05/2 Shadow PMPS High +4 434

Status
Not open for further replies.

BradB

Member Since 2012
Sorry haven't posted a condo for a few days. Shadow has had his dose increased to 4 units twice a day. I can't seem to get him in yellows anymore! Should i wait a little on this cycle before increasing? Maybe give it a chance to settle in?

Also, his numbers are whacky today because I think i made a mistake last night. I had my mom give him his shot at 9 because i wasn't going to be home for a while and then I tested him at +4 and he was still HI. He didn't look very well so I figured she must have given him a fur shot so I gave him 4 units then.. +4 is usually his lowest point so I thought for sure it was a fur shot. But I'm thinking that's why his numbers are so low and his preshot was 299. I did give him 4 units this morning because he was still pretty high.

Hope I didn't mess up too bad. Hope you all are having a wonderful day!
 
Re: 05/2 Shadow AMPS 299 +3 225 OOPS!

just for future reference, you never want to reshoot, or shoot too early. the problem is that lantus has a curve to it - so somewhere midcycle is the lowest point. if you have more than one shot, you can have their low points (nadirs) converge and end up with a major problem. i think you are likely past the point of a problem today with it,but just to be on the safe side, i think you should probably try to get a couple more mid-cycle tests - i'd get a +4 and +5 today, then decide if you need more based upon the numbers you see.

for future reference, it is better to skip than to shoot too much. we never reshoot a possible fur shot for that reason.

would you note on your spreadsheet that he got a second shot at +4 last night of 4 units?

can you check back in today so we can see what he does in the next couple of hours?
 
Re: 05/2 Shadow AMPS 299 +3 225 OOPS!

When did you give the shot this morning? At the regular time? Or 12 hours after the reshoot? The next shot should always be 12 hours after the last shot given. If you shot at your regular time that could account for this mornings lower than usual numbers. if so definitely monitor throughout the cycle.

If you shot 12 hours after your reshoot, to get back on schedule you can adjust the time by 15 minutes a cycle or 30 minutes once a day.
 
Re: 05/2 Shadow AMPS 299 +3 225 +4 198 OOPS!

Hey guys I actually just shot at the normal time this morning, so that would be at +8. I justed tested him at +4.5 and he was 198. He is just chilling outside. I have fed him a bunch of food today, 4 or 5 cans so far.

But noted that I will never reshoot a possible fur shot! Sorry guys. I'll check back in more later.

Thanks for all the input.
 
Re: 05/2 Shadow AMPS 299 +3 225 +4.5 198 OOPS!

he could still go lower - just keep monitoring.

how is his weight doing, brad? is it stable?
 
Re: 05/2 Shadow PMPS High

I'm not sure about his weight.. I haven't weighed him throughout this whole thing. But he's definitely not as skinny as he was and I think he's maybe put on a little weight.
 
Re: 05/2 Shadow PMPS High

you're going to want to control the amount he eats so he's getting the same amount every day. he needs to hold his weight at a stable weight, not gaining or losing, if his weight is about right.

the thing about letting him eat as much as he wants, whenever he wants, is that there is a relationship between the volume of food he eats and the amount of insulin needed for that volume of food. know what i mean? punkin eats about 10oz of food every day - he weighs 14lbs. to deal with that amount of food, right now he needs 6.5u of insulin. if i give him an extra half can of food (1.5oz) then he no longer has enough insulin to deal with it and his numbers will go up.

if you want to get control of his numbers, you're going to need to get him on a food routine. same carbs of food, same volume of food, fed at the roughly the same time of each cycle. no dog food, minimal food after about +4ish or 5ish until the next shot time.

i don't mean to keep harping about this, but i'm not sure you're getting how important it is. it's really hard to know what to suggest to help him when too many factors are changing at the same time.

he's likely high tonight because of the lower-than-he's-used-to numbers last night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top