05/15 Meeko AMPS 386; +3 373; +5 357; +7 337; +10 333; PMPS 336; +2 322; +3 290; +4 283; +5 230

plumsteal

Member Since 2022
First daily condo. Meeko has been unusually flat throughout his AM cycle for the past three days and today he's flat in the pink. When is a flat "curve" a bounce from seeing lower-than-usual numbers and when is it the result of a too-high dose? Thinking I should have stayed at 4.25u longer. I miss his blue nadirs.

A lot has been going on with Meeko over the past couple of months, so if there's any spreadsheet context I can provide to help answer my question, let me know. :)
 
Adding your last previous post for continuity
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/looking-for-spreadsheet-insight.273978/#post-3046092
Sorry I can't help you with your question ,hopefully some other members will be able to answer your question :cat:
Welcome to the lantus board by the way.
We suggest you do a new post everyday on the lantus board and then link your previous days link to your new one in case members want to go back and take a look at it and won't have to go looking for it, so if you do do a post for tomorrow you would like this post (5-15) to tomorrow's
He sure is a cutie
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome to you and sweet Meeko. If you haven't already, I recommend taking a look at the Sticky Notes at the top of this forum.

The answer to your question is in your spreadsheet, where is says he's been flat for the last three days. Emphasis mine. Many cats go lower at nights, so it's possible he's going lower at night - which you aren't catching, then bouncing during the day. Is it possible for you to get a before bed test most nights? That is at least 2-3 hours after PMPS shot time? That number can help us determine if he is going lower at night. Just looking at the existing data, it's hard to say what is happening. Though I can think of several scenarios.

I notice on your spreadsheet that you've also changed his food recently. What is the % carb of his current diet, and what was the previous % carb?
When is a flat "curve" a bounce from seeing lower-than-usual numbers and when is it the result of a too-high dose?
Not in this case. If a cat has started on a safe dose, there has been home testing to see how low the dose is getting the cat, and increases have been done in safe amounts, it's not too high a dose situation. Making significant change in amount of carbs eaten (say from dry food to wet LC) can make a difference, or addressing medical conditions, such as getting a dental, can make a difference too. Some cats just take several cycles to show how they are doing on a dose.
 
Yes, I can try to add some additional PM tests. I'll aim for +2 to +4.

His diet is currently under 5% carbs. From March 25 to April 15 he was eating some medium-carb foods (max. 11%) to fight inappetence. But since April 15 he has been back on strictly low carb (that switch back definitely made a difference--his 5u dose at the time went from semi-effective to very effective). His current wet food is 5% and under. The raw food is 0%.

Would you recommend that I stick to 4.75u?
 
I did notice the difference around mid April in his numbers, definitely some improvement.

For now, I'd try to get some night time tests to see what they say. Get a couple nights of data to see what is happening then. It also takes a while for the depot to build, so that could be a factor so soon after the increase.
 
Back
Top