05/11 Simon - Blood Glucose Steady in 400s despite dose increase

salmonlover

Member Since 2026
Good luck with the new dose. Both Dyana and I have been in your shoes where it seems like you are shooting just water. Until that day when the magic happens and you get a dose that moves them. I heard about a quote from a vet tech who used to post here "be the tank, and keep on going, the tank always gets where it's going". You will get there too.

Come on Simon - work it!
 
Hi starting a new condo! Here are my previous posts:

05/08 Simon - Blood Glucose Steady in 400s despite dose increase
05/01 Simon - Blood Glucose Steady in 400s despite dose increase
Seeking shirt recommendation for freestyle libre
Lancing Device Help

I raised the dose to 4U and will continuing Fast Tracking. BG is still reading 400. I will post a new condo when I raise the dose again or the blood glucose drops. Thank you everyone for your help! Happy Monday!
You k ow, I have not seen a Libre that reads the same number predominantly. Have you replaced it? @Staci & Ivy have you seen a Libre read like this…all these 400s exactly?
 
You k ow, I have not seen a Libre that reads the same number predominantly. Have you replaced it? @Staci & Ivy have you seen a Libre read like this…all these 400s exactly?
The Libre only reads up to 400, then it says HI
(I indicate 400 on my spreadsheet when Ivy hits that since it doesn’t ready higher specific numbers).

It appears Simon has had numerous Libres, so it must be true.
Of course, if possible to test with an ear prick to test that would confirm.
 
The Libre only reads up to 400, then it says HI
(I indicate 400 on my spreadsheet when Ivy hits that since it doesn’t ready higher specific numbers).

It appears Simon has had numerous Libres, so it must be true.
Of course, if possible to test with an ear prick to test that would confirm.
Awwww! Thank you for explaining that.
 
Good luck with the new dose. Both Dyana and I have been in your shoes where it seems like you are shooting just water. Until that day when the magic happens and you get a dose that moves them. I heard about a quote from a vet tech who used to post here "be the tank, and keep on going, the tank always gets where it's going". You will get there too.

Come on Simon - work it!
Yes, it's so frustrating. I will keep this quote in mind -- Thank you so much for your positivity!
 
Hoping for your breakthrough moment! - even though it feels too long and too discouraging, (i sat with no changes for 5 weeks and it felt pointless) until things started shifting. in my case i had to control other factors, changing food, changing methods, but i remember those 5 weeks felt eternal and very disheartening. don't lose hope! he'll break of it eventually! we cheer for you both! you can do it Simon! zero + sigma send cat vibessss ✨✨✨
 
You k ow, I have not seen a Libre that reads the same number predominantly. Have you replaced it? @Staci & Ivy have you seen a Libre read like this…all these 400s exactly?
Thank you for your concern over this! He's on his third or so meter now. I've ear pricked a few times and when we started insulin his readings were in the 500s, recently they've been in the 400s. I'm assuming he's higher in the 400s and that's why it is always steady. He did not do well with the ear pricking -- I tried hard for a month and his ears did not bleed a lot, and he also was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism at the same time, so we're doing the transdermal medication on his ears too. We settled on the continuous glucose meter for now. I have a ReliOn and an AlphaTRAK meter if needed.
 
The Libre only reads up to 400, then it says HI
(I indicate 400 on my spreadsheet when Ivy hits that since it doesn’t ready higher specific numbers).

It appears Simon has had numerous Libres, so it must be true.
Of course, if possible to test with an ear prick to test that would confirm.
I can definitely try an ear test when it goes back up to the 400s to confirm.
 
Thank you for your concern over this! He's on his third or so meter now. I've ear pricked a few times and when we started insulin his readings were in the 500s, recently they've been in the 400s. I'm assuming he's higher in the 400s and that's why it is always steady. He did not do well with the ear pricking -- I tried hard for a month and his ears did not bleed a lot, and he also was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism at the same time, so we're doing the transdermal medication on his ears too. We settled on the continuous glucose meter for now. I have a ReliOn and an AlphaTRAK meter if needed.
Thank you.

Please be sure and start a new condo every day. I’ve been looking for you but as this was yesterday’s thread, I was not searching for it.

I’m glad you’ve increased because I wanted to tell you it was time to do so but now we need to give him six cycles at the new dose and let his depot catch up. If he’s still above 300 after six cycles, we will raise again and hold for four cycles and see where we are.
 
Hoping for your breakthrough moment! - even though it feels too long and too discouraging, (i sat with no changes for 5 weeks and it felt pointless) until things started shifting. in my case i had to control other factors, changing food, changing methods, but i remember those 5 weeks felt eternal and very disheartening. don't lose hope! he'll break of it eventually! we cheer for you both! you can do it Simon! zero + sigma send cat vibessss ✨✨✨
Thank you so much for your hope and positivity!!
 
Thank you.

Please be sure and start a new condo every day. I’ve been looking for you but as this was yesterday’s thread, I was not searching for it.

I’m glad you’ve increased because I wanted to tell you it was time to do so but now we need to give him six cycles at the new dose and let his depot catch up. If he’s still above 300 after six cycles, we will raise again and hold for four cycles and see where we are.
Sounds good! I will try to post new condos earlier in the day. Thank you so much!
 
Back
Top