05/23 AMPS 517 +4 149 + 8 58

To find your earlier post, click on your name below your avatar. On that pop up, select your Profile Page. On that page, select Postings to see what you have posted before. At the bottom of that page you can look at all posts you have done, or just all threads started by you.

Good catch on that green today. That girl sure likes to bounce!
 
Hey Dinah. Hope you are doing well! I had a peek at Shai’s SS, a big part of his bouncing (and quite literally the definition) is that he’s dropping so much lower than his body is used to, his liver just freaks out and pumps stored glycogen and hormones out to ‘save the day’.. 5/23 he went from 500’ to 58 that’s HUGE drop and he’ll most likely bounce back into the black from this. We want to avoid those big drops so he can even out a bit.

We can try to fix this by feeding the curve. We need Shai’s body to get used to the lower numbers without freaking out. By feeding at +2 and +4 we are giving a little extra carbs so that he doesn’t drop so quickly or so much. We can slowly get him used to lower numbers again - not saying he won’t still bounce but it may they not be as high and slowly he will start to be better with lower numbers.

I know you’ve been trying to feed at +2 but he’s not so hungry around then? Have you tried feeding a smaller breakfast? The beauty of Lantus is that it takes a few hours to kick in so you’re able to feed a smaller amount at breakfast so that he can eat again at +2 (onset) that would really help slow down those drops .. which means hopefully less bouncing.
 
Thanks
To find your earlier post, click on your name below your avatar. On that pop up, select your Profile Page. On that page, select Postings to see what you have posted before. At the bottom of that page you can look at all posts you have done, or just all threads started by you.

Good catch on that green today. That girl sure likes to bounce!
Thanks lots !!
He sure does we’re starting black :-///
 
Saw that coming. We need to get him used to higher lower numbers … like blues … the really low greens are just going to keep him in the circle of low green than blacks it seems. Feeding multiple mini meal a day (like PS, +2, +4) will help this a bit… my Gus even got a +9 snack

I hope he cooperates with you with the new routine!!
 
Hey Dinah. Hope you are doing well! I had a peek at Shai’s SS, a big part of his bouncing (and quite literally the definition) is that he’s dropping so much lower than his body is used to, his liver just freaks out and pumps stored glycogen and hormones out to ‘save the day’.. 5/23 he went from 500’ to 58 that’s HUGE drop and he’ll most likely bounce back into the black from this. We want to avoid those big drops so he can even out a bit.

We can try to fix this by feeding the curve. We need Shai’s body to get used to the lower numbers without freaking out. By feeding at +2 and +4 we are giving a little extra carbs so that he doesn’t drop so quickly or so much. We can slowly get him used to lower numbers again - not saying he won’t still bounce but it may they not be as high and slowly he will start to be better with lower numbers.

I know you’ve been trying to feed at +2 but he’s not so hungry around then? Have you tried feeding a smaller breakfast? The beauty of Lantus is that it takes a few hours to kick in so you’re able to feed a smaller amount at breakfast so that he can eat again at +2 (onset) that would really help slow down those drops .. which means hopefully less bouncing.

many thanks for all that i
well we’re in the black zone So here we are again though he gets food at +2 not sure what higher carb I should give now maybe that’s what I should sort better but he sure is high to start the day
Saw that coming. We need to get him used to higher lower numbers … like blues … the really low greens are just going to keep him in the circle of low green than blacks it seems. Feeding multiple times a day will help this a bit… I hope he cooperates with you with the new routine!!
you sure did …I hoped secretly that not being a light green it be ok but it’s not…what could should …I feed according to you ?! Like a spoon & of what or more or less ? Tried many feeding ways before still haven’t found the right one :(
 
What is he eating now, like how many carbs are in his main foods? How much are you feeding at preshot now?

I’d see if he will eat like a tsp of food for preshot (if high, it’s a bit different when they start out low) then hopefully he’ll be hungry for +2 snack

I’m going to tag @Bandit's Mom, she was my mentor through Gus’ journey, taught me almost everything I know ;) and she would know best how much to feed and when. She’s also more in your time zone so she’ll be around to help more.
 
Hé hardly had half of his break my amount s
What is he eating now, like how many carbs are in his main foods? How much are you feeding at preshot now?

I’d see if he will eat like a tsp of food for preshot (if high, it’s a bit different when they start out low) then hopefully he’ll be hungry for +2 snack

I’m going to tag @Bandit's Mom, she was my mentor through Gus’ journey, taught me almost everything I know ;) and she would know best how much to feed and when. She’s also more in your time zone so she’ll be around to help more.

precshot he gets 1 & half can of FF classic then for snacks he gets half of a ultimates from which he eats all or a quarter depending on the flavour…

thanks lots before he had only 1 can preshot & a spoon of FF along the day..:but he lost a lot of weight & now that he gets that 1 1/2 he seems to be getting better shape way

i have some raw roo mix which will be ready in a week it’s in the freezer so am hoping to add that as FF are getting impossible to find..:
 
What is he eating now, like how many carbs are in his main foods? How much are you feeding at preshot now?

I’d see if he will eat like a tsp of food for preshot (if high, it’s a bit different when they start out low) then hopefully he’ll be hungry for +2 snack

I’m going to tag @Bandit's Mom, she was my mentor through Gus’ journey, taught me almost everything I know ;) and she would know best how much to feed and when. She’s also more in your time zone so she’ll be around to help more.
Ps Bhooma is already helping me a lot :)
 
When Shai is dropping, he seems to really drop a lot at +2. Large drops can also create wicked bounces. Giving him some fresh food (carbs) about 1/2 hour before the drop can help soften the drop. So maybe try moving that +2 feed back to +1.5.
 
Oh wow! That’s a big breakfast, no wonder he’s not hungry by +2, lol. I think you can give maybe half a can for breakfast and see how that works. At +2 maybe 1/4 can and 1/4 at +4… (or as Wendy mentioned starting at +1.5 might be better, if he’ll eat - you might need to feed him less than half a can to get him to eat at +1.5… you’ll have to play with that)

We don’t want him to lose weight, so how ever much he’s getting in a day now, we want to spread it out over multiple mini meals. It’s actually better to do mini meals, it’s much easier on the pancreas and helps regulate.
 
He doesn’t always finish it & gets it if he asks for it tried so many feeding versions that am at sea lol he had a can then a spoon every hour for a while it didn’t work either
 
He doesn’t always finish it & gets it if he asks for it tried so many feeding versions that am at sea lol he had a can then a spoon every hour for a while it didn’t work either
 
Well… cats will be cats…

We need to soften that drop somehow and food will usually do the trick. How bout you try this new routine again and let’s see what happens (especially with being on TR now)
 
Ya, some cats just do better with slightly higher carbs (but still under 10%). I’ve seen some cats go higher on raw foods and you’d think that with no carbs or very little they’d do better.. but ECID :rolleyes:
 
Ya, some cats just do better with slightly higher carbs (but still under 10%). I’ve seen some cats go higher on raw foods and you’d think that with no carbs or very little they’d do better.. but ECID :rolleyes:
I’ll get some with more will see
What a dear pain it is
 
Back
Top