05/08 Shmee PJ Party, +3.75 41, AMPS 301, PMPS 214, shot BCS dose today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Member Since 2018
Previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-07-shmee-pmps-166-3-75-41-6-43-7-69.195231/

Hi everyone,

I just got Shmee's +7 and he's finally going up. Gave him HC food and honey a few times between +3.75 and +6.5. Finally going to try and sleep. Totally lost on what I should shoot in the AM. Reduction calls for 4.5, but I also messed up and increased him too soon, so I don't know if we should even go lower than that, especially after the night we've had. Will be getting a +10.

Any suggestions welcome, thank you
 
Earned a reduction to 4.5 but it’s your call if you want to go to 4.25 or even less for a one time thing because you’ve had an exhausting night. You can call it a BCS and drain the depot and go back to 4.5 later if need be. Great job keeping him safe. PJ parties are the highlight of FD management. :joyful:
 
Good morning -
+10 92

Definitely earned a reduction 4.50U? Will you be able to monitor today? Plenty of strips and HC food?

Yes I will be able to. I work at home, and I actually just called off since I got like two hours of sleep. :blackeye:

Earned a reduction to 4.5 but it’s your call if you want to go to 4.25 or even less for a one time thing because you’ve had an exhausting night. You can call it a BCS and drain the depot and go back to 4.5 later if need be. Great job keeping him safe. PJ parties are the highlight of FD management. :joyful:

Thanks Stacy, and I really appreciate you being there for me last night, I was very scared but with your help felt a lot better.
Would you still only reduce to 4.5 with him being that low for so long, and with him still under 100 at +10?
I would be willing to shoot 4.5 if that is what's best for him, but I am really nervous so maybe I will do a BCS dose of 4.25. Hmm..
 
Last edited:
If it were me in your exact situation with the amount of time you’ve been at this, I would likely opt for the BCS. The biggest concern is losing momentum, but it’s possible he could give you your lowest preshot to date, in which case he will work whatever dose you give and the larger depot may be influencing the cycle regardless. There is no wrong call, they will all give you data to make decisions with in the future and that’s a good thing no matter how you look at it.

I skipped some shots early on and quickly realized that was a setback for Asia and didn’t want to do it again. Some people skip shots in the beginning and their cat stays in relatively okay numbers until next shot time. I gave BCS doses to Asia and the cycle played out like I gave the full amount anyway. Some people give a BCS and it works that cycle. The motto is “shoot low to stay low” and many cats do surf when shooting a lower number, as opposed to dropping further like logic would make you think. ECID and you won’t know how Shmee reacts to any of these options without trying them. No wrong decisions here. :)
 
If it were me in your exact situation with the amount of time you’ve been at this, I would likely opt for the BCS. The biggest concern is losing momentum, but it’s possible he could give you your lowest preshot to date, in which case he will work whatever dose you give and the larger depot may be influencing the cycle regardless. There is no wrong call, they will all give you data to make decisions with in the future and that’s a good thing no matter how you look at it.

I skipped some shots early on and quickly realized that was a setback for Asia and didn’t want to do it again. Some people skip shots in the beginning and their cat stays in relatively okay numbers until next shot time. I gave BCS doses to Asia and the cycle played out like I gave the full amount anyway. Some people give a BCS and it works that cycle. The motto is “shoot low to stay low” and many cats do surf when shooting a lower number, as opposed to dropping further like logic would make you think. ECID and you won’t know how Shmee reacts to any of these options without trying them. No wrong decisions here. :)

Ok that makes sense, thank you for explaining. I will probably end up doing a BCS shot of 4.25. It is scary, like you said logic is making me think he will go very low.... so I really hope he can handle it.

This of course, is if he eats.... please eat Shmee!!
 
Last edited:
AMPS 301 - bouncing so soon? Tested 2x to be sure.
What I was scared would happen did... He acted starving until the food went down, then nothin. So confusing. After I put some food to his face a few times, he did end up eating about 10-15 bites. Enough to feel like he could get the shot and his AB (which I found on the ground 10 mins later :banghead: so I had to give him another). Last night he acted the same way, but then went back to the bowl a few times within the next two hours. I hope this is the case again today.
Shot BCS dose of 4.25.

Now to try and sleep.. I am thinking I will have DH help me out and test to let me sleep a bit, and have him wake me up if he goes below 70.
 
Thank you!

I did get some sleep and Shmee hasn't been the greatest eater today, but he is eating. I would say he is on track to eat two cans of food today when he normally eats three.
 
Thank you!

I did get some sleep and Shmee hasn't been the greatest eater today, but he is eating. I would say he is on track to eat two cans of food today when he normally eats three.
I did a BCS tonight too and gave him HC food at bedtime. Sometimes it's the best thing to do if you want sleep and to know they're ok.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top