? 05/22 - 3 skipped doses in a row, AMPS = 6.6 mmol/L (119 mg/dl)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Champoux

Member Since 2017
Previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-3-9-2-75-3-8-3-4-7-3-25-4-9-3-50-5-8.178169/

This Saturday, Champagne went through his first hypo on a skinny 0.1 u shot. Since then, I was supposed to reduce his dose to a single drop, but he never reached a good enough preshot number for me to do so.

So far he hasn't gotten anything since Saturday morning, meaning the last three cycles were insulin-free, yet he never went above 8.7 mmol/L (157 mg/dl). He was given some dry food to test if it would make his numbers rise but it didn't seem to affect his BG that much; he'd get a slight peak then bring himself back down, never venturing out of the limits of blue.

Now his AMPS is 6.6 (119 mg/dl) and I'm seriously considering skipping this morning's shot as well, seeing how last time, such a small dose sent him crashing early in the cycle. Although he is on the high-end of the lab ranges for a healthy cat, should I give Champagne a chance at a OTJ trial ? I'm afraid to send him into a hypo if I give him a drop.

It should also be noted that Champagne's original diagnosis was made during what should've been a pre-op blood test for a dental. He has some serious tartar buildup and some teeth were going to be removed. I'm wondering if having his teeth fixed would bring down his BG in more natural ranges without the help of insulin.

Thanks in advance for your advice !
 
I would definitely give the otj trial a shot. Considering your using an alphatrak , many of those recent blues may have been green numbers if you were using a human meter as well.
 
We usually like to see mostly green and all normal numbers before a trial. If mine I'd try s stop unless under 90. See what others say.
 
It should also be noted that Champagne's original diagnosis was made during what should've been a pre-op blood test for a dental. He has some serious tartar buildup and some teeth were going to be removed. I'm wondering if having his teeth fixed would bring down his BG in more natural ranges without the help of insulin.

That could be very significant-- dental issues can definitely drive up BG (it's one of the major things that can knock a cat out of remission). Now that he's feeling better, his insulin needs could be much much lower. He is kind of on the edge in terms of an OTJ trial, but I don't think it's a bad idea to give it a shot. You can always re-start insulin if he can't maintain these numbers.
 
Adding, with respect to tiffmaxee's point: yeah, definitely a borderline case here. One worry is that, in an ideal world, we like to keep insulin support going as long as possible because experience has shown it leads to stronger remissions. So if you can do it safely, some period of time on the "one drop" dose would be great. I'm just worried about the symptomatic hypo yesterday, and my instinct is to be a bit more conservative than normal because of that.

If he still needs insulin, he should let you know.
 
Adding, with respect to tiffmaxee's point: yeah, definitely a borderline case here. One worry is that, in an ideal world, we like to keep insulin support going as long as possible because experience has shown it leads to stronger remissions. So if you can do it safely, some period of time on the "one drop" dose would be great. I'm just worried about the symptomatic hypo yesterday, and my instinct is to be a bit more conservative than normal because of that.

If he still needs insulin, he should let you know.

The hypo risk really is my main concern. Hadn't he reacted so strongly to the o.1 u, I would be way less nervous about giving him a drop. Now I'm just waiting for a preshot that's a bit higher, so I can have time to see it coming if he starts dropping quickly again. Is it better to have a cat completely stabilized or OTJ before undergoing a dental procedure, or can it be done while he's on the edge of good numbers like Champagne is ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top