05/11 Mister AMPS 217 +1 167 +2 129 +4 147 +7 167 +9 267 PMPS 300

I took one of my dogs to the vet today for her yearly vaccines and saw the one who diagnosed Mister. At his dx, I was told to give 1u bid and to monitor for signs of DKA and hypo, he told me to switch his diet to FF pate and schedule an appointment for a curve later on and that was pretty much it. Today before I left I gave him an update on Mister. He was thrilled, and also fascinated by my spreadsheet and had all kinds of questions about what I’m doing and everything. He was on board and supportive. I’m really sad that veterinary care isn’t more advanced or informed when it comes to feline diabetes, but I’m thankful to have one who is willing to listen and work along with me. He told me “most CGs aren’t able to give this type of care” and that really made me sad because I wonder how many leave their vets office after dx not knowing about home testing, TR/SLGS, and all the other amazing information and advice I’m learning here.
 
I took one of my dogs to the vet today for her yearly vaccines and saw the one who diagnosed Mister. At his dx, I was told to give 1u bid and to monitor for signs of DKA and hypo, he told me to switch his diet to FF pate and schedule an appointment for a curve later on and that was pretty much it. Today before I left I gave him an update on Mister. He was thrilled, and also fascinated by my spreadsheet and had all kinds of questions about what I’m doing and everything. He was on board and supportive. I’m really sad that veterinary care isn’t more advanced or informed when it comes to feline diabetes, but I’m thankful to have one who is willing to listen and work along with me. He told me “most CGs aren’t able to give this type of care” and that really made me sad because I wonder how many leave their vets office after dx not knowing about home testing, TR/SLGS, and all the other amazing information and advice I’m learning here.
You’re exactly right.
You’re very lucky you have a very good and caring vet 🥰
 
I took one of my dogs to the vet today for her yearly vaccines and saw the one who diagnosed Mister. At his dx, I was told to give 1u bid and to monitor for signs of DKA and hypo, he told me to switch his diet to FF pate and schedule an appointment for a curve later on and that was pretty much it. Today before I left I gave him an update on Mister. He was thrilled, and also fascinated by my spreadsheet and had all kinds of questions about what I’m doing and everything. He was on board and supportive. I’m really sad that veterinary care isn’t more advanced or informed when it comes to feline diabetes, but I’m thankful to have one who is willing to listen and work along with me. He told me “most CGs aren’t able to give this type of care” and that really made me sad because I wonder how many leave their vets office after dx not knowing about home testing, TR/SLGS, and all the other amazing information and advice I’m learning here.
That’s really great you had that conversation with him.

Mister might have a little NDW or a bounce.
 
I took one of my dogs to the vet today for her yearly vaccines and saw the one who diagnosed Mister. At his dx, I was told to give 1u bid and to monitor for signs of DKA and hypo, he told me to switch his diet to FF pate and schedule an appointment for a curve later on and that was pretty much it. Today before I left I gave him an update on Mister. He was thrilled, and also fascinated by my spreadsheet and had all kinds of questions about what I’m doing and everything. He was on board and supportive. I’m really sad that veterinary care isn’t more advanced or informed when it comes to feline diabetes, but I’m thankful to have one who is willing to listen and work along with me. He told me “most CGs aren’t able to give this type of care” and that really made me sad because I wonder how many leave their vets office after dx not knowing about home testing, TR/SLGS, and all the other amazing information and advice I’m learning here.
yes, I agree. It takes a ver curious CG to go beyond what the vet recommends, my vet is great at diagnosis, he is thorough and leaves nothing out of the picture, but at treatment he isn't that great. For me, he was reluctant to advice on how to treat hypos because he said it was unlikely Zero would get one. That's just not a good answer for me, and I started researching how they look like, what to look for and what to do if they happen, and that's how i found this forum, thank god.

he also never told me how to apply teh insulin on him correctly, and my poor guy has been complaining with my poor technique for weeks until again, i found this forum.
another thing was he adviced not to take him completely off kibble, for reasons i still don't understand, he was concerned that wet food metabolizes too fast, but i don't see how that's reason enough to keep him on kibble.
he also had me only testing preshots. nothing in between. and his dosing method was on a sliding scale based on his preshot number not on his nadir.

the amount of learning here, honestly was the tipping point of zero being in the reds and even blacks constantly and not letting me test even just the preshots, to now, testing almost every hour without issue and going full green by switching him to TR and fully wet food, and showing all greens and blues for the past few days.

This would never have happened with my vet's advice alone. maybe they just asume no one is gonna do this amount of work for their cat and just give the baseline instructions of what they think a cg is willing to do? I don't know. But i am very very very grateful i found this forum at a moment when i was absolutely disheartened.
 
That’s really great you had that conversation with him.

Mister might have a little NDW or a bounce.
Yes, he’s in the pink again at +5, my bouncy boy :( hopefully they will get shorter. Wearing my patience pants, as they say.
Edit: just remembered what NDW stands for, I didn’t think of that. Had to refresh my reading. I’m hoping it doesn’t last as long.
 
Last edited:
yes, I agree. It takes a ver curious CG to go beyond what the vet recommends, my vet is great at diagnosis, he is thorough and leaves nothing out of the picture, but at treatment he isn't that great. For me, he was reluctant to advice on how to treat hypos because he said it was unlikely Zero would get one. That's just not a good answer for me, and I started researching how they look like, what to look for and what to do if they happen, and that's how i found this forum, thank god.

he also never told me how to apply teh insulin on him correctly, and my poor guy has been complaining with my poor technique for weeks until again, i found this forum.
another thing was he adviced not to take him completely off kibble, for reasons i still don't understand, he was concerned that wet food metabolizes too fast, but i don't see how that's reason enough to keep him on kibble.
he also had me only testing preshots. nothing in between. and his dosing method was on a sliding scale based on his preshot number not on his nadir.

the amount of learning here, honestly was the tipping point of zero being in the reds and even blacks constantly and not letting me test even just the preshots, to now, testing almost every hour without issue and going full green by switching him to TR and fully wet food, and showing all greens and blues for the past few days.

This would never have happened with my vet's advice alone. maybe they just asume no one is gonna do this amount of work for their cat and just give the baseline instructions of what they think a cg is willing to do? I don't know. But i am very very very grateful i found this forum at a moment when i was absolutely disheartened.
I think that is exactly the reason why, at least for my vet. I’m sure each has their own reason, or it could be the way they are trained or educated. I don’t know. During the first appointment, I left not even knowing cats could be tested at home the way humans can. I thought it was a shot in the dark (literally) and to only monitor his symptoms. Which is scary considering some cats hypo with no symptoms! And once I told him what I’ve been doing, I realized he is actually well informed on these things, he even knew about TR, he just never brought them up.

I’m so glad you are here, and seeing the difference it’s made in Zero’s numbers and overall health is so so amazing! He’s so lucky to have you. Gives me so much hope for Mister too🥰
 
I had a very similar experience upon diagnosis too. Sadly was given virtually no good information.
My vet told me to look up a video online to see how to inject insulin.
And told me testing was not necessary.
Also told me to increase 1 unit at a time 😵‍💫😱
It just “felt” wrong to me so I began investing and landed here 🥰
Thank goodness! 😻
 
Back
Top