05/20 bailey uk! amps 256 +2 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
[urlhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118954][/url]

hi guys,
ive been back to the vet today (just me,Bails chilled at home while mamabean did all the work :roll: ) to discuss more,to show him his spreadsheet and him show me the scans etc... hes also given me a second lot of antibiotic. Bails has baffled him and hes honest about it! he cant understand why the antibiotic has had such a dramatic effect (see spreadsheet) when his blood count shows no sign at all of any infection! ive seen the scans and xrays and my boys inners look perfect barr his SLIGHTLY enlarge spleen which could also signify an infection.......but where......
he is not giving up and has told me today that he has printed out a 35 page document on lantus and the workings of it, that hes going to read on his 3 days holiday.(now that's dedication) he also suggested that his neuropathy could be having something to do with the numbers being high here and there with perhaps him getting pain but he said that will become less as his numbers stay at a lower range.

hes also not convinced hes got acromelagy (still awaiting those results) as after having a few consecutive days on lowish numbers (rememeber we're on a alpha trak so really there quite abit lower) he doesn't seem to think hes 'insulin resistant' but then like he said its an extremely high dose to be on so all in all hes completely baffled but has and still is researching and using contacts to get to the bottom of it so il keep you all posted!

im scared to be too optimistic but my little guy has been so different the past 4 days and today hes played quite abit. hes so much more alert and doing little things that hes not done for a VERY long time.
if my boy is happier,mamabean is happier too.think its time for a glass of vino. drinking24
 
Wow! What a wonderful vet! Sounds like a really dedicated man..especially if he's taking it upon himself to learn more about Lantus and how it works!

SUPER YEAH!! on Bailey acting like he feels better! Isn't that wonderful?? I'm sure you're thrilled to see him acting more like himself!

Whatever the reason for the better numbers, we sure hope he continues...and even comes down to better ones!
 
bails shredded my toilet roll tonight something that used to annoy the heck out of me.hed shred a lot and id get cross but tonight I got a little emotional :roll: I couldn't help it.its been sooooo long!!!
hes a fantastic vet chris.hes even talked about logging on here to read the stickies ( I had to tell him what they were called). I get the impression he doesn't like someone else that's not a vet knowing more than he does about something he should know about,hence him wanting to learn! hes knowledgable about everything else but because he doesn't know about lantus he soooo willing to learn.i even explained about the bounce as he knew about it but he didn't think hed bounce from blue numbers but when I explained that bailey had been in such high numbers for so long his body isn't used to being in blue numbers,really low blue numbers,hes bound to bounce,he agreed and then understood.i think this is going to be a HUGE learning curve for him.yet hes a really experienced vet!
 
I echo Chris - you have a wonderful vet! I love that he's not giving up and really trying to find out what's going on inside Bailey. I'm thrilled that Bailey has been feeling better lately. :-D :-D :-D :-D Enjoy that adult beverage! You deserve it. :-D

What type of antibiotic did you get today? It would be good to list the type of antibiotic on the spreadsheet as well as when you got it. ABs can impact numbers so it's good to note that for those of us looking at the spreadsheet. Also list the one from a couple weeks ago if you've got that information.

I hope Bailey is headed back to the blues today. At some point, you might want to think about another slight increase. It would be great if we could get rid of those reds and bring Bailey's numbers down a bit overall.
 
I forgot to say that.he did say hes given the same antibiotic (I don't know the name) and we could see an even more dramatic effect over the next few days so to watch his bgs cos they could take dframactic turn to much lower numbers but he said to ask you guys for that advice. so il keep posting.luckliy im off for 8 days as of Saturday.
 
Was the antibiotic the injection that lasts for 2 weeks? If so, it's probably Convenia. Does that sound right?

I'm so happy to hear you say that he's feeling so much better! A week ago (or was it 2 weeks?) you were so worried and saying that he's not acting right - so now your description of him really says a lot. His numbers look pretty good too.

Your vet does sound great - if you can email him, send him the link to the document that's a PDF on the Tight Regulation sticky. It's the newest publication. It's called "Management of a Diabetic Cat Using Long-Lasting Insulins." That's where he really ought to start. Not sure what he's got to look at, but this is the most recent and except that it doesn't mention iaa (insulin auto-antibodies), it's pretty complete.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top