05/15/2020- New Member - Gideon Blue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
Hello All. First, I want to thank you in advance for your advice and support. I have heard this group is phenomenal. Our kitty Gideon Blue just turned 13 years old. One month ago, he had his front left leg amputated due to cancer. He was doing very well, then he started drinking a lot more water and I took him to the vet for blood work, though he was just tested prior to surgery. Last Saturday fructosamine test came back very high, and this past Tuesday, he was started on Lantus twice daily. He also had ketones in his urine. He was started on 2 units twice daily, but I have decreased it to 1 unit twice daily. We are home testing. The day before Gideon was diagnosed, he stopped eating. With fluids and Cerenia, and a bit of syringe feeding, he is eating again. His numbers are range from 300-475. He eats only low carb wet food. Oh, we also have two other kitties who will be 13 years old this summer, Abigail and Ezekiel. We have a vet check up this coming Wednesday. I am almost afraid to tell him that I decreased the Lantus dose. We are on the East coast in Rockland, MA.
 
Welcome. You have come to the best place you never wanted to be at! Your boy has been through a lot so no surprise he’s likely stressed out. That can effect his BG. Now that you have made an intro post you need to add a signature and get a spreadsheet started. Have a look at my signature. Click on your name at the bar at the top and then on signature.

Your spreadsheet will depend on whether using a pet or human meter. You can always switch. If you need help with it let me know and I will get someone to help. She can get you up and running in minutes so don’t be shy. We are data driven so let’s get that started ASAP.
 
WELCOME TO FDMB! You found the best place to help Gideon. Seems you have everything in order but one thing that strikes me is the keytones. I hope the one unit is helping with that problem.. I figure you know about checking them. Lets see what others say about that. You do need to set up a signature and spreadsheet that way our helpers can help you the best way they can. You can find instructions for them here:
Suggestions, Tech Support & Testing Area

Again welcome We are glad you found us!
jeanne
 
Welcome. You have come to the best place you never wanted to be at! Your boy has been through a lot so no surprise he’s likely stressed out. That can effect his BG. Now that you have made an intro post you need to add a signature and get a spreadsheet started. Have a look at my signature. Click on your name at the bar at the top and then on signature.

Your spreadsheet will depend on whether using a pet or human meter. You can always switch. If you need help with it let me know and I will get someone to help. She can get you up and running in minutes so don’t be shy. We are data driven so let’s get that started ASAP.
I use the Alphatrak glucometer. I will look.at the spreadsheet tomorrow. I am off to work! Thank you!
 
Welcome. You have come to the best place you never wanted to be at! Your boy has been through a lot so no surprise he’s likely stressed out. That can effect his BG. Now that you have made an intro post you need to add a signature and get a spreadsheet started. Have a look at my signature. Click on your name at the bar at the top and then on signature.

Your spreadsheet will depend on whether using a pet or human meter. You can always switch. If you need help with it let me know and I will get someone to help. She can get you up and running in minutes so don’t be shy. We are data driven so let’s get that started ASAP.

More info here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
 
Hello All. First, I want to thank you in advance for your advice and support. I have heard this group is phenomenal. Our kitty Gideon Blue just turned 13 years old. One month ago, he had his front left leg amputated due to cancer. He was doing very well, then he started drinking a lot more water and I took him to the vet for blood work, though he was just tested prior to surgery. Last Saturday fructosamine test came back very high, and this past Tuesday, he was started on Lantus twice daily. He also had ketones in his urine. He was started on 2 units twice daily, but I have decreased it to 1 unit twice daily. We are home testing. The day before Gideon was diagnosed, he stopped eating. With fluids and Cerenia, and a bit of syringe feeding, he is eating again. His numbers are range from 300-475. He eats only low carb wet food. Oh, we also have two other kitties who will be 13 years old this summer, Abigail and Ezekiel. We have a vet check up this coming Wednesday. I am almost afraid to tell him that I decreased the Lantus dose. We are on the East coast in Rockland, MA.
Hi what a Beautiful baby Gideon blue is . I’m new here and still learning but the people here know so much and are really a nice helpful crew . My Kitty is also on Lantus started out at 1 unit now we are at 2 units her numbers have been from low 300’s to as high as 500 hence the 2 units . Dusty has just started Cerenia she has not been eating . Just know you are not alone as I said I’m just learning but here if you need to talk or vent also an East Coaster lol
 
Hi FDMB-

I just created my Gideon Blue's spreadsheet. Hopefully, you will be able to see it. Unfortunately his BG was 544 this morning!!!! He is acting great, and eating. He is eating Nulo low carb, and the few treats he gets are freeze dried pure meat with no fillers. Can't wait for the Lantus silo/depot to fill, and we can get his BG down.

Have a good day everyone!
 
Note: When I saved and set up the SS, I used my MSN acct because it prompted me to enter an email. Do I have to start over again, and open a google email acct?
 
