05/19/10 Simba AMPS=105

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is the result of the 3U dosage. Not sure about giving him 3U at this #?? I know it is slow release but... I have to go to work, I will check in here in a bit. I think I will wait for some input before I shoot. He did eat already. Better safe than sorry.
 
Re: 01/19/10 Simba AMPS=105

Wow - yeah - here is where those spot checks would be nice to help you decide on dose. They really govern the change of doses. However, I know those first low PS are unnerving when you can't be home to monitor the situation.

I am guessing you already made a decision and left for work. What did you shoot? Did you leave food down? Can someone check on him in the afternoon?

For what it is worth now, I would have maybe shot 2u on that PS because I was not going to be home. If I was going to be home I might have shot more, but my cut off is 150 right now for a full dose with Jeddie because I haven't been able to get spot checks after shooting a full dose below 150. Others do shoot their full dose as low as 80.

BTW, 105 is in the normal BG range - so it is where you want him to be. Also, he can probably safely go as low as 35-40 although he may bounce from that into higher numbers. Don't shoot more than 3u even if he is 500 or something tonight.

(Also - you might want to correct the date in your header :-D )
 
Theresa and Simba said:
I didn't shoot this a.m. but came home for lunch at +3 and he is at 404. Fed and gave 3U.

I can understand not wanting to shoot at that number but now at least you saw what happens when you wait. So maybe next time you just give a reduced dose and if you can get home for lunch like today then you can get a spot check in. The thing is now you will be off schedule by three hours. This insulin likes being on a 12/12 schedule and is not real flexible in that regard like Vetsulin and PZI.

At least now you are seeing some movement away from those pinks and reds!
 
Yes, you will be off schedule, but it isn't the end of the world. You have several options:

- Move the shot back by 30 mins for 6 cycles to get back on schedule. (you may not be able to shoot late in the mornings?)
- You could shoot a reduced dose at +10 and move the next 2 shots up 30 mins - but all of these may need to be reduced doses. Something like 1.5u tonight and 2.5u on the next two.
- Shoot only 1u at what was his regular shot time, get a spot check in and resume reg schedule.

It really is going to depend on your comfort level and his numbers. If he is low tonight, get another test in 30 mins to make sure he is going up before shooting.

Whatever you do, he will probably give you wonky numbers for several days. We just don't want him going too low or sitting in the 500s. Rule of thumb: shooting early equals a dose increase and shooting late equals a dose decrease.
 
Thanks, I get what you are saying. I'll have no trouble getting him back on schedule. Just got to get used to shooting on low numbers. nailbite_smile I realize better now that the shot actually will not take effect right away. Without the shot, his glucose is effected right away. Straight up. Crap, our first sign of 100's and I screwed it up. Thanks for helping me to understand better. Will keep an eye on him.
 
Oh my dear Theresa - when Vicky kindly says 'you certainly aren't the first person to "screw up" the first 100s', she's nicely referring to me i'm sure (waves hi to Vicky and ducks). I see the 100's, immediately back off and then spend the next week trying to get back to that same 100. I'm still fairly new to this insulin myself and am learning. You will as well. Between errors we all make (and learn from) and the tutelage of the experienced folks here, you'll get it and feel a lot more confident.

Please be proud of yourself for doing so well by Simba. -Michele
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top