05/14 Kitty PMPS 129 +2 82 +3 64 +4 73

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-13-kitty-pmps-146-2-109-3-84-4-71.263259/

Of course, the neighbors had to start construction on their garage right at Kitty's AM meal time. She's more interested in figuring out where the noise is coming from so now she's had insulin without food. Hopefully she will eat her meal by onset.

EDIT: She's now terrified of all the noise they are making and is hiding under my bed and will not come out to eat.
 
Last edited:
I hope she's eaten by now. I had some construction noises nearby and had to give Neko food under the bed.
 
I hope she's eaten by now. I had some construction noises nearby and had to give Neko food under the bed.
I was able to get her to eat after about an hour, she was fine lol I was just freaking out because I had people coming over this morning to help me demolish an old shed/chicken coop in the backyard and I was already having a stressful day at 8:00 in the morning and I really wasn't prepared to deal with the added problem of her not eating.

Anyway, she earned another reduction today, and yesterday morning, which I didn't take because I didn't want to. Should I just say I'm following TR now? Is there really no difference from what I'm currently doing except the reductions would be at 50?
 
You test enough for TR, she's on a low carb wet food diet, it's your call if you want to switch. And yes, the difference would be reductions below 50 or if she does a week in mostly solid green.
 
You test enough for TR, she's on a low carb wet food diet, it's your call if you want to switch. And yes, the difference would be reductions below 50 or if she does a week in mostly solid green.
Okay, so with TR, should I only feed MC if she goes under 50? I still don't really know how best to use the auto feeder with MC.
 
If MC is helping her flatten out and stay in healing numbers longer, you can keep using it now. Maybe save the HC for under 50.

As for the autofeeder, what + times are you away? That's when the autofeeder could come in handy.
 
It also might help, if you are home on one of those nice cycles, to try LC instead of MC, so we can see when her typical nadir times are without intervention.
 
As for the autofeeder, what + times are you away? That's when the autofeeder could come in handy.
My work shifts are a bit wonky. I'll try to explain as briefly as possible.

Shift 1: AMPS to +9
When I work this shift, I give her AM shot about 20 minutes early. I am able to stop home for 5 minutes around +2.5 to check BG quickly and run back to work. Then, I can stop home for a lunch break at +4.5.

Shift 2: +1 to +10
When I work this shift, I am able to stop home for 5 minutes around +3.25 to check BG quickly and run back to work. Then, I can stop home for a lunch break at +5.25.

Shift 3: +2 to +11
When I work this shift, I am able to stop home for 5 minutes around +4.25 to check BG quickly and run back to work. Then, I can stop home for a lunch break at +6.25.

Shift 4: +3 to +12 (PMPS)
I tend to have this shift the least often. When I work this shift, I give her PM shot about 20 minutes late. With this shift, I'm still at home until about +2.75 so can check BG anytime before that. I am able to stop home for 5 minutes around +5.25 to check BG quickly and run back to work. Then, I can stop home for a lunch break at +7.25.
It also might help, if you are home on one of those nice cycles, to try LC instead of MC, so we can see when her typical nadir times are without intervention.
What do you mean by "one of those nice cycles"? I'm home the next two days, I can try not feeding any MC tomorrow. If I try this, at what point would I have to intervene if she happens to drop too low? Below 50?
 
By nice cycles, I mean one seeing some green. So if you could try experimenting a couple days, maybe we can see when her nadir typically is, as far as cats like to be predictable. :rolleyes: If she drops below 50, that means she earns a 0.25 unit reduction, and you intervene with HC.

For the schedule, it looks like shift 3 is the most concerning with the least ability to test in the early part of the cycle. It's a little muddy with MC in there, but looks like +3-4 is when she's lowest. If true, then I'd put the autofeeder out for +2.5 when you aren't around until later to feed. But sometimes she's dropping by +2. Data will help figure it out.
 
If she drops below 50, that means she earns a 0.25 unit reduction, and you intervene with HC.
Is it still just a spoonful of HC that I would give? I'm just thinking ahead, if at some point I'm on one of my quick breaks where I run home and only have 5 minutes in the house and then have to leave again, if she happens to be below 50, would I only give a spoonful and that's enough? It would be different when I'm going to be around to check BG again an hour later and then determine if she needs more HC, but in those cases that I'm just running home real quick it won't be possible to check BG again until a couple hours later.
 
Depends on how carb sensitive your kitty is and how long you'll be gone. If she's below 50 in those 5 minutes, you can give her more than a tsp and program the autofeeder to give more in 30/60 minutes. You'll have to gather data as much as you can when you're around, and err on the side of safety until you have that data. You have data from when she's been in the 60's, which is a good start.
 
Back
Top