05/14 bailey uk amps 140! gave shot eek!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118696&p=1242500

I came home in my lunch hour to 140 pre shot. I knew id be home 2 hours later so I fed him and gave him his 9 units.ive was worrying myself to death but I had to do it at some point! im home til tomorrow morning now so I can test! he stills seems lethargic so somethings going on but at least im not worrying about the added complications of high numbers today.what a roller coaster this is!
 
Good shooting Anne!!

I know it's scary to shoot those lower numbers but you did great!

Looks like Bailey is doing well...and maybe even starting a bounce off that blue :sad:

Hope he'll stop climbing soon and slide gently back down!
 
Great job shooting that 140 today Anna! And it gives you data about what Bailey will do when you shoot low. Some cats just like to nadir later to add to their bean's stress. :roll: Paws crossed for a return to more blues tonight.
 
indeed wendy :roll: hes been the most stressful animal ive looked after since the day ive got him.hes never ever been normal what with his weaning (he wouldn't eat properly until he was 12 weeks.) his strauvite crystals at 2. I mean have you EVER known a cat not WANT to go outside.he just hates the outside world yet I open the windows so he cant get out,where he knows hes safe and he sits for hours! hes never been the norm but that's why I love him. I wouldn't change HIM for the world. hes my EVERYTHING <3
 
the vets just rang 10.15pm. apparently what came up on an xray is his spleen is quite enlarged.before he does any checks and takes him back in to do checks as to why it is.hes awaiting the results on Friday. I trust him......at last.hes so thorough and dedicated.what vet would ring you back at 10.15pm and tell you hes not giving up till he finds what it is that's wrong!!!
 
i'm glad you've got a first answer - and a vet that goes the extra distance for you!

good job shooting low! while there is a little bounce going on, it's not really going very high, at least not so far.
 
exactly Julie! for his spleen to be enlarged apparently that signifies an infection or inflammation somewhere.which would make sense when he has his good days and bad days.apparently more often than not the spleen is just a sign something else is wrong.the vet said whatever it is(and he'll find it) is flaring up then dying down hence his good bg days then his terribly high bg days. he knows about boucing but like he said after looking at his spreadsheet a lot of d
ays are not a bounce.its just high bg!!!
hes given a different, long lasting antibiotic(he did tell me but it was late and ive forgot) but he seems to think that's why hes got blues and low numbers today.hes said to keep an eye on it and test quite abit and let him know.it made me laugh......he said if his bg drops 'out of hours' you're best going on the forum if that's what you're used to.there'll be able to tell you whether you need to reduce the dose.what a difference when my other vet poo pood it!
 
he sounds like a treasure! it can be hard to find a vet that you just click with who also knows their stuff!

i'm glad you've gotten all these tests done, because simply having a high dose condition doesn't make a cat feel as yucky as you're describing. fingers crossed it's something easily treatable!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top