05/11 Noni 12:00 AMPS 178 +8 58 +11 74 (last shot skipped)

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Good morning from here ,

I asked for an advice to shoot at 2.5u as her previous +10.5 was 111.6 to shoot lower but no one seems available so I had to go with the regular shot.

117 PMPS

I will test again +.30
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 117 AMPS +.30 127.8 +2 117

I'm sorry you did not get any advice Aseel. I was itching to log on at 4:15am when I gave J.D. his meds. which was about the time you were asking for help, but I forced myself not to and to go back to sleep. Sorry.

Hopefully, she'll surf real nice today in the low blues and high green numbers.

Have a good day both of you.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 117 AMPS +.30 127.8 +2 117

Dyana said:
I'm sorry you did not get any advice Aseel. I was itching to log on at 4:15am when I gave J.D. his meds. which was about the time you were asking for help, but I forced myself not to and to go back to sleep. Sorry.

Hopefully, she'll surf real nice today in the low blues and high green numbers.

Have a good day both of you.


Hi Dyana

It's good to know that your having a good sleep .. I skipped test for 3 hours last night, just couldn't get myself out of bed, and felt guilty after that :/

hope she doesn't get the low green it's so stressful to me ..

have a good day you and J.D. and thanks for the reply
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 117 AMPS +.30 127.8 +2 117 +3 88 +6 61 +7 61

It looks like Noni is behaving herself very nicely for you :mrgreen:

back to work, for me.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 117 AMPS +.30 127.8 +2 117 +3 88 +6 61 +7 61

Dyana said:
It looks like Noni is behaving herself very nicely for you :mrgreen:

back to work, for me.


Yea, she's a good girl ;D

good luck dear
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Please advice :


66.6 PMPS

I decided to wait for another +30 and test before I shoot.

I remember once told here that it has to be above 90 to shoot . correct me please and advice
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Good idea on the waiting and retesting....But she looks good! nice greens!!!
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

FYI I personally will shoot anywhere over 50, but do lots of testing afterward if he is under 100 to see how he goes ....and I have HC and sugar syrup at the ready!
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
FYI I personally will shoot anywhere over 50, but do lots of testing afterward if he is under 100 to see how he goes ....and I have HC and sugar syrup at the ready!


I had to run for IV last week because of shooting on 49 .. I can't take the risk this time, how long can I wait ? I dont mind shooting late
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

I think you are good to shoot..IF you are comfortable with that and can test a few times - like PMPS + 0.5, +1,+2.. And have HC ready. Keep posting!
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Yes but at 49 you didnt know which way the BG was going from what I can see. And it looks like it may be on the increase this time. But anyway lets wait another 30 then and see how she is doing then.. better safe than sorry for sure!
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

I should caveat that I will shoot over 50 IF he is on the rise (get at least 2 measures that are increasing) and I didnt feed him to influence that!
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
I should caveat that I will shoot over 50 IF he is on the rise (get at least 2 measures that are increasing) and I didnt feed him to influence that!


oh I did feed :( , I already gave half spoon on chicken and gravy after the first PMPS test
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Ok then we dont really know whats going on. HC can sit in her system for a while and then wear off and her BG drop rapidly - it could be causing some or all of the rise.

I am hoping now an expert will chip in here but you may want to just wait now till tomorrow morning so that you dont go too much of schedule.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok then we dont really know whats going on. HC can sit in her system for a while and then wear off and her BG drop rapidly - it could be causing some or all of the rise.

I am hoping now an expert will chip in here but you may want to just wait now till tomorrow morning so that you dont go too much of schedule.


now It's 1 am in the morning here in Kuwait .. do you mean skip the dose and then shoot normally at her next dose time?
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Sorry, yes I mean skip this dose and then shoot normally at her next dose time. (after testing of course!)
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 (didn't shoot)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Sorry, yes I mean skip this dose and then shoot normally at her next dose time. (after testing of course!)


thats better so far i believe .

Thanks Wendy ( I will keep on testing)
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 (didn't shoot yet)

Sounds good. For future reference though read the link I provided on shooting and handling low numbers. Key thing is to watch the numbers to see how they are going - but dont feed! If you feed it can influence the numbers so you dont really know which way they are going naturally.

Oh and I think you can remove the 911 icon now.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 (didn't shoot yet)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Sounds good. For future reference though read the link I provided on shooting and handling low numbers. Key thing is to watch the numbers to see how they are going - but dont feed! If you feed it can influence the numbers so you dont really know which way they are going naturally.

