05/25 - Praying for another good day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday was a really good day for my little angel. Hopefully she will have another good day. I have my doubts because at 2am she was 487 and at 6am she was hi. I am grateful for that ONE good day. I will be testing in an hour, I will keep you posted. Have a blessed day all...
 
Morning Laura, ~O)

Mom-Mom went up because of no shot.... that caused her shed to drain, there wasn't insulin ....
Of course, we all know you weren't ready to shoot that 99....

Perhaps if you went with the 1.25 u dose for now....
The shed needs to refill.

The low number you got at least shows that Mom-mom isn't insulin resistant but she does need to get a consistent dose so that doesn't become a problem.
I wish you weren't so far away so I could help.

Adding prayers....
It is difficult to have a diabetic cat along with all of life's other issues but we just love them so.
 
Hi Laura!

I was just looking at Mom Mom's ss and those greens in yesterday's first cycle sure look nice. I didn't read yesterday's condo but I gather you weren't ready to shoot the 99. I was just like you when Pixie had his first low number at shot time - it was 82 and I just wasn't ready so I did the same.

Last night, Pixie's preshot number was 70 and that was the lowest I have ever shot. I was a little apprehensive but everything went well. Shooting low numbers is scary but it's also usually the start of surfing in the blues and greens. If you look at Pixie's ss you'll see that this was the start of his healing numbers and he has gone from needing 2.5u of insulin (when I gave no shot) to today needing only 0.25u. Now I realize that ECID but what really helped me get over the fear was actually having Pixie go below 50 and bringing him back up with my hypo toolkit. I have everything ready and when his numbers dip I go into action. This has given me the confidence I needed to deal with low numbers. Hopefully, you too, will soon experience these things and enjoy Mom mom's progress into this healing range. Good luck Laura - sending you lots of prayers, blessings and healing vines. Anne
 
Good morning Laura!

Yesterday was a fantastic day for your baby :-D. It's great for her and it's a morale booster when we are feeling down.

I understand that you skipped the evening shot. I did that many times as I was not comfortable to give insulin at very low levels. When Juno was around 100 at the time of the shot, I would either give him a 0.5u dose or simply delay the time of insulin shot and see how his BG levels were in 1 or 2 hours after the regular time of the shot. Sometimes their values start rising and then it is safe to give them the full dose.

I hope for the best for your little angel.

Have a great day!
Cristina
 
Hello all...
It looks like another hi day for mom-mom. Do you think I SHOULD have shot at 99 ?? I would think that no shot was the right move. This happens EVERY time, she has good numbers and so I dont shoot and then her numbers go WAYYY up. I did test a few times last night.. She was still only at 134 at +1, that was even AFTER she ate. I went to sleep and around 2am she started going up into the 4's, by shot time she was hi. And now at +4, she is still on high. What am I doing wrong ??? Help me someone !!! :? confused_cat
 
you do want to get comfortable shooting lower numbers at some point, laura. If you're not comfortable shooting 99, could you shoot 150 at first? Then once you see what happens when you shoot 150, perhaps you can lower the number you are comfortable with. experienced people who are able to monitor will shoot most numbers over 50.

what you could've done yesterday was to post and ask for advice at the 99 or refer to the low numbers information sticky. What people would've suggested was that you delay feeding and retest every 30 minutes or so until she began to rise, then shoot immediately. That may have prevented the zoom up that you saw.

So file that tidbit away for the next time it happens - because you will surely be faced with a low preshot number again.

There is also a good information post on "shooting and handling low numbers" at the top of this page (with a yellow star). It goes over how to handle both low preshot numbers and low numbers at any point, plus it talks about what data you need to have to be ready to shoot the lower preshot numbers. We encourage people to be familiar with that post and to print it out so you have it if the board is down or your electricity goes off.

for now, all you can do is wait until she comes back down again. it is good to see her hit into the green numbers!
 
Hi Laura:

It's understandable that you are uncomfortable shooting numbers under 100, but if you read the condos of some of the more experienced people here, you will see it happens every day. You have to get to know your kitty and what the insulin does and when. Of course, they are often unpredictable, but if you take plenty of tests at different times during the day, your spreadsheet will begin to show you their patterns. There's nothing wrong with doing a BCS (Big Chicken Shot) if you are unsure whether to shoot or not. Also, posting for help on the board will almost always get you good advice. The thing that makes the TRP work is consistency. You need to be shooting every twelve hours so that your kitty has regular cycles. Skipping a shot can have longer ranging effects than just that cycle, as you are seeing now. No one wants you to shoot if you are truly uncomfortable about it, but you should try to get more info under your belt and be prepared to handle the lower numbers so you can make informed decisions, which will help you be comfortable. Try not to panic at the high numbers. They don't mean you've failed or that you're endangering your kitty. You just have to work to bring them down again. You'll get there. Nothing about this is easy, but know that you are in the right place to get the best possible help and support. Take advantage of that! We're all here for you!!!! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top