05/25 Tiggy pmps 77- he is down :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

So we had some weird BG over the last few days and I took his insulin back up. Every time his BG is over 150 his legs get worse but once it's back to a nice green blue his legs recover a bit.. But not as good as they were.
This time he didn't get up and has literally been dragging himself around for two days. Meanwhile cookie has been on antibiotics since last week and I don't seen an improvement. And Bailey had his metnimazole increased but continues to lose weight.

I am losing my mind and not coping. Should I put Tiggy down? He is otherwise totally normal and seems fairly happy but watching his dragging is so hard to watch. Mainly he lies there and whines till someone gives him food or cuddles or carried to the litter box or whatever he wants.

And cookies infection is still there. How do you treat a mouth infection like that? How long will the convenia take?

And then there is Bailey...
 
Bloodwork can show any mineral/electrolyte deficiencies. Ask your vet to check these. Potassium is another mineral that if deficient, can cause difficulty standing and walking. And too much potassium can kill, so only supplement minerals if the vet finds a deficiency.
 
Wendy - so sorry this is piling on all at once. :bighug::bighug:

I've seen Clindamycin more recommended as an AB for mouth infections - that's what Neko's dental vetty gave us after her extraction.

Have you looked at getting or making a wheelchair for Tiggy? I've seen one cat who has used one for years.
 
{{{Wendy}}}.

I totally understand how you feel (all four of my cats with cancer have other issues and today was a bad day for them), but please don't give up on Tiggy. There are a lot of reasons why his back legs are dragging. Forgive me for not recalling, but are you giving him b-12 supplements? If it is his neuropathy acting up, that can help. I know money is tight, but I really think you need to get a vet's opinion of Tiggy's situation, and some blood work.

Sending many healing vines and :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Wendy&Neko i will definitely ask about clindamyacin. However Tiggys front legs are slightly affected too so not sure a wheelchair would help.. But I will discuss it with DH and see what he thinks.

@Tricia & Cinco Tiggy gets b12 shots and daily zobaline, neither seem to help.
 
(((Wendy))) So sorry to hear all three of your crew are having such tough times, there is no worse feeling than when our furbabies aren't feeling well. :bighug: When was the last time Bailey's bloodwork was done? Was it done on In-house equipment or sent out to an acredited outside lab? I'm concerned that he's still losing weight even when on methamiazole. I'm concerned about your well being too! :bighug:Vines and prayers for you all!
 
It was done three weeks ago, in house, just before we increased the dose- and was the reason why we did. He has so many issues it's hard to know what is going on..
 
Wendy, so sorry you are having a really tough time with all of your kitties at the moment, sending you hugs and prayers that things improve soon, take care :bighug:
 
Hey.. Do you think this could be a magnesium deficiency?

I wondered because
1. Symptoms are ataxia, weakness and tremors .. All which Tiggy has. Also can cause irritability and he has that too although we thought it was his personality.
2. Can be caused by diabetes. Or diarrhea and Tiggy had that for six months a few years back. Frequent in human diabetics.
3. Can cause and make insulin resistance worse.
4. Not easy to diagnose.
5. Wellness is low in magnesium...
6. It's rare but his condition is rarer.. And was always a diagnosis of exclusion.
 
Tillie had a potassium deficiency and was stumbling a bit and low energy. She's doing much better now with a supplement. We get her tested to check levels. Hugs to you, Wendy.
Liz
 
Wendy, I just saw your post, I am so sorry to learn that you have so much problem with the "babies". I know your pain. I struggle with 7 kitties with different, major issues. Anyway, I tried to copy here this link. (if not working you can Google it.
- "how to build a wheelchair at home, low cost, and one of them would hold his whole body, kind of support his front legs too. Since this not cost that much, you guys can try it and if works he can use it for awhile. less emotional struggle for you to watch him and hopefully good for him too to move around a little more.
Cookies - I have the same good, more effective experience with Clindamycin as @Wendy&Neko mentioned it too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top