05/24 Willow.PMPS 92/ +2.5 38/ +3.25 40 ..Advice please,BG dropping

nslade001

Member Since 2018
Hi, so Willow had her vet apt today... Will post more on that tomorrow... Got her 1st injection of cartrophen for pain/arthritis and UTI. Also first pill tonight at pmps for UTI (clavamox, has had before).

Extra purry at +2, was wondering if it could possibly be pain relief from cartrophen? That quickly?

Tested at +2.5, she's 38 (2.1), retest at 41 (2.3). Pmps was 92 (5.1)

She's super alert. Ate her gravy food well, will monitor closely.

Thing is, she earned a reduction last night at +2, so gave her dosecrease from 2.05u to 1.8u lantus this morning. She ran slightly higher numbers than normal today (high 80s, low 90s).

Does this mean another reduction tomorrow morning? Can/should you do back-to-back reductions? What to do?

Any thoughts or advice, please!

ps Just retested at 20 min, still 41(2.3) sigh. Gonna be a long night.

With love, nikki

PPS sorry can't update SS at home
 
I'd consider a few things. You've introduced some meds in parallel and numbers under 40 shouldn't be taken lightly. Yes, back to back reducies aren't usually recommended, but to me you can always go back up if the reducie doesn't hold.
 
I'd consider a few things. You've introduced some meds in parallel and numbers under 40 shouldn't be taken lightly. Yes, back to back reducies aren't usually recommended, but to me you can always go back up if the reducie doesn't hold.

Thank you,

+ 3.25....40 (2.2)

Gave more HC gravy with 2 drops karo corn syrup. Stressed.

Will definitely take another reduction if I can, I didn't know if it was unsafe to do so.

Should I skip tomorrow's amps to drain her depot?

Thanks so much, with love, nikki
 
There is nothing unsafe about taking reductions when the numbers dictate :bighug:. Let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out, it is still early . I'd like to see Willow comfortably above 50 with no intervention.
 
T
There is nothing unsafe about taking reductions when the numbers dictate :bighug:. Let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out, it is still early . I'd like to see Willow comfortably above 50 with no intervention.

Thanks again. What do you mean by no intervention? Did I jump on the karo too soon?

Just retested 20 mins past the karo, she's at 50! (2.8) I gave another tsp HC gravy ( I know I wasn't supposed to, but I'm a bit freaked). Her ears are a bit cold, now I'm stressed about that lol.

Hoping she starts staying up so I can start feeding her her normal LC meals, they're pretty much all medicated with something and we're falling behind!

With love, Nikki
 
Oh good, I like 50! With no intervention means she doesn't need syrup, HC to keep above 50. You want to see her stay above 50 on her own, since syrup and HC wear off quickly, you'll need a couple of consecutive tests to make sure she doesn't drop back, as numbers can bobble around when you use syrup/HC. After next test if she is staying above 50 or rising, I think you can give her some of her LC.

ETA no, you didn't use the karo too soon, I find I can get numbers up with Mav without karo, but that's us, many people here use karo exactly like you did, and it was warranted, since 38 is too low for comfort.
 
Oh good, I like 50! With no intervention means she doesn't need syrup, HC to keep above 50. You want to see her stay above 50 on her own, since syrup and HC wear off quickly, you'll need a couple of consecutive tests to make sure she doesn't drop back, as numbers can bobble around when you use syrup/HC. After next test if she is staying above 50 or rising, I think you can give her some of her LC.

ETA no, you didn't use the karo too soon, I find I can get numbers up with Mav without karo, but that's us, many people here use karo exactly like you did, and it was warranted, since 38 is too low for comfort.

OK, thanks yet again lol.

I'm generally ok dealing with her lower numbers, because *usually* she responds fairly quickly with HC alone, and tends to continue to rise...This was lower than my comfort zone, and she wasn't responding to the HC to *rise*, it was just keeping her from dropping, thus the panicked karo grab lol.

She was just at 54, so gave some LC with her pepcid, will continue to monitor till she's stable in good numbers.

Thanks So Much, I really appreciate you being here for me!

With love, nikki
 
You can probably test in an hour now. I understand completely, even after almost 2 years doing this, Mav gave me a 34 on AT2 a month or so ago, I almost had a heart attack :eek:, almost panicked to the point where I was going to take him to emerg, then I remembered I actually knew what to do :rolleyes:.

Happy to help, glad you and Willow are doing better. I'll check back in case you need so more support but I think you handled everything very nicely :bighug:
 
You can probably test in an hour now. I understand completely, even after almost 2 years doing this, Mav gave me a 34 on AT2 a month or so ago, I almost had a heart attack :eek:, almost panicked to the point where I was going to take him to emerg, then I remembered I actually knew what to do :rolleyes:.

Happy to help, glad you and Willow are doing better. I'll check back in case you need so more support but I think you handled everything very nicely :bighug:

Aargh, yes that's a panic number.

So now she's a bit nauseated from the gravy and all the chicken treats, and doesn't want her actual LC meals. Tried fortifloa, she nibbled a bit. Will try again at +5, give her tummy some time to settle in the meantime
At least she's no longer frantically starving. lol. No middle ground here!

With love, nikki
 
Refused food at +5 but seems hungry; gave the "pukey meow" but hasn't gagged or vomited. Upset tummy from the gravy I think (hope!). Going to nap, will set alarm and offer food again at +6. If she's still refusing food but numbers stay stable, I'll leave some food out and sleep till her +9, I think. With love, Nikki
 
Any chance you can quickly test? That will also help decide if you need to test at +6 of get some rest.

ETA maybe your plan is better, +6 will be well after the HC and syrup.
 
Dammit, woke from nap and she'd vomited. Still gaggy and refusing food. It's just after +6, that was 103 (5.7)
her reading at +5 before nap was 70(3.9)

Will leave food out and hope this passes, and she eats, setting alarm for +9.

With love, nikki
 
Hi again, at +6 (2:15am) Willows BG was 103 ( 5.7), and there was a large puddle of vomit in her litter box; she gagged when offered her chicken treats and left.

Now at +9 (5:15am) her BG is 142 (7.9) and the chicken treat response/reflex was a very strong gag again. Wayne showed her normal meal slurry and she sniffed it, didn't gag but gave a little nose lick and turned her nose up, but no gag.

While I've been typing she's gotten up and had 2 long drinks of water, no gagging....See if she keeps it down..

Amps will be in 2.5 hours now....What if she still gags at food??? What will I do? It seems very counterintuitive to forcibly pill (and then chase it with water) a nauseated cat. But I can't give insulin to a cat that won't eat! And I only have cerenia pill, not injection.

Do I hold off and try to get injectable Cerenia from the vet? But what if my vet isn't in till noon?

Please advise, I'm at a loss! I don't know if these are bounce numbers or feeling sick numbers, if the BG drop was caused by the cartrophen injection or by the (reduced that morning) insulin dose.

Thanks so much, with love, nikki

ETA link to yesterday condo
 
Back
Top