05/25 Juno AMPS 85 +3 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tininha & Juno

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119270

Good morning everyone!

Today Juno decided to go to higher values and I'm not at all happy with that :cry:. The values are still in the good range compared to what he had a couple of weeks ago, but he was doing so well in the 60's... and with this values it seems everything is lost right now :sad:. So today morning I went ahead and gave him another micro-dose, but 3 hours after the shot he was at 108. In part due to my fault and I just want to punch myself right now... :evil:. The closet door where I keep all the cat food was opened and I caught Juno's eating some kibble that I keep in a small bowl for my other cat :evil: :cry:. I just feel like throwing away the bag of kibble to the garbage!

I know that Levemir usually has its onset only after 4 hours the shot, so I'm hoping and crossing my fingers that his values go slightly back down. Otherwise, if his values keep rising, I'll have to increase the dose in the evening... :cry:

Have a great day!
Cristina
 
kibble is so attractive! many people do get rid of it entirely since kitters have a way of finding the good stuff no matter what! There is a great page on http://www.catinfo.org on how to transition dry food addicts to canned food. you might try some of those for your other cat to see if you can get them both on the canned food.

i wouldn't increase his dose based on this. remember your dosing is based upon the LOW point a dose will get him to. he's still well within the normal blood sugar range (50-120) - just keep giving him that tiny dose, twice a day if you can, and see how he does. the kibble can last a day or so, but it'll clear his system. don't worry and don't blame yourself - it happens!!
 
Nice to see Juno bring it back down. I'd stick to this same dose for a total of 7 days (14 cycles), unless Juno decides to go under 50. He's looking great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Good luck banishing the dry food from the house. I found it so much easier when both cats were eating the same food.
 
Thanks Wendy! It was a bit scary yesterday, and I was so relieved when he went back to the greens :mrgreen:. I will stick with the same tiny dose for more 7 days counting from yesterday. He has not gone below 50 yet (from my knowledge) and several of you advise me to stick to the tiny dose as long as I can. I don't want to mess up the great readings :-D.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top