05/25 bailey uk. +6 70, + 99 after sugary yoghurt :-/

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119263

sorry for second condo of the day,i didn't know what to do!!

what a day! theres me considering a dosecrease last night now I think il be decreasing. hes just got a 72 on the alphatrak and I was far from comfortable with that. ive just given him his favourite yoghurt that's 7.6g sugar per pot.he used to have it when he was little before fd and loved it so hes lapped half of it.i had to I was scared!!!

do you think im right decreasing tonight to 8.5. id hate him to go low in the night while im sleeping and something happen to him when weve done all this work and got so far the two of us!
I do think these antibiotics hes been on has had massive effects. weve never seen these low numbers.
 
Re: 05/25 bailey uk! HELP! 72 on AT.ive had to give syrup/yo

no crisis, anna! 68 on the AT is equivalent to 50 on the human meter, so you can let him go below 68 and then give a couple of drops of karo (corn syrup), honey, maple syrup or press a teaspoon of gravy out of a can of high carb food.

he's doing ok. i'd wait for him to go under 68, personally.

test every 20ish minutes.
 
Re: 05/25 bailey uk! HELP! 72 on AT.ive had to give syrup/yo

I panicked Julie as he wasn't far off! ive never seen these numbers so it was abit scary.i haven't given syrup just half of the yoghurt.he lapped it up.he mustve thought all his Christmas's had arrived at once ;-) so glad im home with him the next few days. should I lower the dose tonight or carry on,on 9 units?
 
Re: 05/25 bailey uk! HELP! 72 on AT.ive had to give syrup/yo

Test again 1/2 hour after he's eaten. Let's see what he does the rest off the cycle.
 
Re: 05/25 bailey uk! HELP! 72 on AT.ive had to give syrup/yo

remember, on an AT, the normal numbers are roughly in the 68-160 range - so it's SUPER to have him in that range now.

don't worry about panicking. i suspect most people have overcarbed their cat and panicked when they first saw green numbers, especially when Bailey has been high for so long and this is really the lowest he's ever been. he won't suffer for having had his pot of favorite yogurt! :-D :lol: lucky boy!

technically, we wouldn't reduce him unless he went below 68 AT . . . and since you're in the midst of your 8 days off, i'd say stick with it unless he does go under 68. so i wouldn't carb him anymore at this point so we can see what he does on his own.
 
Re: 05/25 bailey uk! HELP! 72 on AT.ive had to give syrup/yo

that's good to know!
i haven't fed him anything extra carb wise,except his yoghurt but hes also had his tea just now.he went for it of his own accord.only his normal chicken with felini complete on.so il test in half an hour and lets see how we go.
 
Re: 05/25 bailey uk! HELP! 72 on AT.ive had to give syrup/yo

When you get the next test, would you edit the subject line of the first post of this condo and put the number in? I'm going to go do some things but if you've got it in the subject line, others will see it and know if you need help.

Looks like Wendy is also checking in and out today. *waves hi to wendy!*
 
Re: 05/25 bailey uk! HELP! 72 on AT.ive had to give syrup/yo

It's ok! I sometimes speak in gibberish - and i can use a lot of words to do it too! :lol:

Yes, I mean remove the Help! from the subject line of the first post in this thread.

so it would say 5/25 Bailey uk, AT AMPS 164, +6/70, +7/current number

That way people can see what's going on right now.
 
Re: 05/25 bailey uk! HELP! 72 on AT.ive had to give syrup/yo

yep will do
hes still only at 99 and that's an hour AFTER yoghurt and half an hour after food. I think im gonna feel better reducing tonight.please don't think im not taking taking your advice I am but im just not comfortable with these numbers :-( crazy really when hes been so high!
 
you can do what you want and I won't be offended . . . but i want to really encourage you to hold the dose. you want as long of a stretch in normal numbers as is possible so that his pancreas can heal. The more you have him here and see that he's doing ok, the more comfortable you'll feel with him being there.

Take a look at some of the spreadsheets where cats are in normal numbers for long stretches. Right now Pixie, Gracie (who is on Levemir, but you can still see how low and flat her numbers are), Zack, and Juno (also on Lev) are all spending lots of time in normal numbers. Look in each one of them how when the person begins shooting the lower preshots, the cycle flattens out and might only move a few points in the course of a cycle. I think of a lower preshot as a little gift, Anna - if you have a chance to hold the dose and shoot low tonight, since you're off work right now, if he were mine, i'd sure grab the opportunity.

Often when people reduce in advance before the cat has "earned" the reduction by dropping below 50/68, it seems like the numbers will go back up and you have to go through the process again.

