05/21/14 Need advice for Mom-mom

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
Mom-mom was just given a dosage adjustment 4 days ago. She constantly stays on hi. Something has to give. She looks just fine, she is eating and playing. I give her the PMPS at 8pm now. The last 2 nights I even tried to take the food away before I went to bed,and she was still on high. The food she is eating is Fancy Feast liver & chicken. It IS on the approved list. I went through trying to switch her to Blue Wilderness but, she is too fussy. Should I try a different food ? Should I make a dosage adjustment ? She cant keep staying on high. Can someone recommend a better food for finiky eating cats ? Please help
 
Hi Laura,

I know how frustrating those HI numbers can be!

I'm curious. Why did you decrease Mom-Mom's dose back to 1unit? Then back up to the 1.25 and then back down again? It doesn't look like there was anything in the evening of 5/18 that would be precipitated a drop back to 1unit. I would increase back up to 1.25.

Are you doing the Grilled Liver & Chicken in Gravy? Or the Tender Liver & Chicken?

~Suzanne
 
Suz
The food is the classic kind. I did notice her bottom fang is now pointed straight out of her mouth. I cant afford to take her back to the vet for another week at least. As far as the 18th, I was told to do a dosage decrease that day, but forgot in the morning, thats why thats the way it is. What am I gonna do? Could it possibly be the OTHER tooth now ??? Like I stated, she looks and is acting just fine. Thanks for your input, we very much appreciate it (Mom-mom and & I) LOL
 
Ah. Because of the 48 the morning before? I vaguely remember that.

Honestly, her tooth is a big issue. Pain can increase the BG. And it sounds like her mouth needs some major work. I would not let them just pull the tooth without pain meds...during and after the procedure. You may find that if that tooth is addressed, her insulin need disappears. No guarantee of that, of course, but it's possible.

I would address it as soon as you can. And demand pain medication.
 
Anesthesia is a necessity for a dental extraction. How do you think you'd feel if the dentist pulled your tooth without anesthesia? And pain meds are needed as well.
 
The fancy feast you're giving her is fine - i think it's around 4-5%. I fed it to punkin, too. if she'll eat it, go ahead and give it to her.

i'd go back up to 1.25u, or even 1.5u (see my note at the bottom) but both Suzanne and Sienne are right - it seems like her teeth issues are an important factor in her high numbers. If there is something else going on, we don't know about it. But we do know that problem teeth can really make blood sugar go high. I'm not sure you're going to be able to get her blood sugar under control without dealing with her teeth. Probably the best choice is to have the vet pull both the fang that's sticking out and the 1/2 tooth that is remaining after he pulled the other half of it out. that's gotta be incredibly painful.

cats are notorious for hiding their pain. we see it more in blood sugar than in behavior, sometimes. i read somewhere that it's a survival mechanism - they hide their pain and carry on because if they were in the wild and they were in pain and weren't able to carry on, they'd be lunch for some predator.

i also wouldn't do any of the dental work without anesthesia during the procedure and without buprenex (painkiller) afterwards. I know money is an issue and I don't know what the solution is, but i think this is the central problem that she needs fixed.

Until that can get done, about all you can do is increase her insulin to try to bring down her blood sugar. According to the protocol in quotes below, you're having nadirs (low numbers) of more than 300. So you could increase her dose by 0.5u to a new dose of 1.5u.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Thank you everyone for the input, I will definitely take the advice. This morning she will get the 1.5 and I pinned a copy of the low-no-cost vet services that Riannon gave me. Most of them are at least 2 hours away but, maybe they can help me with a local name. My mom got this certificate from "spay & save" but, its only for neutering. Hopefully, if I explain my situation to a few different vets, someone will be willing to help. I read the bulletin and it is mostly for free food and litter.

Also, I KNOW that it was painful for her the day I took her to the vet to get the tooth looked at but, he (the vet) really didn't have many other options. He KNEW I wasn't leaving her there, also, she ate, so anesthesia was out of the question. He did give her pain medicine as well as an antibiotic after he was done. She did not look half as uncomfortable as she did before she got there. I will make some calls today and hopefully get her in somewhere ASAP. Thanks again all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top