? 05/16 Shmee AMPS 262, +2 266, +5 187, TR question - opinions please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Member Since 2018
Previous condo

Good morning,
Right after @Wendy&Neko said last night; "cats are consistent with their nadirs... until they aren't", Shmees 7am (+10) ended up being lower than 2am (+5)! I thought I was a test-aholic before... but this makes me want to test even more! Haha.. I am still learning this game :)

Yesterday I am almost positive he saw a green during the day I just did not catch it. I was going to keep the dose 5 days total since there was most likely a green, but Wendy said the general rule is if we don't see it then it didn't happen. So today will be his last day on this dose, unless I see a green.

Question: when you see a green, you keep that dose for 5 days total, correct (so if he sees one today, it would only add on one more day at this dose)? Or do you keep it for 5 days after you see that green? To my understanding it is 5 days total on that dose.

Thank you, vines to all that need them :bighug:
 
@Stacy & Asia where do you find liverwurst? I tried to find this at giant eagle and Walmart but couldn't find it. He is off the ABs but he still takes his Denamarin with pill pockets, which I would like to try and get rid of since they are high carb (he wont eat the low carb duck flavor).
 
i would hold the dose 10 cycles if you see a green. I would usually wait 6 cycles after a green, to see if he breaks the bounce and comes back to green. I used to take into consideration how much green and how low. One hour in the 90's meant the dose wasn't enough for Neko.
 
Nice streak of blues but PMPS 330

I keep thinking I really need to get rid of the high carb pill pockets... he gets them with his Denamarin at AM & PM +10.5. Back when he used to actually eat some/most of the pill with poached chicken or cheese (around 4U - 4.25U) his AMPS and PMPS numbers were much better, less pinks. I am thinking the pil pockets are affecting him greatly... ugh. The vet said we can do a trial where we dont do the Denamarin anymore for a few weeks and test his levels again to see if he still needs it. I think I may do this. I have tried many things to get him to eat the pill with and he either wont eat them or eventually figures out a pill is in there and wont eat it anymore. I have yet to try liverwurst though - I need to give that a shot.

Maybe we will do a length of time without the Denamarin / pill pockets, see if his liver needs them and in the meantime hopefully being off the pill pockets will help his AMPS and PMPS numbers.
 
@Stacy & Asia where do you find liverwurst? I tried to find this at giant eagle and Walmart but couldn't find it. He is off the ABs but he still takes his Denamarin with pill pockets, which I would like to try and get rid of since they are high carb (he wont eat the low carb duck flavor).

I wouldn’t try it. I just had to look it up to see where in the grocery store it is carried, it’s been many, many years. It has onions in it, one of the last ingredients so not much, but still onions, it’s what our vet suggested for pills for our cats when I was growing up and they all loved it. Maybe onions were less toxic back then? :rolleyes: You can look for something similar, which may not contain onions, like pate. I don’t know where they would sell that, near the fancy cheeses maybe?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top