05/19 Simon - AMPS 400 PMPS 400

Alas! Back in the 400s 🫣 Tonight was the 3rd dose at 5.5U, so then tomorrow morning I dose at 5.5U and if no drops, then raise to 6U for tomorrow night, correct? Yikes! Thank you so much for all of your encouragement and support!

05/18 Simon - AMPS 400 +2 378 +4 332 +6 343 +8 363 PMPS 400
Aww Simon! Yes, correct. Also, once they get to 6u, we recommend you have him tested for high dose conditions like acromegaly and IAA which is insulin auto antibodies as long as he has been diabetic at least 73-90 days which he has. The range is because one of the top authorities on acro, the Royal Vet Clinic, has found sooner than 73 days can result in false negatives but we’ve had cats here that it was over 90 days before the tests were accurate.

This post will tell you about both conditions and how/where to get the tests run. Your vet would draw the blood and send it to MSU.
 
Adding onto Marje's comments. There are cats with both the conditions she's mentioned on less than 6 units, but above that the chances are pretty good for one and/or the other. My Neko had both. The same Royal Vet Clinic found that about one in 4 diabetic cats has acromegaly. The good news is that there are treatments.
 
Aww Simon! Yes, correct. Also, once they get to 6u, we recommend you have him tested for high dose conditions like acromegaly and IAA which is insulin auto antibodies as long as he has been diabetic at least 73-90 days which he has. The range is because one of the top authorities on acro, the Royal Vet Clinic, has found sooner than 73 days can result in false negatives but we’ve had cats here that it was over 90 days before the tests were accurate.

This post will tell you about both conditions and how/where to get the tests run. Your vet would draw the blood and send it to MSU.
I got movement tonight after dosing! Hopefully it doesn't bounce again. +2 386 +4 365 +6 305

Interesting! Thank you for sharing. Yes, I will do the testing. Do you find that it is okay to wait longer for it, like if I got the testing done in mid June? Or is there benefit to doing it immediately?
 
Adding onto Marje's comments. There are cats with both the conditions she's mentioned on less than 6 units, but above that the chances are pretty good for one and/or the other. My Neko had both. The same Royal Vet Clinic found that about one in 4 diabetic cats has acromegaly. The good news is that there are treatments.
That is encouraging that there are treatments! It's sad how little research and understanding there is about cats' health.
 
Do you find that it is okay to wait longer for it, like if I got the testing done in mid June? Or is there benefit to doing it immediately?
The benefit to doing it sooner, is that if he is positive for acromegaly, you can start treatment sooner. Acromegaly is caused by a benign tumour in the pituitary that sends out excess growth hormone. Over time this causes increase in size of soft and bony tissue, as well as organs. Any of those changes that you can prevent will benefit the cat.
 
The benefit to doing it sooner, is that if he is positive for acromegaly, you can start treatment sooner. Acromegaly is caused by a benign tumour in the pituitary that sends out excess growth hormone. Over time this causes increase in size of soft and bony tissue, as well as organs. Any of those changes that you can prevent will benefit the cat.
Understood! I will try to get it done as soon as I can.
 
Back
Top