05/12 J.D. PMPS 167, +5 116, +9 38, +9.5 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
113 PMPS (at +12.5)
160 +2
50 +6 (fed MC)
79 +6.75 (fed LC)
94 +8 (87 on Arkray Vital)

I woke up at normal AMPS time, and remembered I shot at +12.5 last night, so thought I would wait 10 minutes to test and shoot, and fell back to sleep ohmygod_smile for an hour! His AMPS was at +12.5 again, and now we're an hour off schedule. It's a good thing it's the weekend.

J.D. ate his 1st Breffis, and is now out on the front porch with Ginger.

I wanted to start using the new Arkray Vital this weekend as I have the 450 test strips.
The AMPS of 456 on my OneTouch was 423 on the Vital, so it's not too much off.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456 at +12.5

Dyana, it sounds like you have plenty of room in your 3 day weekend to re -schedule...lucky ducky!!!
C'mon back down JD and bring Ella with you please:)

Happy Caturday!
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456 at +12.5

Come on down J.D. Congrats on the little bit of extra sleep, even though it messed up the shot schedule. My plan was to sleep most of today since I've barely slept the last few weeks, but Willow the roller coaster kitty has me up waiting for him to dive.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +2 462

That 462 was using the Vital, so would probably be around 490 if I used the One Touch.

I just gave him a TOR. Sorry, Dian, our plan to pretend it was a normal work day isn't exactly working out. He is due for a shot a Adequan today, a shot of B12, and I'd like to apply his first dose of the season of Frontline, today, so all of this, will probably just mess up our experiment. Tomorrow is another day.

J.D. is acting fine, though. He just ate his 2nd Breffis, and then had a "play" fight with Ginger, and is now down in the basement making mournful noises because of it.

I'm going to try to go back to bed for an hour, I hope, I think..
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +2 462

no problem Dyana.
I am probably in the minority but when I shoot late, I never change my schedule. I shoot the regular time. even when there is a time change I shoot regular time. so may be an hour late or early with the change.

only time I miss a shot is when I am over 2 hours late, then I may (depending on how close to 2:30AM it is) give a much reduced dose or skip entirely.

so I would just shoot normal time with JD today and not try and make up that lost time. especially with the higher #. of course, I guess with the TOR, it may make a difference. I have never had to do this so unsure of how to handle that part of the equation
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +2 462

dian and wheezer said:
no problem Dyana.
I am probably in the minority but when I shoot late, I never change my schedule. I shoot the regular time. even when there is a time change I shoot regular time. so may be an hour late or early with the change.

I usually do the same. If I shoot late at one shot, then I just go back to normal time at the next, unless I was 2+ hours late, then I do it in 1 hour changes. Gradual changes never seem to work with my schedule and Willow doesn't seem to care either way.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +2 462, +3.5 287

Well, I totally blew everything today. I gave him at the zero line of R, but .. I grabbed a pack of syringes that I had set off to the side because the zero lines on them were lower down than most. I took out 3 syringes (R, Adequan, and B12) and thought that zero line of R looked like a lot. Dag Nabit!

I just fed him some more LC.

I have to run out the door for maybe 20 minutes or so, and then I'll be back to test a +4.5, and then need to take my car for an oil change, which won't take more than a half hour, I hope. I was hoping to do some shopping after the oil change, but I guess that's out now.

tortie58 said:
May I ask, what is a TOR? And R?
R is Regular Insulin (a short acting very potent insulin, that vets use to bring a cat's BGs down fast, like when in DKA). It can be very dangerous, and so it is not advised to use it unless you have guidance from someone experienced with using it.
TOR is touch of R. I gave him at the zero line, which usually is just enough to bring him down slowly about 150 points, but I blew it by using a syringe with the zero line down low. Lesson learned.

bbl :?
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +2 462, +3.5 287

you should be OK. you know how to control this with food. do errands tomorrow or tonight
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +2 462, +3.5 287, +4.5 218

I just gave him his B12 shot, and his Ondansetron (started halving the dose :-D today, to 1/4 4mg pill BID (he's been on 1/2 pill BID since March 20th)),
and he ate another 1/4 can LC FF.

I should be home from the oil change by +5.5. I'll go early..even though my appointment is at +5.

