05/07 - Zero, BG AMPS 100mg/dL, stalling, please HELP

zero - sigma & mielconejo

Member Since 2026
ZERO -10yro
AMPS 100mg/dL
LANTUS - currently 2U

Hello! I am quite new to the FD, not sooo new, I have been shooting and testing for 6 weeks already, but feels like this is my second week, since all the info really has been getting to me through this forum since i joined last week, instructions from my vet have been minimal to ONLY test the AMPS and PMPS never to test in between, and no instructions on diet change.

TODAY is the very first time zero gets a BG of 100 in the mornings, he usually was in the 300-400 (please see attached SS) sometimes higher in the morning, I don't know if I should shoot since I JUST finished switching him completely into a wet diet with ROYAL CANIN GLYCOBALANCE yesterday and he went into 60 yesterday at +4, which made me panic a little and fed him a handful of Hills' WD kibble.

Don't feel comfortable shooting. I'm assuming he's gonna go super low fast if I do. I tested him last night to check on his numbers precisely because yesterday was the FIRST time I ever saw numbers going below 200 at home,

PMPS - 395 - after feeding him dry kibble at +4 due to a BG of 64
+3 @3.25 - 306
+8 - 170
AMPS - 100

one thing to note is I tested him and fed him. he did not eat a ton but he ate a little bit of glycobance.


Not sure what should I do, I'm stalling in the mean time. Thank you in advance for your help
 
Last edited:
Hi Mielconejo! With SLGS anything under 90 mg/dL on a human meter you would reduce the dose at the next shot. So, I certainly wouldn’t shoot 2 units again.

It’s possible the food transition is helping his numbers. You’re right to be cautious here.

Have you gotten any other tests since AMPS?
 
Can you monitor if you shoot? Like @Tim & Pookey said, he has earned a reduction by dropping below 90.

What was he eating before you switched him to the RC Glycobalance wet food? A switch to a lower carb food can significantly drop a cat's insulin requirements.

I've seen from your previous post that you were feeding him FF Classic Pates at some point?

Linking your previous post for continuity:
new here. hi! 5 weeks of home testing and my cat is still very fuzzy about it. need advice on how to treat.
 
Hi Mielconejo! With SLGS anything under 90 mg/dL on a human meter you would reduce the dose at the next shot. So, I certainly wouldn’t shoot 2 units again.

It’s possible the food transition is helping his numbers. You’re right to be cautious here.

Have you gotten any other tests since AMPS?
hello! yes just tested him, one hour after and its up to 117mg/dL thank you for helping!
 
Can you monitor if you shoot? Like @Tim & Pookey said, he has earned a reduction by dropping below 90.

What was he eating before you switched him to the RC Glycobalance wet food? A switch to a lower carb food can significantly drop a cat's insulin requirements.

I've seen from your previous post that you were feeding him FF Classic Pates at some point?

Linking your previous post for continuity:
new here. hi! 5 weeks of home testing and my cat is still very fuzzy about it. need advice on how to treat.
hello! I just tested him again, one hour after the PS and he's up to 117mg/dL.
I am new to the reductions and even though I've been reading a lot, I'm not sure I completely understand how to do it right. Yes, I can monitor if I shoot, I work from home, thankfully.

Before the total switch to Glycobalance, by vet's order he was eating dry kibble from HILL's W/D. he also said NOT to switch him completely to wet, because it metabolized faster than dry but 5 weeks in his numbers were not budging. so after reading a lot here I decided to try and switch him.

The switch did not happen 100% with glycobalance since he is an extremely picky eater, but I began with feeding him FancyFeast Classic Pates which he loves, and yesterday I fed him the last can I had (when he went down to 64 he was easting anything and everything on the plate and his sister's plate too, which is EXTREMELY rare for him, specially with wet food. he always was a very low eater, more like a pecker, not really eating much, and since starting on insulin his apetite has gotten better, but yesterday was out of control before I tested and got the 64- so right now, I only have in my toolkit the glycobalance, dry kibbles of HIll's WD, and honey.

I order more FF classic pate but it arrives only in 10 days and an order of FF gravy lovers to have in case of a hypo will be arriving later today

Thank you for linking the previous post!!
 
Hi Mielconejo! With SLGS anything under 90 mg/dL on a human meter you would reduce the dose at the next shot. So, I certainly wouldn’t shoot 2 units again.

It’s possible the food transition is helping his numbers. You’re right to be cautious here.

