05/13 TRAY's AMPS 187 +10=360 PMPS 380

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14335
Had to check early cause I have to run right out the door soon and I was surprised to find him in the blue!
Question now is I was supposed to increase his dose today but now I'm scared what to shoot since I won't be around.

Please help.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

I hope I'm not to late. I would advise against raising the dose just yet. This blue is exactly what you have been waiting for! Since this is your first time with a lower preshot, the normal recommendation is to stall for a bit (no more than 30 min.) and test again to see which direction the number is going (rising, falling....) once you see that the number is going up you can go ahead and give insulin. If the number is staying steady or increasing only a little we often give a BCS dose (Big chicken sh**) at least 1/2 the usual dose to avoid losing all progress. If the number is still falling and you cannot wait longer or will not home to monitor then you may have to skip the shot and hope it doesn't set you back to much.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

I'm still here but got to leave for a big event we're catering this morning in about 20 minutes.
I fed him and I'll check him right before I leave. Maybe I will give that BCSD I don't want to lose all progress.
WHY does he have to go blue today of all mornings? He couldn't wait till the PM? cats!
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

You may be seeing from Tray just why people say to wait for at least 6 cycles/ 6 shots because some kitties take their sweet time reacting to a new dose. Now that you have a nice blue, you could see Tray continue with more of the same nice numbers.

By giving that BCS this morn, you may find that Tray will use some of his shed, so you will have to fill it again now, or top it up.

For increases, you can always wait until the evenings or a time when you will be around, but remember that when you give an increase, you will not see much in the way of improvements from it until the shed has been filled again. You can likely see some NDW new dose wonkiness until the new dose settles with Tray. Because I never know what I may see, I like to be around when I make any dose changes so I can monitor if needed.

As for Tray picking a bad time for a good number, well you have only yourself to blame! You let him know your plans for today! Shh, don't let Try know what your have planned and don't let him on your computer; I swear they can read and make plans with others on here.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

Here's what I would do.....If you give a BCS now I guess because of stalling you have gotten off your schedule (by how much..1 hour? more?) Now when you would normally have to wait 12 hours from when you gave the shot until your PMPS, however since you will be giving a reduced dose it would probably be ok to go ahead in the evening and shoot your regular dose at the normal time (so at +10 or +11 from the morning dose) this shooting early works like giving more insulin because it provides availible insulin to be used before what's in the shed gets tapped into. So by doing that you can save some of the shed and be able to keep your schedule. How long will be away today? Will you back at least before the evening shot? If you get home at +10 (10 hours from the time you gave the shot, not 10 hours from the time you normally measure AMPS) if you test then and he is quite high you could go ahead and shoot on your normal time, if he is (doubtfully) still surfing in the better numbers wait a bit and test again as soon as you see him going up shoot insulin.

Hope this makes sense. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

That is so mean. Telling her she has only herself to blame! Lol. Sorry but gayle is right. Cannever tell them your plans. They will do what they can to mess with them. Lol
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

Hi guys, here at work (at this insane hour!) worried about my kitty.
I gave him a soft 2U and shot him btw the shoulder blades. (I usually shoot down the sides as anywhere else seems to have less effect). I tested him again right before I shot and after he ate and he was at 216 so I probablly shouldn't be worried but I am.

Woke my Dad up and asked him to come over to make sure he was okay. He said he'd make his way over to babysit the non grandchild lol!

I swear you're all right and Tray did this on purpose just to mess with me. He's very mischevious and he's probablly at home snickering with his brother about all this.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

That's a good preshot (Psss-don't forget to change the SS and the title the 187 is now the +12 and the new AMPS is 216) so you don't get confused (or is it me who might get confused-yea probably ohmygod_smile ) I'm sure he will be just fine, as long as he can have access to food or someone will be offering him some they can pretty much manage themselves. What kind of ungodly hour is it there (I was around this "morning" to answer you) because where I am it's already afternoon :lol:

I hope you come home this evening to another nice blue!
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

Right! I have to figure how to manage that SS.
It was 6:30am when I left the house in a rush and got to work at just after 7. I'm used to it, the food industry has horrid hours but at times like these I resent them!
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

Good job shooting this AM! If you can, post around +11. As Monique indicated, if Tray's numbers are higher, you may be able to shoot early to make up the time and get back to your regular shooting time.

For future reference, if you are stalling, don't feed. You don't want the numbers influenced by food.

As far as the SS, if your 187 was at some point like +11.75, you can enter it that way and note how long you stalled in your comments.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

Looks like Tray is liking this dose--I did post to you, I think, that Moonie waits till the last second of the 6th cycle of the new dose, to show any progress---AND SHE READS MY POSTS!! So she knows when I'll be out & goes low then @-) @-) @-) cat(2)_steam --
It's like she waits till that exact moment to drop & let me worry about it!!
Not to worry, you are doing a great Job--Well, we All have to work--hear that cats!! or no cat foods!!\
Leave foods & all will be well!! Doing just fine here! :mrgreen:
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

Ok I am confused now. I shot him at his normal shooting time (well no I lie, it was 15 minutes late @ 6:45am, I normally shoot at 6:30am). I should be home by +11 so should I shoot at my normal time then?
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

it's hard to plan so far ahead; knowing cats, they will do their best to make your plans be no good by the ps time.
Best to test when you get home, then decide, based on that number. Test at +11, post and ask for advice, then go from there.

