Little Flower
Member Since 2021
Hi, Xiaohua's (his name means little flower in Mandarin) BG has been all over 200-400, sometimes 500's. He was diagnosed in April, Vet told me to start with 1 unit, then 2 units. I noticed that he had a tendency to bounce to 600 and stayed at a high/flat curve. So I started with small dose and gradually increased it.
He's only eating wet food: Tiki cat, FF natural/classic pate, Weruva, all low-carb.
He's on Lantus. I am not sure wether the dosing method I'm following is SLGS or TR. I think it's modified with both. Please correct me.
Questions --
1) am I dosing it too conservatively? Should I speed up the increasing process?
2) I test ketone with urine strip frequently. He didn't have ketone yesterday @ +10, but he had very high BG as 541. Today @ +10 he had trace to small amount of ketone as the stripe showed. He still eats and drinks, but he has always been inactive since diagnosed.
I contacted the 24/7 pet hospital, it is 9:00 pm in New York right now. They told us to bring it to ER if he stopped eating. I gave him another can of food+water and 1.5 unit tonight.
What should I watch from this point?
Thank you very much!!
-Emily
He's only eating wet food: Tiki cat, FF natural/classic pate, Weruva, all low-carb.
He's on Lantus. I am not sure wether the dosing method I'm following is SLGS or TR. I think it's modified with both. Please correct me.
Questions --
1) am I dosing it too conservatively? Should I speed up the increasing process?
2) I test ketone with urine strip frequently. He didn't have ketone yesterday @ +10, but he had very high BG as 541. Today @ +10 he had trace to small amount of ketone as the stripe showed. He still eats and drinks, but he has always been inactive since diagnosed.
I contacted the 24/7 pet hospital, it is 9:00 pm in New York right now. They told us to bring it to ER if he stopped eating. I gave him another can of food+water and 1.5 unit tonight.
What should I watch from this point?
Thank you very much!!
-Emily
Last edited: