PLEASE READ LAST POST
Hi everyone, I'm new to this part of FDMB so apologies if I haven't set things out right. It's been an interesting week, I made THE biggest mistake by changing Miley's food and actually buying the wrong one which caused his numbers to skyrocket. I discussed this with then vet and took her advice to raise the insulin 0.5 more and to go back to the old food, this caused him to have a hypo...weirdly he had a hypo with a BG level of 4.6 (83) and I thought that was way too high. It was unbelievably scary being the first hypo he has had since diagnoses.
I am a little stuck now, I really think I need to get Miley's Insulin down as he's bringing in some pretty low numbers, this is on top of him eating a LOT, due to his CKD, he was losing a little weight so I started demand feeding him, he eats anywhere from 6 to 10 times a day (sometimes a little more if he's in a particularly hungry mood). Yesterday I dropped his insulin down to 1.75 units and will continue that for the 6 cycles and then if his numbers stay down, keep reducing it until his numbers are a little more stable. I'm not sure if this correct and would really appreciate any input on this.
Miley has had diabetes for nearly a year, I only found this forum recently and with no real help from our vet, I had been doing my best to look after him at home. I have been home testing since the first day he was diagnosed, though my vet didn't support this, I just couldn't give him insulin without actually knowing where his BG levels were (I have worked in hospitals with the 2 legged diabetics so couldn't understand not testing). I have learnt so much here already and everyone has been so wonderful!
Anyway, here I am with another very low AMPS and am not sure what to do, shoot normal units and watch closely, cut back insulin or just go for it normally? confused_cat
Thanks so much!
Bebe and Milo.
EDIT: put his PMPS+11 instead of his AMPS, fixed now!
Hi everyone, I'm new to this part of FDMB so apologies if I haven't set things out right. It's been an interesting week, I made THE biggest mistake by changing Miley's food and actually buying the wrong one which caused his numbers to skyrocket. I discussed this with then vet and took her advice to raise the insulin 0.5 more and to go back to the old food, this caused him to have a hypo...weirdly he had a hypo with a BG level of 4.6 (83) and I thought that was way too high. It was unbelievably scary being the first hypo he has had since diagnoses.
I am a little stuck now, I really think I need to get Miley's Insulin down as he's bringing in some pretty low numbers, this is on top of him eating a LOT, due to his CKD, he was losing a little weight so I started demand feeding him, he eats anywhere from 6 to 10 times a day (sometimes a little more if he's in a particularly hungry mood). Yesterday I dropped his insulin down to 1.75 units and will continue that for the 6 cycles and then if his numbers stay down, keep reducing it until his numbers are a little more stable. I'm not sure if this correct and would really appreciate any input on this.
Miley has had diabetes for nearly a year, I only found this forum recently and with no real help from our vet, I had been doing my best to look after him at home. I have been home testing since the first day he was diagnosed, though my vet didn't support this, I just couldn't give him insulin without actually knowing where his BG levels were (I have worked in hospitals with the 2 legged diabetics so couldn't understand not testing). I have learnt so much here already and everyone has been so wonderful!
Anyway, here I am with another very low AMPS and am not sure what to do, shoot normal units and watch closely, cut back insulin or just go for it normally? confused_cat
Thanks so much!
Bebe and Milo.
EDIT: put his PMPS+11 instead of his AMPS, fixed now!