05/15 Kitty PMPS 138 +2 111 +3 81 +4 64 +5 65

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-14-kitty-pmps-129-2-82-3-64-4-73.263277/

Trying an experiment today. I'm home all day so I'm not going to feed any MC and see where she goes. I'm thinking it will probably be best to test every hour from +2 to +5. Any other suggestions on when I should get a reading?

What I'm finding the most frustrating about trying to keep her safe while I'm away at work is that she doesn't always feed on her own. I always feed her additional meal(s) in the auto feeder even when I'm going to be home, so that she has consistency. Now, sometimes she goes right to the feeder when she hears is open (she always perks up when it makes its noise, but a lot of times she just goes back to napping), but other times, like last night, I went to bed at +4 and she had not touched the food in the feeder. She even missed a meal because it switched to the next bowl before she touched the previous meal, so its also a waste of food. You can see on the SS she dropped to 64 at +3, so ideally I would like her to naturally be hungry and go eat when she's dropping that low, but it doesn't seem to be working that way. I fed her a spoonful of MC at that point and she scarfed it down, so as long as I put the food right in front of her face she eats. I'd like to be able to trust that she will feed herself to keep her safe when I'm away but clearly that's not the case.
 
You could test her every hour from +2 to +6, but maybe try getting her to eat from the autofeeder rather than feeding her? If you can replicate a work day, you will have some comfort knowing how low she is dropping. You could feed her after tests that you would be home for but let her eat from the autofeeder at other times.

She looks like she is on a mission down the dosing ladder. The reduction to 1U has held despite being a back-to-back reduction.
 
but maybe try getting her to eat from the autofeeder rather than feeding her
I wont be feeding her myself, I'm not going to do anything to motivate her to eat today because if I am replicating a work day then I wont actually be here to motivate her to eat. Typically when I'm at work I can get home on a quick break usually within the +2.5 to +3.25 range, so today if she hasn't touched the feeder I will put her in front of it around +3. She always eats from the feeder if I put her in front of it. It doesn't make sense to me, she knows the feeder is there, she knows it has food in it, she knows when it makes the sound that the food is available, yet she doesn't always go to it on her own even though her BG drops to a point where she should be hungry, but if I pick her up and place her in front of it she will start eating. I think she's just lazy and doesn't want to get up from her naps.
 
I wont be feeding her myself, I'm not going to do anything to motivate her to eat today because if I am replicating a work day then I wont actually be here to motivate her to eat.
Exactly. That's what I meant.

It doesn't make sense to me, she knows the feeder is there, she knows it has food in it, she knows when it makes the sound that the food is available, yet she doesn't always go to it on her own even though her BG drops to a point where she should be hungry, but if I pick her up and place her in front of it she will start eating. I think she's just lazy and doesn't want to get up from her naps.
It's probably a combination of laziness and her body getting used to lower/normal numbers. When she was in the 300s, a drop to 70 would trigger a distress signal from her body because she was not used to those numbers. As she spends time in normal numbers, her body recalibrates and normal numbers are not a cause for alarm.
 
So I set the feeder for a different time today, I set it for +2.5, maybe that's a better time than the +1.5 - +2 range that I was doing previously because this time at +2.5 she went right for it and ate it all. Still, I'm hoping its enough to slow her down because at +3 she's at 67, it would be nice if she starts to flatten out now.

EDIT: 68 at +4 with only LC, so lovely!
 
Last edited:
Nice cycle again.:D

Once you figure out when to feed her, maybe a consistent timing will help her know when to go to the AF. My girl was all about food and she started hanging around her friend Otto (ottofeeder), about 10 minutes before it was set to go off. Some people sprinkle no carb treats on top of the food to encourage cats to check it out.
 
Okay, so Kitty had a great cycle this AM, I'm very happy with it. I didn't give her any MC and I changed her feeding schedule a bit. Normally I give her the preshot meal and then two additional meals in the auto feeder throughout the cycle, usually around +1.5 and +3.5 but today I combined those two meals and set the auto feeder to give the meal at +2.5. This seemed to work well, she went right for the food at +2.5 and ate most of it. Perhaps the meals were too close together before and maybe that's why I was having issues with her eating? Who knows, maybe this was just a lucky day.

She had left a small amount of that +2.5 meal and I think she went back and finished it around +4. So +4 was the last time she ate for the AM cycle. She was at 68 at +4 and then 8 hours later, without food, at PMPS she was at 138. An increase of 70 points seems like a lot. How does she climb up so much without food? Don't I want those preshot numbers to be lower? How do I get there?

Also, with TR, are there any preshot numbers that I don't shoot?
 
With TR you can shoot 50+ Most of the time. If that low and you need to leave you set the feeder. And feed a little higher lc or mc.

The bg is being influenced by food and insulin so not eating doesn’t mean it won’t go up. Actually a working pancreas brings down the bg 3-4 hours after eating. . The amps and pmps are genetically the last ones to come down. She’s looking really good. Her +2 is always lower than the preshots.
 
Back
Top