Re: 05/2 Ella +11:15 =331 ambg 313,amps 331+1=333+2=364+6=33
tpr said:
Ok I'm all for being safe! I'm wondering if I should have a no shoot number in the mornings and if so, what would that number be?
I wish I had a good answer for this question. That is one reason why we wanted to start over on such a small dose. Before, she was dropping even from higher preshots, making it hard to say for sure "this is a safe number to shoot." By clearing out the depot and starting over, we'll be able to see with more clarity what is safe for Ella and what is not. We might have to start with a higher no-shoot number and then gradually lower the threshhold as we go.
I realize that by skipping shots I will be messing with her shed but as I wrote earlier I am still concerned about leaving her on a daily basis as she is an unreliable eater.
This is one of the things Jill and I are concerned about too. With my Lucy, I knew if she went low she would eat. It's harder to know what to do when you can't depend on the cat to take care of herself. I hope Ella would eat if she started feeling low. Have you ever noticed her going to the food dish on her own when she has been dropping?
For what it's worth, by the time I had Jazzy I was working a LOT, and was having some health problems too. If she was low in the morning and I didn't feel comfortable shooting, I didn't. Sheds refill, numbers will come back down, it's not the end of the world to miss a shot. Better safe than sorry. You can click on Jazzy's spreadsheet to see how many shots I missed. I'm embarrassed about the shots I missed because I was sick and forgot or fell asleep, but I'm not at all embarrassed by the ones I missed because I was afraid to shoot and go to work. This is coming from a person who loves to "shoot low to stay low," but safety first.
If I did the Go slow protocol as opposed to tight regulation could I find myself in the same situation? I'm assuming I could but looking at the spread sheets of members from that group, I can see that they test approx twice a day. Is that because they hold the doses for much longer and/or increase by different amounts?
You would probably find yourself in the same situation, mostly because Ella is so sensitive to a small dose of insulin. It's not which protocol you are following, it's the way she is reacting to insulin. Secretly, I was hoping that our little "experiment" the last couple of days would show that Ella didn't actually need insulin anymore. Unfortunately she is not there yet, but we'll keep trying. :mrgreen:
I'm not sure why some people only test twice a day. It wouldn't be comfortable for me to not have any idea what is going on between the shots. Once I had Jazzy well regulated, I was able to test 3 times a day most days (preshots and once at night, and more on the weekends), but she was super predictable and I had done enough testing in the past to understand her patterns. Once she started changing her patterns, I had to step up the testing again.
Having a vet tech come in to check on Ella would be ideal but they would have to be extremly flexible as they might need to spend hours here sorting her out if her bg's were dropping. An alternative, which I have been thinking about but is not ideal for me, is moving up to my paren'ts home and teaching my mom how to test. Unfortunately, this passes my stress on to her as well as adds a VERY long commute to work and sepreates me from my DH. If it has to be done...then it has to be done but surely there must be others that have gotten their kitties OTJ without being home 24-7? No?
Ella is more challenging than many of the cats here, but I am confident we'll be able to figure something out that will work. You don't need to move! We have had micro-dose cats and very sensitive cats here before. It takes a little more work to figure them out, but it is definitely possible.
Perhaps I can get some feedback from those who have been in a similar situation...although I realize Ella is unique

Another alternative is just getting her surfing in the blue/yellow range until I am off at the end of June. Would this route hinder her chances of going OTJ?
Renal threshhold for most cats is thought to be somewhere around 200-230. Some have found their cat's renal threshhold to be a bit lower than that. I would aim to be under that for sure. With Lucy, after she had been on insulin for a while I thought I would just aim for surfing blue forever (I thought she wouldn't go OTJ). I never did figure out how to dose her that way - too little insulin and she just stayed too high, increase the dose a little bit and she would plunge to low green. Jazzy was a lot easier - she had very flat cycles and I was able to steer the flatness into the range I wanted. Usually the cat is the one choosing the direction, and we just have to hang on for the ride!