Oh and I think you can remove the 911 icon now.


Just removed it, +2 is 86.4 (going down)
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

You did right to put up the 911 icon when you needed help. I think skipping tonight is probably a good idea, then you can deplete her depot a little bit and shoot at AMPS. By the way, if you want to move her shot time, tomorrow morning, you can do that if you skip the shot.

I know tomorrow is going to be stressful for you, because of the surgery on Wednesday. I hope all comes out perfectly.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

Dyana said:
You did right to put up the 911 icon when you needed help. I think skipping tonight is probably a good idea, then you can deplete her depot a little bit and shoot at AMPS. By the way, if you want to move her shot time, tomorrow morning, you can do that if you skip the shot.

I know tomorrow is going to be stressful for you, because of the surgery on Wednesday. I hope all comes out perfectly.


Thanks for your reply Dyana,

Thank god we did the right thing with Wendy's help ..

since her surgery is going to be at 12-1 pm

what time do you suggest i shot tomorrow AM so it will be ideal for the surgery if in case i need to drop AM shot after tomorrow during surgery ??
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

I don't know. That's kind of a hard question. What times do you shoot now?
What do you think about 10:00am and 10:00pm? It's just a thought and just came to my head.
I was thinking 12:00pm and 12:00am, as then her surgery would be around 12 hours past her last shot, but I wouldn't want to suggest to anyone to shoot at midnight. What works best with your schedule Aseel? Would 11/11 work? That would make it 13 hours after her last, shot that she goes into surgery. I'm just pondering some thoughts here.
What do you think?
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

Dyana said:
I don't know. That's kind of a hard question. What times do you shoot now?
What do you think about 10:00am and 10:00pm? It's just a thought and just came to my head.
I was thinking 12:00pm and 12:00am, as then her surgery would be around 12 hours past her last shot, but I wouldn't want to suggest to anyone to shoot at midnight. What works best with your schedule Aseel? Would 11/11 work? That would make it 13 hours after her last, shot that she goes into surgery. I'm just pondering some thoughts here.
What do you think?


It is a hard question now I have the choice. Vet suggested 10/10



but all fits with my schedule , I don't sleep early 2 am usually

but all ok . I would say 12/12, yet I though about 10/10 before you mentioned it , it crossed my mind too

I was thinking that if we skip her 12 pm shot .. she wont be stressed anyway as she will be sedated ?

and as they need her to be there at 11AM she will be stressed ,, but not for a long time until her surgery.

12/ 12 or 1/1 even ??

what do you think ?
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

Sorry I couldnt find previous posts. when is her surgery on wednesday? whats it for? If she is having surgery then usually they tell you to fast them for ( I think) twelve hours beforehand. If you are fasting her then you wouldnt shoot.

For example when Tiggy was having his dental, we had to drop him off at 7am in the morning for a 10am operation. We were told to fast from 10pm the night before. He usually gets his PM shot at 8pm but because he was fasting all night we had to skip the 8PM shot entirely. Then he missed his AM shot because he was at the vet. However the vet did give him a dose after the operation. So it went:

Day before operation
8am- AM shot
8pm - skipped PM shot
10pm- started fasting
Day of operation
7am - dropped off at vet
10am - operation
vet gave a shot sometime in here
8pm usual shot
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Sorry I couldnt find previous posts. when is her surgery on wednesday? whats it for? If she is having surgery then usually they tell you to fast them for ( I think) twelve hours beforehand. If you are fasting her then you wouldnt shoot.

For example when Tiggy was having his dental, we had to drop him off at 7am in the morning for a 10am operation. We were told to fast from 10pm the night before. He usually gets his PM shot at 8pm but because he was fasting all night we had to skip the 8PM shot entirely. Then he missed his AM shot because he was at the vet. However the vet did give him a dose after the operation. So it went:

Day before operation
8am- AM shot
8pm - skipped PM shot
10pm- started fasting
Day of operation
7am - dropped off at vet
10am - operation
vet gave a shot sometime in here
8pm usual shot



Thanks for the valuable information Wendy

we are removing her swollen nipple and perhaps spay (spay is depend on her condition during surgery)

Noni is 14 years old female - un-spayed

refrence to the previous posts where all the details:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=82086

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82328&p=886699#p886699


What do you suggest ? as last time surgery was planned, 12 hr fast as instructed by her vet . a day before surgery we skipped AM and PM shots as she went hypo as I shot her at green. so vet suggested i skip AM shot, and I skipped PM because she was fasting.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

What time do you normally shoot? I think its 12pm and 12am right? So I would ask your vet but this might work

Tuesday 12pm - give last shot before operation. Lantus lasts for twelve hours and you want it almost out of her system before she starts fasting - you dont want to give her a shot with no food! If she is low (under 100) then dont give this shot and wait till after the op.

