05/11 Bayley amps 250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Me and Bayley

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 53#p142753

I was a bit surprised to see the yellow number because she seems very happy and comfortable :) Guess she handles both blue and yellow pretty well . have a happy kitten this morning - which makes me happy.

I am going away this weekend - am trying to talk back up needle giver to test but either way wondering if I should reduce dose while I am away for those 3 days? I know sometimes that is advised..... maybe I should just see how she is doing - but since she has been so all over the place with her numbers and the needle giver will just be in and out to give her her insulin and meals, I wonder if I should play it safe....? Any thoughts?
 
K weird thing - Bayley's top right canine tooth fell out this morning - not from the root - so it was broken.... - her sugers after this have popped up to 308 at +1. Have vet appointment for 4 - freaking aout a bit....... she seems alright is drinking....
 
Sounds like she will have to get that root removed then, it cannot stay in there it will cause problems for her.Let us know how the vet appt goes today
 
Started on Clavamox today due to the broken tooth - anyone know this anti-biotic? What can I expect? Not sure what is going to happen about the tooth - getting an estimate tomorrow but the vet I usually see is not there anymore - this new one said that she would refer Bayley for dentistry/dental surgery at Guelph (vet college etc is there for non Ontario people) rather than do it herself due to her age, acro diagnosis/ needs etc. and that it would likely cost over $1000 to have the tooth root cleaned out and whatever else they may do once they are in there - I don't have that kind of money so I just don't know what is going to happen at this point - I don't want her in any pain.... I just can't believe this!
 
A lot of kitties here have taken Clavamox. It may cause some liquipoo but that's mostly what I remember.

That seems rather high for one extraction. The person who would know best about this is Jojo. If you are on FB, she may be able to tell you whether the canine is more complicated than other teeth. You could always post on Health to get some idea about the cost.
 
It is high - my other cat had 4 teeth extracted and it was $400 but the girl is very new and I think was not comfotable doing the surgery and therefore wanted to refer her to the specialist to do it which means the high prices. I am going to call tomorrow to ask for the more seasoned vet to review her case. i am also very upset that we left without any pain meds - my poor girl cannot sleep - she keeps shifting her position and sitting up which to me means her little head likely hurts - so - of course I can't sleep - I am so worried - i am calling tomorrow to get her some pain meds - having a broken tooth can't not hurt.
 
Sending peaceful slumbering thoughts Bayley's way.... good luck with everything (getting meds and a cheaper estimate!)
 
Clavamox is a pretty mild, standard anti-biotic for cats. It's basically Amoxicilline, which is a general anti-biotics often prescribed for humans. Other than maybe getting some mild diarrhoea after a few days, I doubt there will be any major side-effects.

But you are right, if she is in pain, she needs pain management. Tolfedine is a pain-killer that is appropriate for cats (where aspirine, paracetamol and other humans pain meds are NOT appropriate for cats). The vet should be able to give a shot of it, and it also exists in pill-format for home-use. Whatever type of pain-killer is given (Tolfedine may not be used in Canada...), insist on it some pain-management for her.

The cost for the dental work seems extreme. Ask around and I'm sure you'll find a vet confident & experienced enough to do the work him/herself. (heck, for that price, your own human dentist might do it ! ;-) )

Don't panic over the yellow numbers, cats are very resilient (far more so than dogs & humans with diabetes). Of course you want her down in the blues & greens, but touching into yellow is not a disaster.

Also, stress raises numbers, and no doubt she is experiencing stress over that tooth-ache. (so back to that pain-killer!)

Good luck, let us all know how it goes !

Maria & Suzie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top