Maybe, he'll bounce enough, that I can get back on schedule tonight. That would be nice.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +2 462, +3.5 287, +4.5 218

It looks like the R helped him....he's getting back down into some decent numbers now. Hope to see him back in green this weekend, Dyana.

I'm very interested in how all this works for him and am keeping paws crossed. Have a great day.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +3.5 287, +4.5 218, +6 172

I asked the oil changed people how long it would take and if it would take more than a half hour, because I have a cat at home with BGs going down, and they said it would take about 45 minutes. They called me up to pay early and said they got me in and done quickly, because they knew I was in a hurry. I was back in my car and on my way home in 42 minutes. I am happy with their service.

J.D. seems to have steadied, now. I did give him a big teaspoon of MC before I walked out the door.

Right now he is outside in the flower bushes right in front of my condo, enjoying the day.

I hope Ginger doesn't run away. I applied Frontline as soon as I got home, and Ginger just reads minds so well. Before she even saw the stuff in my hand, she was running from me, and screaming before I even touched her.
She's outside now, too. I hope she didn't take off too far. She probably won't come to me if I call her. But, I'll go try...
brb, I hope.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +3.5 287, +4.5 218, +6 172

looks good. R out and lev in. should be fine. we will see what nadir is and keep same dose tonight and on time. tomorrow is another day
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +3.5 287, +4.5 218, +6 172

omg...what a hectic day!!!

Hoping Ginger doesn't pull an Annie-
I put cleaner in her ears yesterday evening, and the little devil stayed out until 5am :shock:

hoping your day settles down, Dyana!
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +3.5 287, +4.5 218, +6 172

liking these numbers. when it is over 12 hours we surly seem to have BIPO, don't we. as long as he does not PAW you, you should be ok.
like I said, he doe well when in triple digits above 100 and below ,oh, 170 but as soon as he hits those doubles, he bounces.

so, we have to get him used to lower 100's before we drop him to doubles. this way he will not bounce and his body should get more accustomed

that is my thinking but I could be totally off.

not sure if I would doscrease tonight or tomorrow to keep him out of those lower doubles.
most say 40 earns a dosecrease but I think it should be a little higher for JD.

anyone have any thoughts on this. need more eyes than mine. I make better decisions when I am actually doing it than reading about it.don't know why. should be the same thing but not for me. always been a hands on learner. reading comprehension bahhhh!!!
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +3.5 287, +4.5 218, +6 172

dian and wheezer said:
liking these numbers. when it is over 12 hours we surly seem to have BIPO, don't we. as long as he does not PAW you, you should be ok.
like I said, he doe well when in triple digits above 100 and below ,oh, 170 but as soon as he hits those doubles, he bounces.

so, we have to get him used to lower 100's before we drop him to doubles. this way he will not bounce and his body should get more accustomed

that is my thinking but I could be totally off.

not sure if I would doscrease tonight or tomorrow to keep him out of those lower doubles.
most say 40 earns a dosecrease but I think it should be a little higher for JD.

anyone have any thoughts on this. need more eyes than mine. I make better decisions when I am actually doing it than reading about it.don't know why. should be the same thing but not for me. always been a hands on learner. reading comprehension bahhhh!!!
IF I shave a little off, it will be just a little itty bit, from a s0.75 (with just a hairline of light between the plunger and the .5 line mark) to what I'll call a f0.50 (with the plunger touching the outside of the .5 line mark), or were you thinking more than a little shave? I think, if I can do the shave tonight, and shoot early, that would be great. But cats don't always work with the plans.

Dian, what does BIPO mean? And PAW? J.D. does claw me sometimes when getting his pills jammed down his throat.
..just kidding on the "jammed" part, but J.D. probably calls it something like that..
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +3.5 287, +4.5 218, +6 172

BIPO BIG INSULIN POOP OUT
PAW PULLING A WHEEZER when he goes down to 20 or so

you shave whatever you feel comfy with.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. AMPS 456, +4.5 218, +6 172, +8 142

J.D. seems to have stopped his drop, so I'm going out to shop (didn't mean to rhyme) for flowers.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 145 Vital (167 OneTouch)

