? 05/13 Tux PMPS 175 after waiting 30 min...what dose to give?

Update: at 2 hours after regular PMPS, he had risen to 227 so I gave him a slightly reduced dose of 3.5
 
I'm sorry nobody saw your question before. It's good you were able to shoot and not skip.
You will need to give his shot late tomorrow morning as well, you can go back to your normal time by 30 minutes increments: shoot at +11.5 tomorrow morning, etc, until you get back to your preferred shot time.
 
You've got almost half a years experience with feline diabetes now. You've got data showing what happens if you shoot a reduced dose for a lower preshot, or skip. I don't think we'd call you new anymore. :) That means you can lower his "no shoot" number at which you shoot the full dose. You should start thinking about shooting numbers below 200 now, some of the higher blues to start. With Lantus, when you shoot lower numbers, the cycle ends up being much flatter. People following SLGS can eventually lower their no shoot numbers down to 90, slowly lowering the number they feel comfortable shooting.

Good luck with the cycle tonight.
 
Tux has only been on insulin with any consistency for a few months and I have not found him to be very predictable or consistent. At +1 he has dropped which I did not expect given the late and reduced dose.
 
Typically, he only goes up with a reduced dose and no R given so I'm quite surprised that hasn't happened yet. He doesn't seem to have much consistency on Lantus. Sometimes his duration is great, sometimes not. Sometimes he can only drop with a small dose of R included and sometimes not. I have had 2 other diabetic cats that I figured out reasonably quickly but I'm really struggling with Tux. Thanks for checking back in, I appreciate it.
 
I see 4 months of data, and using R which is an advanced technique. And you are right, sometimes R doesn't do much of anything.

Once Tux gets to a better dose for him, he'll be more consistent. He's not there yet.
 
R is Regular insulin. It's a fast acting insulin with short duration. Human diabetics take it around meal time to help get over the meal carbs. Traditionally we suggest R here for cats just out of DKA and still in high numbers, or for cats with secondary condition such as acromegaly and IAA.
 
Back
Top