Have you gotten any other tests since AMPS?
How much of a reduction should I go for? VET says to shoot 1U but he goes for a sliding scale depending on the PS which I've read here that doesn't really work much with Lantus
 
How long now since his shot was due? Any more tests after the 117?

It's possible he might need less than 1.75U if he has been switched from dry/kibble to Glycobalance wet, but that's anyone's guess. Since he hasn't budged much after food, why not try a token dose of 1U?
 
How long now since his shot was due? Any more tests after the 117?

It's possible he might need less than 1.75U if he has been switched from dry/kibble to Glycobalance wet, but that's anyone's guess. Since he hasn't budged much after food, why not try a token dose of 1U?
Hi! it's been 2 hours since his shot was due. he ate little bit more since then I just tested again and he is 98mg/dL, should I still shoot 1U?
 
Hi! it's been 2 hours since his shot was due. he ate little bit more since then I just tested again and he is 98mg/dL, should I still shoot 1U?
If you shoot so late, will you be able to adjust your future shooting schedule? You can give tonight's shot no sooner than 11.5 hours after the time you shoot in the morning.

If not, you could probably skip and shoot at your usual time tonight.
 
If you shoot so late, will you be able to adjust your future shooting schedule? You can give tonight's shot no sooner than 11.5 hours after the time you shoot in the morning.

If not, you could probably skip and shoot at your usual time tonight.
thank you! yes, i can adjust without issue, but i feel inclined to skip it since his numbers are consistent and it seems the food is making its effect, will continue to test during the day and shoot again at his normal night time. I just really get nervous that he'll go really low if i shoot. hopefully i won't be messing this awesome progress finally after 6 tough weeks by not shooting now.

thank you truly for all your help!!
 
How long now since his shot was due? Any more tests after the 117?

It's possible he might need less than 1.75U if he has been switched from dry/kibble to Glycobalance wet, but that's anyone's guess. Since he hasn't budged much after food, why not try a token dose of 1U?
I just want to pop in here and clarify the process when stalling even though this is yesterday’s condo.

If we stall and decide to shoot (I know @zero - sigma & mielconejo you decided to skip), we don’t shoot a token dose. Stalling acts like a dose reduction and he earned a dose reduction the AM cycle of 5/6 so the shot that night should have been 1.75u. If you had elected to stall and shoot yesterday morning, you would have shot the full new dose of 1.75u.

There is no update so I’m not sure what your shot last night but it’s important in us helping you that you keep the SS updated. The reason is if you were to have an emergency or needed help gain this morning, there is not data from last night to tell us what happened.

It’s a learning curve and we are here to teach and help you with it. Please let me know if you have questions.
 
I just want to pop in here and clarify the process when stalling even though this is yesterday’s condo.

If we stall and decide to shoot (I know @zero - sigma & mielconejo you decided to skip), we don’t shoot a token dose. Stalling acts like a dose reduction and he earned a dose reduction the AM cycle of 5/6 so the shot that night should have been 1.75u. If you had elected to stall and shoot yesterday morning, you would have shot the full new dose of 1.75u.

There is no update so I’m not sure what your shot last night but it’s important in us helping you that you keep the SS updated. The reason is if you were to have an emergency or needed help gain this morning, there is not data from last night to tell us what happened.

It’s a learning curve and we are here to teach and help you with it. Please let me know if you have questions.
Hiiii @Marje and Gracie yess! thank you sooo much for reaching out because I have been reading and re-reading your post on earning reductions but i still feel confused as to some of the terms like what shaving a dose means or shooting through the bounce, or back-to-back reduction. I have been following and reading on other links shared here where some of these terms get explained, because i am still even unsure as to what the differences are on tight regulation and start low go slow, so I'm still learning and confused.

2 things to note as of yesterday's dose: I skipped the morning due to concern that he would drop too low if I shot, since i stalled and 2 hours later when i tested to see if i should shoot, he was below 100. I did not shoot and tested him again through his cycle and his numbers kept within range. I was planning to shoot the reduced dose (vet recommended to cut to 1U because he gave me a sliding scale depending on his PS numbers and his increments or reductions are of 1U at a time, resulting in:

above 350 — 3u
200-349 — 2u
100-199 — 1u
below 100 — No Shot

which seems really aggressive to me. I had a personal emergency in the evening and I had to move his dose 2 hours later than usual, he usually gets it at 9am/9pm and i only was able to get home and give him the PM shot at 11pm. so the SS is a bit off on the actual times his tests were done. 2 hours later than what should have been his PM shot, he was at 305 so I shot at 1.5U.
He doesn't really eat much at night until around 4am-ish which is when i woke up because i saw he was eating the whole thing again, which was my sign to test him the day he went down to 60 I can tell when he is going down he shows signs of a lot of hunger, so i got up, tested him and he was at 75@+6,