Yes. You need a google account. So sorry I forgot to mention that. It’s a google ss. That’s why.
 
Last edited:
I use the Alphatrak glucometer
I started out with the Alphatrak glucometer as well... still have it but don't use it. You will find out very quickly that the test strips are horribly expensive - for me in Canada it is about $2.00/strip. The testing strips tend to be the largest expense of having a cat with diabetes, so you want to get strips that are cost effective. Most of the data on FDMB is based on using a human glucometer - which is what most of the members use. Vets used to use human glucometers too until the Alphatrak came out. My vet recommended the Alphatrak initially but didn't realize the cost of the strips. You may want to investigate the price of different strips. Most of the time, you can get the glucometer for free when you purchase the testing strips. You will likely want test strips that only require a small blood droplet. Attached is some information on test strips and the blood droplet size. FWIT, I use the Freestyle Lite glucometer/strips (reqiuires .3mL blood droplet)

http://main.diabetes.org/dforg/pdfs/2017/2017-cg-blood-glucose-meters.pdf
 
Note: When I saved and set up the SS, I used my MSN acct because it prompted me to enter an email. Do I have to start over again, and open a google email acct?
Actually, you don’t need a google email account but it makes it easier. As long as you have a google account, you can use the email you want. What I’ve seen members do is get a google account and email but then do their SS with their other email. They forget which one they used and therein lies the issue.

You can PM me and I’ll help you with it.
 
I started out with the Alphatrak glucometer as well... still have it but don't use it. You will find out very quickly that the test strips are horribly expensive - for me in Canada it is about $2.00/strip. The testing strips tend to be the largest expense of having a cat with diabetes, so you want to get strips that are cost effective. Most of the data on FDMB is based on using a human glucometer - which is what most of the members use. Vets used to use human glucometers too until the Alphatrak came out. My vet recommended the Alphatrak initially but didn't realize the cost of the strips. You may want to investigate the price of different strips. Most of the time, you can get the glucometer for free when you purchase the testing strips. You will likely want test strips that only require a small blood droplet. Attached is some information on test strips and the blood droplet size. FWIT, I use the Freestyle Lite glucometer/strips (reqiuires .3mL blood droplet)

http://main.diabetes.org/dforg/pdfs/2017/2017-cg-blood-glucose-meters.pdf

Hello Judy :) I have a Question about the meter if you don't mind. When i first got the AlphaTrak2 i rushed to the pharmacy and bought some Freestyle lite strips (never used them tho). Did you ever tried them in your alphatrak to compare the results? I am tempted to do that but don't want to open the box in case i could return them later.
 
Hello Judy :) I have a Question about the meter if you don't mind. When i first got the AlphaTrak2 i rushed to the pharmacy and bought some Freestyle lite strips (never used them tho). Did you ever tried them in your alphatrak to compare the results? I am tempted to do that but don't want to open the box in case i could return them later.
Out of curiousity, I did try them because the strips look the same. I just tested myself right now and used Freestyle lite strips in both the Alphatrak and Freestyle (same blood droplet) : Alphatrak was 7.6 (137) and Freestyle was 5.4 (97). I did not want to mess around with strips not made specifically for the glucometer., so I just stuck with the Freestyle Lite. Plus the alphatrak required messing around with the settings all of the time. The alphatrak glucometer feels like it's made cheaper than the Freestyle lite. Online coupons for a free glucometer are available for the Freestyle Lite when you buy the strips. So if you are so inclined, you could return the strips, and rebuy them with the coupon to get a free monitor. Doesn't hurt to have a backup monitor anyways... just in case.

https://www.freestyle.abbott/ca/en/products/lite.html (for Canada)
https://www.myfreestyle.com/offers (for USA)

Once I had the monitor, I bought strips off of ebay (about 1/2 price - but you have to watch for expired strips).

There are lots of people on here who use the Walmart meter as well - strips are really cheap. Reli-on I think it's called. Also some use a monthly prescription that has unlimited strips. Since I'm in Canada, I don't have all of those options.
 
There are lots of people on here who use the Walmart meter as well - strips are really cheap. Reli-on I think it's called. Also some use a monthly prescription that has unlimited strips. Since I'm in Canada, I don't have all of those options.

I am in Canada too. Can't return the strips because of the Covid but i might buy the freestyle meter anyway. Like you said, its good to have an extra and i could use the AlphaTrak only when my vet want numbers ( she insist on pet meter @#$%). Thank you for comparing, there is quite a difference in the results.
 
There have been known to be a few forum members who have a SS for the vet and one for here - especially for vets who poopoo home testing. Just sayin'

And, as an FYI, in some provinces, you really don't need a prescription for insulin from a vet. I had to contact the Saskatchewan Pharmacy because all of the pharmacists and vets I spoke to were under the impression that you needed a prescription (I had to pay my vet for a prescription too! :rolleyes:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top