05/23 Skipper AMPS 583 & another update

Status
Not open for further replies.

millerb

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71134

The last week has been an emotional roller coaster. Early last week I got news of the enlarged lymph nodes clustered around Skipper's ileum and possible lymphoma or IBD. I took him back this Monday for a recheck, thinking this was going to when we made some decisions, and amazingly, learned that blood and urine tests showed relatively normal kidney values, little or no sign of anemia, and no bacteria in his urine or kidneys. He also gained about a half-pound, bringing him within a half pound of his pre-diabetes weight of about 11 lbs. There has been only one vomiting incident in the last week, and in the last 3 days, he has eaten a little canned food. I know that it's the prednisolone that is helping, but I'll enjoy it for as long as I can. I also got a prescription for Royal Canin hypoallergenic HP food, but have not had the opportunity to look for it yet. I'd rather try to get him interested in canned food if I can. Also, he started fighting taking his pills (he's always taken pills well) so I got some of the allergy Pill Pockets (duck and pea) and he not only likes them, but keeps them down.

I did raise his Lantus dose to 3.5 units twice a day, and will likely have to go up to 4 units this weekend, as he remains over 550 at all times.

So right now, we're just taking it one day at a time.
 
Beth --

Take a look at Hill's D/D. It's "officially" for skin-related allergies. My sister's cat has IBD and has been scouring labels. The D/D venison is actually not trash food. It's a little high in carbs, though (16%). Merrick Before the Grain also has some low carb foods that are novel proteins. The novel proteins can help with the IBD.

Frankly, if the pred is helping Skipper to feel better, you can always work the dose around the steroid. Quality of life is more important than how many units of insulin you're giving. Please try to get some spot checks and PLEASE check ketones. With Skipper in these numbers, I'd consider continuing to raise the dose by 0.5u just like you did previously. If you will get a minimum of one spot check per cycle, you can be more aggressive and raise the dose every 4 cycles -- BUT, you must get the tests in.
 
Thanks, Sienne. I can get spot checks on weekends during the day or in the evenings during the week. I have been checking for ketones, and he hasn't had any, thankfully. Sometimes I forget to put it on the spreadsheet, but I'm doing it. It's hard because he won't use the box if he knows I'm around, so I have to really be stealth. If I put cotton balls in the box in the spots where he goes, he manages to pee around them.

I'll look for that food. I have tried either the Nature's Variety or EVO canned duck (I can't remember which) before with no success in keeping it down, but I might try again. My vet was adamantly opposed to giving him raw food. And that's putting it nicely.
 
You might consider a consult with Dr. Lisa. For IBD cats, she does suggest partially cooking food. I know my sister is planning on a consultation with her. If you remind me in a week or two, I'll let you know what she thinks. (Her cat has kidney issues and IBD, just not diabetes.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top