I shot the new dose of f0.50, and I fed him some LC with a touch of MC on top and he didn't eat it. I just brought his bowl of food to him in his bed, and he is eating it now.
So, most of those readings today were from my new Vital meter which seems to give lower results.
I think I only compared to the OneTouch at AMPS and PMPS.
He's eating all that food, now that it's in his bed num num :smile:

***Newbies and Lurkers, please don't follow what I've done with J.D., today. It is against the protocol we advise you to stick to and follow. J.D. is a very long long term diabetic, and we are just trying something different that is specific to J.D. ONLY***
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 145 Vital (167 OneTouch)

I believe that is still within 20%??? not good with numbers.
ok. let's watch for that nadir thingy and not let him get below 100 yet.
tomorrow you are pretending to be at work except for tests so we can see what he does. of course I do not know if any of the older dose plays a part in this since we used R.
will play it by ear.
I work tomorrow. 6-12 but may end up being there later so you are on your own
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 145 Vital (167 OneTouch)

Dian, I feel like I should keep using the OneTouch for this experiment. The Vital keeps showing lower numbers than the OneTouch. What do you think?

FYI I am planning to use the Vital ..hopefully.. for the next while (months) as I did buy 450 test strips for it.
But, if you think it's smarter to hold off on the Vital and keep using the OneTouch (which more matches up to my vet's meter) then let me know.
I know, you're supposed to pick one and stick with it. :roll:
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 145 Vital (167 OneTouch)

I say stick with the one touch for now so there are not too many variables in this.
PS, you could like test with each one in lower numbers and when higher to see if there is a difference. some meters are more accurate to each other when higher, some lower. just a test
KWIM
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 145 Vital (167 OneTouch)

Gotcha. I have plenty of OneTouch strips too. I just thought I would use up the cheaper ones first, before they get discontinued and no longer for sale :roll: . I'll continue to use my beloved OneTouch until next weekend.

So far the differences are:
05/11 94 One Touch vs 87 Vital (7 points)
05/12 167 One Touch vs 145 Vital (22 points)
05/12 456 One Touch vs 423 Vital (35 points)
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 145 Vital (167 OneTouch)

I do not think it is really all that much different but I think you would be more comfy sticking with what you trust best right now.
to be honest, anytime I change meters, I have checked each and it it is really off then I question it but otherwise, I just shoot according to the meter I am using. maybe I have just been lucky so far. today I tested with the contour and expired freestyle and got 100 and 106 so there ya go. even if it was a bit higher, when i switch over, i will just go by the freestyle.
but you have to do what you are comfy with. EPID.
I am off to bed now. all cats tested, fed, medicated sq'd, LB cleaned, fresh water and I am still a tad dizzy. do not know what is going on but have to be better for work.
hope to see good # tomorrow
you are doing great
nite
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 145 Vital (167 OneTouch)

aw...those pics are just darling!

and we have something in common...
I have a Bleeding Heart in my yard as well!

Annie loves it- she lays under it a lot!

I've always cracked up over the PAW in the Lantus Lingo Dictionary :lol:
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 167, +2.25 187

PAW = PULLING A WHEEZER is in the Lantus Logo Dictionary :lol: you're famous Wheez
catlick.gif


I'm off to watch some kitty shows on Animal Planet, and then off to bed, myself. I'll set alarms.

Night Night.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 167, +2.25 187

I kinda like Dian's idea of trying to stabilize J.D. in the blues and then work from there.

I love the photos. I adore calico's. My GA, George, was a calico -- and a mutant given how rare male calicos are. Ginger is adorable.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 167, +5 116, +9 38

I fed him MC mixed with LC for his +2.25 and again for his +5.

I woke up to the +5 alarm, but slept through the rest and just happened to wake up a little before +9 to 38 :shock:
I fed him a teaspoon of straight MC, and then about a tablespoon of HC at +9.

After eating, I tried the Vital (I know stupid) but it said 46.

I going to a flat 0.50 tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 05/12 J.D. PMPS 167, +2.25 187, +5 116, +9 38

Congratulations to the reduce! They are so naughty, always caught us off guard. Nice to have got that 38, Dyana!
 
for sure he is going to bounce but that is ok. he has been coming back rather quickly. hope it is not a repeat of today with that 400. anyway that shed need to empty a bit me thinks.
dosecrease for sure
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top