxing and spoon, and are giving her the day to sleep and recover some. We'll see how she's doing this evening, and perhaps give mirtz then if needed.

I'll update my SS later today... I am so sorry, I also depend on it. It's on my computer updated, but until I go to a wifi to upload it, it's useless to everyone else.

I'll try to get labs on today, but no guarantee.

I'm considering switching to SLGS... Has anyone ever done that? (people usually switch to TR from what I see). I'm starting to feel this isn't fair to Willow. And what forum would be best to discuss that on... L&l or main health?
With love, nikki
 
Side effects of Cerenia in cats
  • Lethargy and drowsiness.
  • Lack of appetite.
  • Excessive drooling.
  • Diarrhea.
Cartrophen side effects ( in dogs)

Lethargy and/or mild depression
Mild inappetence lasting up to two days after administration

Common side effects of mirtazapine include:
  • Drowsiness.
  • Weight gain.
  • Dry mouth.
  • Increased appetite.
  • Constipation.
  • Lack of energy.
  • Weakness.
  • Dizziness.

Nearly ALL drugs are tested on Dogs NOT cats. Don't you think the combination of "OFF Label" drugs in a small cat could "cause her to FEEL sick?

Ravan has stage 2 Kidney disease. He gets Low Phosphorus food (mostly Raw) & Calcitriol 2 X's a Week. His last blood work showed a slight improvement.

He also gets D-Mannose a natural product to prevent UTI Excellent short video about UTI's

Using antibiotics can cause a never ending cycle of UTI's.

Have you considered A good quality CBD Oil for her appetite? It works for all 3 of my cats. It's good for inflammation & pain also. The only side effect I know of is they get Hungry, & in a good mood,Playful! :joyful:

Thanks for the info, Joy :)

My mother is in terrible pain waiting for surgery... CBD oil helped for a brief while but it doesn't cut it any more. It also doesn't affect her appetite. I know weed gave me the munchies, though lol.

Wilow is on dmannose as well as corn silk extract for inflammation for her urinary tract, and has been for a long while. She still has recurring urinary issues.

I wean her off cerenia whenever I can... When she becomes nauseated when I stop giving it, and refuses to eat, she goes back on. If she wasn't on insulin and so tightly regulated, her appetite wouldn't be such an issue. And she only gets mirtz when she is so inappetent we are literally chasing her , one step from force feeding her, to get her to eat; it's a better quality of life for her at that point to give the mirtz. Since we've increased her gabapentin, she hasn't needed mirtz...It was apparently a pain issue for her much of the time related to her teeth. The GABA and puréeing her food has helped her tremendously.

I'm finding her needs change even throughout the day, and what is best for her quality of life also changes depending on the moment. I would rather she be at medical risk from pharmaceutical drugs, and becomfortable and happy, than free from drugs and miserable and sad. Her quality of life is more important than its duration.

The good news is yesterday's blood work showed an improvement in creatinine, and her sdma came back normal, so it looks like switching to and mixing in lower phosphorus foods has helped...My vet says she wouldn't consider her to have CRF!

I'm glad Peggy Sue is feeling better these days.

With love, Nikki
 
et says she wouldn't consider her to have CRF!
That's great news!

You said the CBD Oil doesn't affect "your Mother's" appetite. Maybe it's the Brand she used? Or maybe it works a LOT different in a CAT?
One of my cats,Alice, will eat everything in site if I give CBD to her. With Ravan & Peggy Sue they just get a bit more hungry. Enough that I'm happy they eat.

What is your mom having surgery for?
 
That's great news!

You said the CBD Oil doesn't affect "your Mother's" appetite. Maybe it's the Brand she used? Or maybe it works a LOT different in a CAT?
One of my cats,Alice, will eat everything in site if I give CBD to her. With Ravan & Peggy Sue they just get a bit more hungry. Enough that I'm happy they eat.
I don't know the brand, it's the regulated, prescription stuff you need to get from licensed drs etc etc that's been researched to death. We're in Canada.
 
I'm considering switching to SLGS... Has anyone ever done that? (people usually switch to TR from what I see). I'm starting to feel this isn't fair to Willow. And what forum would be best to discuss that on... L&l or main health?
Yes there have been people who have switched from TR to SLGS. You can do that if you need to if your circumstances change. You would still post here. Furball is on SLGS. I'm glad you got Willow to eat some food today. I hope she keeps eating for you. Sending prayers.
 
Yes there have been people who have switched from TR to SLGS. You can do that if you need to if your circumstances change. You would still post here. Furball is on SLGS. I'm glad you got Willow to eat some food today. I hope she keeps eating for you. Sending prayers.
Thank you, Carla. I am about to post a rather longwinded letter in Feline Health on switching over, with some questions on SLGS.
I see you got some greens yesterday from Furball, congrats!
 
I'm betting what's going on is that Willow is reacting to the Anticlav. It is not exactly the same as clavamox -- it's a relative but not the same drug -- so it's possible that she's reacting to the antibiotic.

If it's possible, I'd feel more reassured if you looped your vet in about Willow's reaction as well as your having given her Cerenia and mirtazepine. I am sure it's safe -- it's just that none of us are vets and while we're likely thinking along the same lines as your vet would, I'd feel terrible if we missed something that's incredibly obvious to your vet.

Also, can you update Willow's spreadsheet when you have a chance. I'm terribly dependent on looking at a spreadsheet.
Hi @Sienne and Gabby (GA) , I think her SS is online and updated again :)
 
Hope Willow is feeling better tonight, I poked my nose in a few times during the morning but saw you had help and I don't have any experience with the meds you mentioned with diabetic kitties specifically. There is nothing wrong with taking a break and finding a more comfortable routine for a while. Chasing the greens can be exhausting.
 
Hope Willow is feeling better tonight, I poked my nose in a few times during the morning but saw you had help and I don't have any experience with the meds you mentioned with diabetic kitties specifically. There is nothing wrong with taking a break and finding a more comfortable routine for a while. Chasing the greens can be exhausting.
Thanks Christie :) She had diarrhea this evening, but her appetite finally picked up enough that she's eating full meals tonight (so far, anyway!)
I gave one antibiotic, stopped those. I'm scared to start the antispasmodic or anything new until she stabilizes appetite/attitude again. SQ fluids tonight will hopefully help. With love, Nikki
 
Back
Top