Malia
Member Since 2024
05/17's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-17-teja-amps-393.290112/#post-3180135
Hello everyone, so I increased Teja's dose of insulin per my vet's prompting. My vet wanted Teja to be upped to 3 units. I didn't want to do 3 units, so I did my best to do 2.75 units this morning. Which is up from 2.5 units. I know I am supposed to wait 7 days to increase, but I caved to my vet.
So here we are. 2.75 units and an hour and a half away from insulin and we are in the 100s. This is the first time in a while that we have been coasting here with the lower numbers. Teja is snoozing and I have woke her up to eat so she doesn't drop. So tonight we will be shooting low, and I am nervous. I am not sure if it is the 2.75 units that has brought her down to these wonderful numbers, or if it is the 2.5 units coming to fruition. She didn't drop under 90, but could have if I had not fed her.
Should I back down to 2.5 units this evening if she is still in the lower numbers? Should I maintain the 2.75 units? Should a delay my dose if the numbers are in the 100s at preshot? What are your thoughts or suggestions?
Hello everyone, so I increased Teja's dose of insulin per my vet's prompting. My vet wanted Teja to be upped to 3 units. I didn't want to do 3 units, so I did my best to do 2.75 units this morning. Which is up from 2.5 units. I know I am supposed to wait 7 days to increase, but I caved to my vet.
So here we are. 2.75 units and an hour and a half away from insulin and we are in the 100s. This is the first time in a while that we have been coasting here with the lower numbers. Teja is snoozing and I have woke her up to eat so she doesn't drop. So tonight we will be shooting low, and I am nervous. I am not sure if it is the 2.75 units that has brought her down to these wonderful numbers, or if it is the 2.5 units coming to fruition. She didn't drop under 90, but could have if I had not fed her.
Should I back down to 2.5 units this evening if she is still in the lower numbers? Should I maintain the 2.75 units? Should a delay my dose if the numbers are in the 100s at preshot? What are your thoughts or suggestions?