BUT, having said that, i totally get it if you are scared and can't bring yourself to do it. It's always your choice.
 
thanks Julie! you're a good lady :YMHUG:

it seems so strange that his bg hasn't really budged that much after having such a sugary yoghurt and his tea. I cant understand that! its scary to think where he would've been if I hadn't given him that at 72! nailbite_smile .he seems to be eating a lot more but I don't know whether that's because hes feeling the lower numbers or going lower.they eat don't they when they feel they are heading low?? is that right??

I love him so very much, the thought of losing my playful,loving little dude (that's been hiding away for 8months) terrifies me. its all so nerve racking isn't it or perhaps im just being over sensitive.whatever it is,im doing my upmost to keep my boy safe and well.we're getting there.we're in a much better place than we were 3 weeks ago! :-D
 
Hi Anna, you had quite a scare there but you came through very well. I just want to tell you that I was exactly where you're at a few weeks ago. I can, without a shadow of a doubt, tell you that you can trust these wonderful ladies who are guiding you along. I felt exactly like you and a few times I hesitated about some of the advice but followed it anyway and am I ever glad I did because Pixie is surfing in the greens. Believe me when I tell you that these ladies know what they are talking about and if you are confident enough, your precious little kitty will come sailing through.

Going below 68 is not as dreadful as you might think but it does require a lot of time and effort to monitor kitty closely. If you can, take a leap of faith and see if you can hold the dose. The most important thing is to monitor closely and sometimes test often (every 15 to 20 min when they drop below the AT threshold) and fortunately for Bailey, you have the time to do it over the next few days. Please don't feel like I'm adding any pressure because my intent was only to reassure and tell you that I've been through it. Without all the great people at FDMB, Pixie would certainly not be where he is today. The proof is in his ss, look at his numbers prior to May 8, 2014 when I joined the board. Most of his numbers were in the reds and blacks and this went on for three months. Pixie was a very sick cat and the final straw for me was when my vet said he was not worried about how high Pixie went, he was only concerned about the nadir. This is true to some degree but Pixie was getting sicker and sicker, so I decided to take matters into my own hands and joined the board. The proof is in his numbers, check the complete turn around that happened a few days after I joined on May 8th. One of the reasons was the food Pixie was eating and it's all because the ladies kept insisting that I check into the %carbs in the food recommended by the vet. So without these kind ladies gently guiding and coaxing me, Pixie wouldn't be where he is currently.

Good luck Anna and Bailey. Pixie and I are sending you hugs and healing vines. Anne
 
anne thankyou for that reassuring message. im so glad your kitty is feeling better :-D

its so hard this disease isn't it? it doesn't help that the vets don't know much about it.the vet ive recently seen is very honest and says hes doesn't know but is doing his upmost to learn.my boys been so poorly.he still isn't right now but weve made, and are making such progress. I suppose its just having the courage to shoot those low numbers. ive not seen greens so to get these low greens today was a shock and abit scary! im almost scared to leave the house in fear of him dropping even lower while im out.theres only me and bailey and absolutely NOBODY that's willing to test.its tough :-(
 
Actually Anna, I'll be quite honest and tell you that I haven't been out much since we started to see green. I only went out after +6 and only for short periods. I do have my daughter but she doesn't test or give any injections yet. I hoping that will change but who knows maybe Pixie will OTJ...maybe(paws crossed). Tomorrow is the first time I have to leave to travel to Toronto, 3 hours away, for a doctor's appointment. I'm a wee bit nervous and may actually omit his shot in the am - I'm going to try to make it back for his pm shot. So I understand your fear because they can nosedive down and you do want to be there, ready with your hypo kit. There were some evenings that I was so exhausted and had to get some sleep and was fearful that Pixie could still slip lower. So in those cases, I left some MC food mixed with LC food (because I know it works in getting Pixie's numbers up and it's relatively longer lasting than karo or gravy) and I hoped for the best. Sure enough, Pixie did well those evenings and his AMPS was not overly high the following morning. As Bailey works his way through the blues and greens, you'll get a good idea of what works for Bailey and how much time it takes for his numbers to rise. You found one definite thing that works today - yogurt. Now you just have to experiment with other types of food and amounts. Good luck, Anna :smile: !
 
What a day Anna! :YMHUG: The first cycles like this are very scary - I'm embarrassed to say how many carbs Neko got the first time we went low. :oops: You did super today Anna. Today is an almost ideal cycle for Bailey, blue down to green and back up to blue. :-D I hope Bailey gets used to cycles like this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top