05/13 Mowgli AMPS 337 Not a bounce + Master Plan

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
05/12 Condo

Good Morning!

After almost 2 weeks on 0.75u Lantus I am convinced that it is not working for Mowgli. His AMPS results at this point are not a bounce, this is the norm for him and his BG trends are slowly going up.

Before I take action with a dose increase I am trying a new pen. His previous Lantus pen could be losing potency since I have kept it out of the fridge as per the instructions from the pharm. ( I started it March 23rd). I had read on the forum the pen should be refrigerated daily if intended to be used for longer than 28 days so I’m hoping that that is the reason Mowgli has been climbing.

Everything else with him is really good though! He’s gained more weight and is playful / cheerful. Here’s a pic of him announcing to the world that everyone should have a great Monday!

EC37D659-2CC3-491B-9B14-76F8C46B6913.jpeg
 
I can hear him talk ! Thanks Mowgli and stay safe today ! :)
I always leave my pen in the fridge, never had any problems; use it till the last drop and it can last few months!
 
I can hear him talk ! Thanks Mowgli and stay safe today ! :)
I always leave my pen in the fridge, never had any problems; use it till the last drop and it can last few months!
Yes I really hope that me leaving the pen out over the past few weeks is the reason why Mowgli is slowly climbing. I will keep his new one in the fridge and hope 0mfor better results
 
That is great to hear. It's a good idea to not change the dose the same time you start a new pen so you'll know if one makes a difference.
Yes, I really hope that a new pen with 0.75 will make a difference. Mowgli really dives with 1u so if the new pen 0.75u doesn't work out maybe I will transition to a fat 0.75u
 
Love the Photo of Mowgli talking :joyful:

I doubt if the insulin is the reason he's going up. I just finished my pen & it was the very last drop. Lasted just about 3 months. I've never had a problem using to the last drop & I see no difference when i start a new pen.

I was looking at his SS. Why did you increase to 1 unit on 5/6? Be careful changing the dose. It messes with the depot. It takes a while for their body to adjust to a new dose. Even if you lower or increase it will take a while to see any difference in his BG. It doesn't happen in a few hours.

Sometimes it's good to go back & read over the information about insulin. How it works. I've read it numerous times to refresh my memory.



PleasantDimGrizzlybear-poster.jpg
 
Love the Photo of Mowgli talking :joyful:

I doubt if the insulin is the reason he's going up. I just finished my pen & it was the very last drop. Lasted just about 3 months. I've never had a problem using to the last drop & I see no difference when i start a new pen.

I was looking at his SS. Why did you increase to 1 unit on 5/6? Be careful changing the dose. It messes with the depot. It takes a while for their body to adjust to a new dose. Even if you lower or increase it will take a while to see any difference in his BG. It doesn't happen in a few hours.

Sometimes it's good to go back & read over the information about insulin. How it works. I've read it numerous times to refresh my memory.
The reason I thought that the insulin losing efficacy was behind Mowgli's BG slowly increasing is because I wasn't keeping it in the fridge... Are you keeping your pen outside of the fridge? if so I will continue on with his old pen... otherwise I will continue with this new one and wont make the same mistake.

I increased Mowgli's dose on the 6th because I wanted to get his nadir lower than the curves on 05/04 and 05/05, it was also the 7th day after starting 0.75u. I had intended to keep the 1u dose for 7 days but increasing the dose failed and Mowgli's BG numbers really dropped showing 0.75u was the better dose. I plan to keep the 0.75u dose with the new pen until I can do the next curve, but it really feels like Mowgli is back sliding from the progress he made when we were on a higher dose. What is your take on his numbers? do you think the 0.75u is the right dose for now? do you think anything of the way his baseline seems to slowly been increasing or do you think it's in my head? keep in mind that I'm still working on my patience pants so a second opinion is definitely welcome.:confused:

Definitely it helps to keep the insulin information fresh in your head.. that was another reason I realized I should have been keeping the Lantus in the fridge. At the pharmacy they tell you you can leave Lantus insulin out of the fridge once open, but that it will expire after 28 days. On the forum it says that for cats you can use Lantus until it is gone... IF you're keeping it in the fridge... whoops :facepalm:

Mowgli is so vocal - I love that pic of him... he's found a platform to inform us of his hunger - or that he needs attention - or as a stage for singing... or something :D
 
Yep, a little more oriental in the mix but they both have a few white hairs on the chest. My other one Ben is black and white.
 
Last edited:
With SLGS, you keep the dose if you are getting nadirs between 90 and 149. which you are. You got a 110 the other night, that's not so far off the 90 reduction level. Hold the dose.

As long as you aren't using the pen needles, the pens should be kept in the fridge. The pharm probably told you to keep it out cause they assumed you were using pen needles like humans do.
 
With SLGS, you keep the dose if you are getting nadirs between 90 and 149. which you are. You got a 110 the other night, that's not so far off the 90 reduction level. Hold the dose.

As long as you aren't using the pen needles, the pens should be kept in the fridge. The pharm probably told you to keep it out cause they assumed you were using pen needles like humans do.

Thanks Wendy.
You know me. Nervous about Mowgli spending so much time in yellow, slow to notice progress :rolleyes:

I’m holding the dose. :cool:
 
Back
Top