I like to test around +11 sometimes just to see which way they are headed, up or down!
About the food and delays, it's OK to delay if you want to see that the number is rising, but by feeding you are likely causing it to rise, so always hold back the food until you have decided to shoot and how much. By giving a bit of food, you will see the number go up but it's just from that tiny bit of food; you want to see the number go up on no food.
Remember, you are giving no food 2hrs prior to shots for that reason - so you can see what's really going on.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

ok got it I think :lol:
I believe I just panicked. I spoke to my Dad who is on cat duty for me and he said he's fine running around chasing his brother. He's going to give him a snack soon
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

This was an excellent example of SRS--Sugarcat Rascal Syndrome. You may have to lie in the future and SAY you will be leaving for the day when you plan to be home so you can catch the whole show.

Nice to see blue, though, when you get right down to it!
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

It is nice to see blue but nerve racking at the same time.
I will try that sneaky lie and see if he falls for it. But he's a suspicious dude.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

So great that your Dad can check on him for you. Now, is he going to learn how to test, too? :)
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

he knows how to test (he's diabetic himself) but problem is Tray will not let anyone test him but me. He will let my Dad dose him but won't let him near his ears. This is the problem. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187 HELP

LOL, ok good. Can you take the "help" part out of subject heading -- put it back this afternoon.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187

Maui was actually one smart kitty, she didn't bother reading the posts, instead she got herself a personal reporter - his name was Roving Reporter Alphabean and he used to tell tales on every bean and kitty in LL including Maui. So everyone knew what was going on and us beans were at a loss to fool them.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187

Congrats on your first blue PS number.
May times it would take Max up to the 6th cycle of a dose to show some improvement.

Terrific grandfather Tray has to go babysit him. That is just so sweet.
You might be surprised about getting Tray to let him test. It might be worth some time investment on that since grandpa is willing to go be with him and if/when Tray's numbers start coming down and you have to be away, grandpa is a great backup to have.

BTW most kitties do read their condos, lol. We joke a lot about it here.
They know when we are going to be away or threaten them with increases.
This is an exciting day.

(Can I bug you with one more houekeeping rule?? Go back to your original post and edit the subject line to include the date 5/13 Tray AMPS 187) :-D
Can't wait to see what happens later when you get home.
 
Re: TRAY's AMPS 187

Randi & Max said:
(Can I bug you with one more houekeeping rule?? Go back to your original post and edit the subject line to include the date 5/13 Tray AMPS 187) :-D
Can't wait to see what happens later when you get home.

Done, I was so shocked and confused about that # that I just rushed to post.

I hope his numbers stay good today, I think Grandpa is scared of Tray because he can be a mean kitty but I will try and persuade him to give testing another go.
 
Re: 05/13 TRAY's AMPS 187

For the testing, maybe you can have him be there where you test and then he can test. It may relax him and also Tray if you are present for the traumatic event. It could be something as simple as your approach is different or how you hold Tray is different.
 
Re: 05/13 TRAY's AMPS 187

We tried that. I think its more the fact that Tray is an odd cat and doesn't like his ears touched. He just tolerates his Mama doing it but I'll give it another go, maybe if Grandpa offers a treat.
 
Re: 05/13 TRAY's AMPS 187

Don't let Tray hear you calling him 'odd'; rather, Tray is just being 'particular'.

Treats are an EXCELLENT idea! Whatever incentive works is good to me!
Shadoe likes some undivided attention to the point where I must shoo the others away, pats, kind words, and then the offer of Pure Bites chicken after the test. Then, the princess is OK.

Oliver is totally different; just load up a BIG bowl of foods, let him smell it, then say Test first big guy. And he is fine with that!

Just find Tray's weak spot and use it to the max!
 
Re: 05/13 TRAY's AMPS 187 +10=360 DOSE ADVICE

Well I have no clue what is going on with Tray since at +10 he is back in the pinks.
So question now is do I dose a full 2.5U or increase the dose?
 
Re: 05/13 TRAY's AMPS 187 +10=360 DOSE ADVICE

It's just about time to shoot Tray's PM dose I think as he's high again I will shoot the full 2.5 U and see where we go from there.
 
Re: 05/13 TRAY's AMPS 187 +10=360 DOSE ADVICE

In case no one stops by in time, Monique said this morning that you should shoot the 2.5u tonight, seeing that you BCS'd Tray's dose this morning and you had blue in this cycle.
And you are shooting at your regular time correct?
 
Re: 05/13 TRAY's AMPS 187 +10=360 DOSE ADVICE

Correct shooting at regular time.
I shouldn't have been so scared to shoot his full dose this morning but hindsight is 20/20 as they say.
Keep your fingers crossed for good numbers for Tray.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top