? 05/14 Lisa AMPS 418 +5.5 424

She is flat. She is bouncing and you see flat and high numbers during a bounce. It can take as much as 3 days/6 cycles to clear the bounce.
You are not working this weekend, right? Do you have your work schedule for next week?
 
Thank you so much for your replies!
I don't work in the weekend
I don't know next week's schedule yet
I may work on Sunday
 
I want to ask you about Lisa s food. She eats leonardo 2% carb pouches, leonardo 7% carb pouches, feringa 3% carb cans, and today she also started thrive 2% carb cans. She eats them interchangeably throughout the day. Is this ok?
 
They are all low carb, but it may be better not to feed the leonardo 7% after +4 or so. Feeding carbs after the nadir can cause loss of duration of the insulin and cause numbers to go up sooner.

If she clears the bounce tonight and starts heading lower (like the nights she went into blue), feed a little low carb after each test. You don't need to use medium or high carbs for the numbers she is seeing on this dose. We use higher carbs only when they dip below 50) or looks like they will go below 50 if not fed higher carbs.
 
Thank you!
Which do you consider mid carb and which high carb? Do you consider 7% and 10% mid and high carb?

It seems I won't be working on Sunday too!! Do you think I should increase the dose in the morning or not?now she is on 541
 
Which do you consider mid carb and which high carb? Do you consider 7% and 10% mid and high carb?
Low carb is less than 10%
Medium carb is 10 to 15%
High carb is more than 15%

7% is low carb, but it is better to feed the lowest carb after the nadir (which is usually +4 to +6 with Lantus) since the insulin action is reducing after the nadir till the PS.

It seems I won't be working on Sunday too!! Do you think I should increase the dose in the morning or not?now she is on 541
Yes, I think you should increase the dose tomorrow if you don't get a number below 100 tonight.
 
Until what time should I test to see if she gets below 100?
Should I increase to 0.75 units?I am afraid of dose increase!:(
 
Until what time should I test to see if she gets below 100?
Should I increase to 0.75 units?I am afraid of dose increase!:(
Since she is breaking a bounce her nadir tends to be later... like +6.
Feed her a little LC every hour. You can test every 2 hours unless she goes closer to 100.

She does need more insulin. Let us see how she does tonight...
 
I'm sorry, but I have to disagree with the increase tomorrow morning, for a couple of reasons. Since you are following SLGS, you would hold the dose for 7 days before increasing. The last increase from 0.25u to 0.5u was done when there were consistently high numbers, with no nadirs under 270. It made sense then to increase a little faster and not holding the dose for a couple more days, as SLGS guidelines would suggest. Since you started seeing some lower blues (nadirs under 150) on this 0.5u dose, I wouldn't continue to fast track and increase sooner than SLGS guidelines would allow. Just my 2 cents.
 
I'm sorry, but I have to disagree with the increase tomorrow morning, for a couple of reasons. Since you are following SLGS, you would hold the dose for 7 days before increasing. The last increase from 0.25u to 0.5u was done when there were consistently high numbers, with no nadirs under 270. It made sense then to increase a little faster and not holding the dose for a couple more days, as SLGS guidelines would suggest. Since you started seeing some lower blues (nadirs under 150) on this 0.5u dose, I wouldn't continue to fast track and increase sooner than SLGS guidelines would allow. Just my 2 cents.
So she can make the increase to .75 on Sunday, right?
 
She needs more insulin but you are on SLGS which means you need to hold the dose for 7 days total. You can change to TR tonight if you want to and increase her dose to .75 tomorrow morning but you will need to be able to monitor her tomorrow. Can you do that? @Christie & Maverick or @ Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee Di needs some advice.
 
She needs more insulin but you are on SLGS which means you need to hold the dose for 7 days total. You can change to TR tonight if you want to and increase her dose to .75 tomorrow morning but you will need to be able to monitor her tomorrow. Can you do that? @Christie & Maverick or @ Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee Di needs some advice.
Summer, for now her schedule does not allow her to monitor closely.
How times she needs to monitor;all the +6;tell me more details i do her insulin at 9 o clock

No need for more tests tonight.
 
Since you are home this weekend I feel comfortable with you increasing to .75. With the medication and the high numbers she really needs more insulin.
 
It is probably the Surolan that is causing the higher BGs.
Perhaps. But, Surolan has been given since pm cycle May 9th, so these numbers are not necessarily attributed to it.
She needs more insulin..
Probably, I'd still like to see time allowed for bounce to break, which is usually 6 cycles. This may be the high before the break.
Since you are home this weekend I feel comfortable with you increasing to .75. With the medication and the high numbers she really needs more insulin.
Yes, but I'd still recommend waiting 6 cycles for the bounce to break, but that just my opinion.
 
Perhaps. But, Surolan has been given since pm cycle May 9th, so these numbers are not necessarily attributed to it.

Probably, I'd still like to see time allowed for bounce to break, which is usually 6 cycles. This may be the high before the break.

Yes, but I'd still recommend waiting 6 cycles for the bounce to break, but that just my opinion.
I understand. It’s a tough call because of her work schedule and the new addition of the steroid. I wish there was another person to help with testing. I am also concerned if she increases and then can’t test.
 
I understand. It’s a tough call because of her work schedule and the new addition of the steroid. I wish there was another person to help with testing. I am also concerned if she increases and then can’t test.
If she increases on Saturday morning, she has 2 full days to monitor because she isn't working. Which I would think is preferable to increasing on Sunday night or Monday morning when she has to get back to work and can't test as much.

With the ear infection and steroid in the mix, I don't see her numbers going low enough to hold the dose. But I will defer to others with much more experience than me! :-)
 
I was thinking in a similar manner as you Bhooma. It looks like it’s not a high before clearing a bounce to me. I think the steroid is keeping her high. Just my opinion.


How many days will Lisa be on the ear medicine?
 
I know the high numbers can be disappointing. How is Lisa doing other than being in higher numbers? Is she playing, purring, peeing, pooping, and preening? Now that she's been having the ear drops applied for about a week, is her ear a little better?
 
Her ears are better, she purrs, her spirits and appetite are high, pee quantity is increased mabe, poo is ok with the help of probiotic
AMPS is 391​
 
Her ears are better, she purrs, her spirits and appetite are high, pee quantity is increased mabe, poo is ok with the help of probiotic
AMPS is 391​

That's a good start! Do feed her a little low carb food with every test to keep her from diving.

And please start a new thread for today. Thank you :-)
 
Back
Top