Tuesday 11pm- start fasting
Wednesday 11am - operation
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
What time do you normally shoot? I think its 12pm and 12am right? So I would ask your vet but this might work

Tuesday 12pm - give last shot before operation. Lantus lasts for twelve hours and you want it almost out of her system before she starts fasting - you dont want to give her a shot with no food! If she is low (under 100) then dont give this shot and wait till after the op.

Tuesday 11pm- start fasting
Wednesday 11am - operation


normally 12/12 that's right

yes I wont shot without food, wont take the risk,


operation will start something between 12-1 pm . but they will take her from me to do blood test and general profile at 11.


so I will go with the 12/12 as usual shot ? correct ?
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

Ok then - but please consult with your vet!

Tuesday 12pm - give shot. This is the last shot before the operation which means it will have worn off before she starts her fast. Feed normally through the day.

Tuesday night (11.30pm) - Last meal before fasting. (The insulin will have worn off now but thats ok - she may go a little high over the next day with no insulin and stress of an operation but thats better than the alternative, especially since she seems to be dropping low a lot recently.)

Wednesday 12pm/1pm - operation.

Wednesday night 11.30pm - Start up the insulin again if she is eating normally. Her BG may be high since it will be a full 24 hours since her last shot. But thats ok - short term high BG wont do her any harm.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni PMPS 66.6 +1 93.6 +2 86.4 (didn't shoot yet)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok then - but please consult with your vet!

Tuesday 12pm - give shot. This is the last shot before the operation which means it will have worn off before she starts her fast. Feed normally through the day.

Tuesday night (11.30pm) - Last meal before fasting. (The insulin will have worn off now but thats ok - she may go a little high over the next day with no insulin and stress of an operation but thats better than the alternative, especially since she seems to be dropping low a lot recently.)

Wednesday 12pm/1pm - operation.

Wednesday night 11.30pm - Start up the insulin again if she is eating normally. Her BG may be high since it will be a full 24 hours since her last shot. But thats ok - short term high BG wont do her any harm.


Yea, that sounds perfect,

vet said its up to me anytime I want depend on the curve and if i'm going to skip some doses , she said maybe anytime after 10 would be fine.

thanks for the info, what what was i'm thinking about , the Wed night shot. (shot only if she's eating ? )

I will keep posting.. hope everything goes right with Noni


many thanks Wendy, I really needed this kind of information before operation.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 12:00 PMPS 178 - (last shot skipped due to lo

12 PM today PMPS ~ 178

she had almost one spoon of Chicken and Tuna feast FF

she came down to 175 at +2
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 12:00 AMPS 178 +4 75.6(last shot skipped)

Looking good again today. So keep feeding her till midnight and then start the fast for tomorrow. I think she can get water though. And no more shots till after the operation.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 12:00 AMPS 178 +4 75.6(last shot skipped)

Found a lump on Tiggy last night, was at vet right now. Its a tumor. we are taking it off tomorrow so he is having surgery too! So now we are doing the same thing with fasting!
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 12:00 AMPS 178 +4 75.6(last shot skipped)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Found a lump on Tiggy last night, was at vet right now. Its a tumor. we are taking it off tomorrow so he is having surgery too! So now we are doing the same thing with fasting!


Oh my :( double stress now .. or double support ..haha hope they both get well and recover really quick

Sorry about the lump is it under skin ? how big ? Noni's nipple lump is no 2 inches i think
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 12:00 AMPS 178 +6 52 (last shot skipped)

Noni is looking good. Measure in 30mins and see if she has dropped any more.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 12:00 AMPS 178 +6 52 (last shot skipped)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Noni is looking good. Measure in 30mins and see if she has dropped any more.

she didn't eat since +2 small tbs , she was asking for some food I just gave small spoon and I will test now
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 12:00 AMPS 178 +7 59 +8 58 (last shot skippe

Hi Aseel.

I hope she eats well for you today, as she won't eat after midnight. She is surfing nicely, right now.
 
Re: 05/11 Noni 12:00 AMPS 178 +7 59 +8 58 (last shot skippe

she is eating small portions every 2-3 hours

+9.5 is 75.6 raising but still green
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top