I've noticed these couple past days that his nadir probably lands between +4 and +7.
I was worried that he would drop more, but he ate his whole evening portion and his sister's too, so i figured that would make his numbers rise, and i tested again one hour later just to make sure he would not drop lower, he was a bit up at 86@+7.

his whole scheduled is now moved to 11am/11pm because of my late shot last night. I just tested him and he is sitting at 123@+11
I am wondering if my dose reduction needs to be permanent moving forward? so 1.5U and close monitoring?

Again, this forum has been a heaven and earth change for me and Zero when it comes to getting his glucose under control but I feel I still need tons of learning to do. (at least he now allows me to test frequently without attacking and he finally is taking the wet food. the small big wins : )}

ps. I updated the SS to reflect his numbers
 
Last edited:
Hi Mielconejo, what dose did you give last night?

I'm curious to see how Zero is doing after the skip. :-)
oh hiii! im sorry i missed you message, thank you for keeping tabs! he did really good all day, numbers within range, unfortunately i couldn't give him his PM shot at the regular time due to a human emergency, i had to be at the doctors and only was able to shoot him 2 hours later than his scheduled shot, and he was back up to the 300s. at the time of his regular shot i tested him and he was already rising at 189, but i felt weary to shoot him then and leave the house since i had to go to the ER and didn't know how long i would be gone and wouldn't be able to monitor him in case he dropped really low, so i didn't shoot and thank fully the ER run was short, i was able to shoot 2 hours later.
I monitored him all night, his numbers were within range at +6 and +7 and this morning he is at 123 @+11

I will shoot the reduced dose now, hopefully I'm getting this right, : )

thank you all for your kind help!
 
Hiiii @Marje and Gracie yess! thank you sooo much for reaching out because I have been reading and re-reading your post on earning reductions but i still feel confused as to some of the terms like what shaving a dose means or shooting through the bounce, or back-to-back reduction. I have been following and reading on other links shared here where some of these terms get explained, because i am still even unsure as to what the differences are on tight regulation and start low go slow, so I'm still learning and confused.

2 things to note as of yesterday's dose: I skipped the morning due to concern that he would drop too low if I shot, since i stalled and 2 hours later when i tested to see if i should shoot, he was below 100. I did not shoot and tested him again through his cycle and his numbers kept within range. I was planning to shoot the reduced dose (vet recommended to cut to 1U because he gave me a sliding scale depending on his PS numbers and his increments or reductions are of 1U at a time, resulting in:

above 350 — 3u
200-349 — 2u
100-199 — 1u
below 100 — No Shot

which seems really aggressive to me. I had a personal emergency in the evening and I had to move his dose 2 hours later than usual, he usually gets it at 9am/9pm and i only was able to get home and give him the PM shot at 11pm. so the SS is a bit off on the actual times his tests were done. 2 hours later than what should have been his PM shot, he was at 305 so I shot at 1.5U.
He doesn't really eat much at night until around 4am-ish which is when i woke up because i saw he was eating the whole thing again, which was my sign to test him the day he went down to 60 I can tell when he is going down he shows signs of a lot of hunger, so i got up, tested him and he was at 75@+6,

I've noticed these couple past days that his nadir probably lands between +4 and +7.
I was worried that he would drop more, but he ate his whole evening portion and his sister's too, so i figured that would make his numbers rise, and i tested again one hour later just to make sure he would not drop lower, he was a bit up at 86@+7.

his whole scheduled is now moved to 11am/11pm because of my late shot last night. I just tested him and he is sitting at 123@+11
I am wondering if my dose reduction needs to be permanent moving forward? so 1.5U and close monitoring?

Again, this forum has been a heaven and earth change for me and Zero when it comes to getting his glucose under control but I feel I still need tons of learning to do. (at least he now allows me to test frequently without attacking and he finally is taking the wet food. the small big wins : )}

ps. I updated the SS to reflect his numbers
It’s fine if you gave 1.5u already.

Can you please start a new condo for today and I will respond there as soon as take care of my kitty. Thank you.
 
Back
Top