05/19 Xiaohua Trace-small ketone, AMPS=409, +4 265, +6 243, PMPS=356

Little Flower

Member Since 2021
Hi, Xiaohua's (his name means little flower in Mandarin) BG has been all over 200-400, sometimes 500's. He was diagnosed in April, Vet told me to start with 1 unit, then 2 units. I noticed that he had a tendency to bounce to 600 and stayed at a high/flat curve. So I started with small dose and gradually increased it.

He's only eating wet food: Tiki cat, FF natural/classic pate, Weruva, all low-carb.
He's on Lantus. I am not sure wether the dosing method I'm following is SLGS or TR. I think it's modified with both. Please correct me.

Questions --
1) am I dosing it too conservatively? Should I speed up the increasing process?
2) I test ketone with urine strip frequently. He didn't have ketone yesterday @ +10, but he had very high BG as 541. Today @ +10 he had trace to small amount of ketone as the stripe showed. He still eats and drinks, but he has always been inactive since diagnosed.
I contacted the 24/7 pet hospital, it is 9:00 pm in New York right now. They told us to bring it to ER if he stopped eating. I gave him another can of food+water and 1.5 unit tonight.
What should I watch from this point?

Thank you very much!!
-Emily
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome Emily and Xiaohua. Is the vet giving you instruction on how to dose? What you are doing does not follow either of our methods. We hold each dose at least six cycle to build the depot. Trace ketones can be managed at home, but higher is a sign to see the vet. I'd test ketones again as soon as you can. Make sure his food has lots of water in it, to try to flush the ketones. Due to the nature of the depot, it will take a couple more days to see what the 1.5 units can do.

Could I ask you to put a bit more information in your signature line. The details of what goes in there are in this post: The Official Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG Slang Dictionary
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome Emily and Xiaohua. Is the vet giving you instruction on how to dose? What you are doing does not follow either of our methods. We hold each dose at least six cycle to build the depot. Trace ketones can be managed at home, but higher is a sign to see the vet. I'd test ketones again as soon as you can. Make sure his food has lots of water in it, to try to flush the ketones. Due to the nature of the depot, it will take a couple more days to see what the 1.5 units can do.

Could I ask you to put a bit more information in your subject line. The details of what goes in there are in this post: The Official Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG Slang Dictionary

Hi, thank you for the response! From 4/21-05/07, I had been following what the vet said. They told me to bump from 1 unit to 2 units and make another appointment in three weeks, but they didn't not give detailed instructions. I noticed the high and flat result, so I started with a small dose on 5/8. From my understanding of what I've been reading for both methods is that I have to increase the dose sooner if the nadir still >=300, but I could be confused.
I will hold the 1.5 units.

About the subject line, do you mean on my profile, or on the title? Thank you for answering my questions!

-Emily
 
Sorry, I meant signature, not subject line. If you go up to your name on the top right, there is a drop down menu that includes Signature. That's where your link to Xiaohua's Spreadsheet current is. It's important to know information at a glance, like what type of meter you are using, whether he's on an all low carb wet food diet, any other medical conditions. As you can see, I have lots of mine - Neko was complicated.

Since he is eating just low carb wet, you can decide to follow Tight Regulation if you wish to. Since you are seeing some numbers in the 200's, you would hold the 1.5 units for at least six cycles.

I see a fairly fast drop at +2 - that can indicate an active cycle that needs more testing. If you can, I'd get at least a +4 test tonight.
 
Sorry, I meant signature, not subject line. If you go up to your name on the top right, there is a drop down menu that includes Signature. That's where your link to Xiaohua's Spreadsheet current is. It's important to know information at a glance, like what type of meter you are using, whether he's on an all low carb wet food diet, any other medical conditions. As you can see, I have lots of mine - Neko was complicated.

Since he is eating just low carb wet, you can decide to follow Tight Regulation if you wish to. Since you are seeing some numbers in the 200's, you would hold the 1.5 units for at least six cycles.

I see a fairly fast drop at +2 - that can indicate an active cycle that needs more testing. If you can, I'd get at least a +4 test tonight.

Ok, thank you Wendy! Xiaohua tends to have large drop @+2, and nadir appears @ +4, a Double dip @+11. I also feed him small meals throughout the day to make sure that he eats enough for his weight (13lbs).
I am still a little bit confused of TR. Does it mean that I have to ignore the bounce and only focus on nadir? And I still need to hold each dose for six cycles before increasing, correct?
 
Ok, thank you Wendy! Xiaohua tends to have large drop @+2, and nadir appears @ +4, a Double dip @+11. I also feed him small meals throughout the day to make sure that he eats enough for his weight (13lbs).
I am still a little bit confused of TR. Does it mean that I have to ignore the bounce and only focus on nadir? And I still need to hold each dose for six cycles before increasing, correct?
Yes, Lantus dosing is based on nadirs. The bounces are the body's reaction to lows it is unused to and have to be suffered/ignored! :-)
And yes, with TR you hold the dose at least 6 cycles.
 
Back
Top