05/15/17 Squallie AMPS 63,+1/58,+2/42,+2.30/49,+3/43,+3.40/50, PMPS 76,+1/80, +2/103, +4/80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Prayers and healing vines to all those who are in need of them.

images (17).jpeg
 
+2.30/49
Gave a little more HC food. My son put away my gravy food and apparently he's the only one who knows where it is - and of course, he's at work! Can't find my Karo, either!:arghh:
 
You are doing TR so you do take the reducie. If you were SLGS, you would need 3 drops under 90 to earn a reduction. With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.

ETA: Don't listen to me ... I was totally in the wrong on this.
 
Last edited:
I wish I could give sound advice but I am such a reducie grabber that I better bump your post up and let others speak;)
Tanya, you have come so far and learned so much in such a short period of time (think back to your first, panicked post!), you should be very proud of yourself! :bighug: This a a great forum for learning, I think we probably all learn a little bit more every day!:)
 
With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.
unless your kitty is long time diabetic. Ducia by the rules of TR should be getting down there 3 times before getting reducie. I could never managed to that so far.:oops: To be completely frank - I doubted my decisions to take reducie prematurely every time I've done so.
This a a great forum for learning, I think we probably all learn a little bit more every day
I couldn't agree more!
(think back to your first, panicked post!)
Apologies for bragging but beating down the fear/panic is my greatest achievement so far.:):cat:
 
If you were SLGS, you would need 3 drops under 90 to earn a reduction. With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.
Actually, with SLGS, it's one drop under 90 for a reduction.

Sorry to be a party-pooper, but Squallie is a long-term diabetic, so he needs to drop below 40 to earn another reduction. Something tells me it won't be long before he does, though! He's certainly looking good!
 
Hey Lucy, just look at Squallie! So glad that you shot last night or Squallie might not have earned that reduction today.:cat:

The 3 drops below I thought were for kitties that didn't hold reductions well and I noticed that you did that with the 3 unit dose. Does Sqaullie usually not hold reductions well? A long term diabetic like Squallie would take the reduction under 40. And a new diabetic would take it at 50. At least that is how I interrupt the TR protocol.

ETA: Actually, I just realized that you held the dose with 3 units because he had not dropped below 40.
 
You are doing TR so you do take the reducie. If you were SLGS, you would need 3 drops under 90 to earn a reduction. With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.
I think that may be exactly backwards. In the past I have always waited for three drops below 50, on the advice of others and also using Tilly's TR Lantus protocol: "... if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!"
 
Last edited:
Actually, with SLGS, it's one drop under 90 for a reduction.

Sorry to be a party-pooper, but Squallie is a long-term diabetic, so he needs to drop below 40 to earn another reduction. Something tells me it won't be long before he does, though! He's certainly looking good!

Thanks for the clarification, Tricia, that's what I thought. :)
 
unless your kitty is long time diabetic. Ducia by the rules of TR should be getting down there 3 times before getting reducie. I could never managed to that so far.:oops: To be completely frank - I doubted my decisions to take reducie prematurely every time I've done so.

I couldn't agree more!

Apologies for bragging but beating down the fear/panic is my greatest achievement so far.:):cat:
You're doing great! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Lucy, just look at Squallie! So glad that you shot last night or Squallie might not have earned that reduction today.:cat:

The 3 drops below I thought were for kitties that didn't hold reductions well and I noticed that you did that with the 3 unit dose. Does Sqaullie usually not hold reductions well? A long term diabetic like Squallie would take the reduction under 40. And a new diabetic would take it at 50. At least that is how I interrupt the TR protocol.

ETA: Actually, I just realized that you held the dose with 3 units because he had not dropped below 40.
Squallie used to not hold reductions, but his handling of insulin has seemed to change greatly since the first of the year.
If the three drops under 50 works best for you, Lucy, then by all means go for it! Again, I don't think Squallie will make you wait long for it. :D
I don't think he will, either, lol! :D
 
This is his first drop below 50 at this dose so I should not reduce his dose yet, correct?
unless your kitty is long time diabetic. Ducia by the rules of TR should be getting down there 3 times before getting reducie. I could never managed to that so far.:oops:
You are doing TR so you do take the reducie. If you were SLGS, you would need 3 drops under 90 to earn a reduction. With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.
The 3 drops below I thought were for kitties that didn't hold reductions well and I noticed that you did that with the 3 unit dose. Does Sqaullie usually not hold reductions well? A long term diabetic like Squallie would take the reduction under 40. And a new diabetic would take it at 50. At least that is how I interrupt the TR protocol.
Sorry to be a party-pooper, but Squallie is a long-term diabetic, so he needs to drop below 40 to earn another reduction. Something tells me it won't be long before he does, though! He's certainly looking good!
The correct info regarding reductions can be found in the first part of this post:
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
 
Last edited:
Okay, we're facing the same dilemma we did last night and this morning - his pre-shot bg is only 61. It worked out okay last night, but not so much this morning. Right now I'm stalling but what do I do if he doesn't come up appreciably?
 
That's a tough call. Can you monitor tonight if need be. This AM he came up right away and it looked like his nadir is quite early. Hey, this could be the 2nd drop.......
Well, he came up to 76 so I went ahead and shot a skinny 2.5. Could be a long night...or he could do what he did last night and cruise all night in the 70-80s! Keep your fingers crossed for me!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top