05/16 LANDO AMPS 163; +2 139; PMPS 203

Lando demando

Member Since 2021
AY!!

not excited to see yellow even though Lando has been ill lately
I did a syringe feeding tonight since i am pretty sure he isnt eating enough.
No meatloafing, he is doing some purring, but sleeping all day and low appetite.

i raised to .25 u and i am assuming his numbers are high due to something other than food change? But who knows, maybe the mid carb stuff is finally effecting his numbers

would welcome any thoughts
 
Previous post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-15-lando-pmps-187.277589/#post-3072152

It’s hard to say but whatever is making him sick might be raising his bg. Is he coming up to you or sticking to himself? How was he with the syringe feeding?
Well he is definitely less of himself. He doesnt come around to say hi during the day, but he came to sleep on my arm ( which he hasnt done in a very long time)
As i posted a few back, he lost control of his bladder and also had horrible constipation.

he didnt seem to mind the syringe feeding ( he is a bit used to it since hes had 3 rounds ;) )

something is definitely going on, but it doesnt seem like big pain. I am trying to avoid tge vet unless totally necessary. He howls when he has to go.

long winded post!
 
Thank you @tiffmaxee @carfurby (GA) and @cecile & bella . I appreciate the well wishes. He had another pain attach ( howling and meatloafing over the night). I am going to see if he comes back around in 4 hrs, if not i will call the vet to see what they recommend.
Btw he is laying on his side ( a bit out of it) no meatloafing, no pulling away in pain
 
Oh no. That is so hard when they are not well, our furbabies. I'm thinking of you and Lando, Chelsea!
I so appreciate that cecile. He is especially tough because there were two other times where i looked up the home euthanasia vet, and he bounced back right before i made the call :(
 
Thank you @Bandit's Mom @Diane Tyler's Mom @tiffmaxee and @cecile & bella . So yes! I was so worried about Lando, i knew the stress of the vet was less important then the pain he was in. After an x ray, the vet determined that his liver was a bit enlarged ( not life threatening) and the big culprit was that he was so severely constipated that his “back up# was pushing other organs aside and keeping him from emptying his bladder fully.
Lando got an enema and is home now. He has more evacuating to do, but from here i need to sub q fluids every day and mirilax 2xs a day ( i was doing 1). I also need to syringe feed him until he eats full meals of wet on his own. Stella and chewys got a thumbs down from my vet.

thank you all and will let you all know if anything changes
 
I’m so happy to read this update! Miralax is a dose to affect so you can increase the dose if needed. Maybe also add a little canned pumpkin to your syringe feedings.
 
Poor baby, I'm glad you took him to the vet, I hope he goes some more Chelsea and starts to feel better and starts eating in his own again. Please keep us updated. Give Lando some belly rubs for me :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I’m so happy to read this update! Miralax is a dose to affect so you can increase the dose if needed. Maybe also add a little canned pumpkin to your syringe feedings.
Oh that is a good idea elise! Ill get canned pumpkin. Yes i was under dosing miralax for sure, and need to get a routine down w sub q again. Btw a blood pannel was done ( with the (fld? ) pancreatitis indicator. I should find out today or tomorrow if Lando is in the middle of an attack also
 
I spoke with the vet after she received the lab results. Positive for pancreatitis; his bun and creatinine ( and one other kidney indicator) are the same as last year; he did not have any sugar value in his urine ( but tested 200 BG). His bowels havent moved much today. I will do another miralax and sub q tonight.
I am also skipping his shot again since he is only nibbling

I will post labs as soon as they are emailed to me
 
Thank you Elise and Christine, i so appreciate your thoughts. Roght now things arent going well for my poor guy. Early this am he had another howling fit at the litterbox ( only a trace of bm in the box). Since then he seems too weak to stand. I have been in contact with the dr. Her best guess is that it is still the constipation, but im not sure.
Im deciding right now whether to try and solve the problem, or switch to just make him comfortable.
Im taking a beat to figure things out
 
Thank you Elise and Christine, i so appreciate your thoughts. Roght now things arent going well for my poor guy. Early this am he had another howling fit at the litterbox ( only a trace of bm in the box). Since then he seems too weak to stand. I have been in contact with the dr. Her best guess is that it is still the constipation, but im not sure.
Im deciding right now whether to try and solve the problem, or switch to just make him comfortable.
Im taking a beat to figure things out
ohhh poor Lando. I'm sorry to read this. Praying for you both :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you carla and elise <3 the medication didnt move hardly anything. Im shocked. Still planning on doing sub q before bed.
 
I’m not sure but I think,it doesn’t always work immediately, I know miralax takes few days.
Hmm the vet said within a few hours. Well we will see. I am going to take a few hour nap so i can wake up through the night and check on him. He isnt mobile at this point
 
I had a cat with chronic obstipation years ago, it was so tough. The mention of cisapride brings back memories. Was just checking for an update, hope Lando is feeling better this morning. Continued get well wishes and prayers for you guys :bighug:
 
Thank you @tiffmaxee @cecile & bella and @Jack & Mopem'sMom. It means so much that you are thinking of Lando <3 :bighug: he stayed in his pee pad bed all night and i was able to check on him a few times. The good news is that he purred once and made his way (2ft) to the litterbox to urinate. So he does have some mobility left.
I am dosing one more propela this am, planning on dosing ondansetron and cerenia later ( as well as sub q tonight).
I hope i am not making him less uncomfortable in a big way ( its hard to tell). The purring and mobility gave me a glimmer of hope.
Thanks again elise, carla, cecile and christine. I dont feel alone with these uncertainties
 
Back
Top