05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 PMPS 374 +2=293 +4=295

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13798

So woke up to the horrid red again. Tray was in a great mood though, terrorizing the poor dog and play fighting with his brother. Of course he was also feisty when I gave him his new dose today and I think it ended up a fur shot. He just looked at me like he thought it was a game, I swear he was laughing at me when I scolded him! :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Hi and welcome!

It can take a bit of time to find the right dose but you'll get there! Be patient, get as many spot checks in as you can (+4 and +6 are good ones to start with) so you can figure out when the insulin starts to work (some kitties it kicks in earlier, some later I guess it depends on metabolism or something?) and pretty soon you'll have a much better idea of what's going on. The spot checks are where you will get the most information.

It can be a slow process to get started with some kitties and then they may turn around and race right back down the dosing ladder. This isn't a process we humans get to control, we can try to guide it in the direction we want but we're mostly just following along and doing what kitty's body tells us to do.

Trey is a gorgeous kitty! Try to be patient, I know it's frustrating, but you'll get there!
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

thank you Marvie,
I know everything you say is true I am not known for my patience though, tis a virtue I lack. :lol: But I will try.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Hi guys, don't think I have posted in your condo yet. Just wanted to say I totally understand your frustration with these nasty numbers. I hope you guys find the right dose soon, and get some much prettier numbers!

And always remember, our kitties are more then just numbers to us ... I mean after all, it does sound like Tray has kept his sense of humor, right? :lol: Hang in there!
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Heh, patience was a foreign word to me a few months ago too ;-) I've learned it with FD but I haven't yet managed to apply it in the rest of my life :lol:
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Let's hope it wasn't a fur shot but if it was, it happens. We've all been there.

As for patience, I'm not sure you have a choice. How fast or slow this process will be is entirely up to Tray!
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

That dreaded word: PATIENCE! ugh. Wish they had it for sale at Walmart!
Have you been getting ketone tests? Would be a good idea to note it on your SS when you check for them, k?
That is the one thing that we CAN do with the higher numbers.....
We have to sit and watch these ugly Reds and eventually, they will go away....
It's good that Tray is acting okay....that is important.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

I haven't been able to get a ketone test in but I will keep trying this weekend. He's a very private pooper & peer and with multiple cats sharing the box its been hard.
Patience, Patience :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

You could always accidentally close the bathroom door while he's in there hiding behind the shower curtain in a place he's never been known to be... then he might leave a deposit in the shower for you to examine and test at your leisure. Or does that only happen to me?

I have 5 cats and never know who belongs to which LB deposit but a couple of days ago Tugger apparently got stuck in the bathroom for who knows how long after someone closed the door and he left a firm stinker (I need to add more water to his foods I think) on the shower floor for me and what looked and smelled like pee near the drain. If you did it on purpose you could actually leave him a box to use instead of your shower floor ;-)
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

aww poor kitty, I don't know if I can do that but I may have to resort to it. I'm going to try and covertly stalk him this weekend and catch him in the act.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Good morning! I don't think I've posted to your condo in the past either, but wanted to drop in and say welcome! and know all too well the frustration level you feel. I too am not known for my patience - but have learned how - especially when dealing with Mannie, FD, and his agenda - which I swear he totally controls. It will all come together over time.

You've found a great place, lots of wonderful caring people, all there to help. It has been a god-send for me.

So welcome! And good morning and greetings from Michelle and Mannie. :-D
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Thank you Michelle and Mannie.
I'm sure patience will come I just want him to be healthy, he's my baby. I've had him since he was dumper on my porch at 2 months and this guy has gotten me through so much in my life I want the best for him.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Frustration is the name of the game here, all part of the Sugardance. Go ahead and vent here, we all understand. Just be advised, as soon as you do, the little furball wil do 180 in the opposite direction. Just to make you look look a silly momma bean. :roll: :lol:

How many cats do you have? If only Tray, you could try a non-absorbent litter (like aquarium gravel) and ketone test from that. It can be washed out in a screen.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

I have two cats and a dog, but my neighbours cats always comes in for visits too so its pretty much a zoo.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Keep trying, I know it's hard but ketone tests are really important a higher numbers. You may have to resort to the bathroom trick.

BTW Tray has the most gorgeous eyes!
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

I will keep trying, and I will persevere! Even if it kills me!
Tray says thank you for the compliment.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Iorwen & Tray said:
I have two cats and a dog, but my neighbours cats always comes in for visits too so its pretty much a zoo.


Hmmm well that could make testing his pee difficult!

I'm going to try and covertly stalk him this weekend and catch him in the act.

I'm just going to have fun imagining you spending your weekend stalking your cat for his pee haha_smiley Will you wear all black and be Ninja about it? Or will you go with the 40's detective style? Ooooh or secret ops military?? I want to have the image right in my head :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Hope it wasn't a fur shot but if it was you'll get back on track tonight. Hoping the 2.25u brings numbers down. Looks like you are close to a good dose.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Marvie and Tugger said:
I'm just going to have fun imagining you spending your weekend stalking your cat for his pee haha_smiley Will you wear all black and be Ninja about it? Or will you go with the 40's detective style? Ooooh or secret ops military?? I want to have the image right in my head :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Definately the 40's detective style, the fedoras suit me.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Hi
As the others said before me, Patience is something that is so difficult to have here
but it is one of the most important attributes to have here.

Please have a look at my Max's ss which should make you understand.
We started in November with awful reds and pinks and went all the way to 6u in February.

Max is now off insuln for the past 5 weeks.
I cried many nights that I could not heal him and that he would not get better and
I watched plenty of people on the board shooting these tiny doses and it was very hard on me.
Treating FD was extremely frustrating and stressful for me (as for many others) but right now my Max is happy and healthy and just so wonderful.
Hang in okay.
The beans here are amazing and you will help Tray.
This is a sugar dance and Tray leads. You just get to follow :-D
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Awesomesauce, that's what I always imagine when people talk about stalking the LB :lol: I can alter the image to a ninja or a spec ops style though when needed. *Hey, you gotta have your fun where you can, yanno?* :-D
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Hi guys, don't think I have posted on your condo's yet either but wanted to say hi and welcome. I was banging my head against the wall in the beginning wondering if Scrabble would ever get regulated and then when we found the right dose he went racing down the dosing ladder. Take a look at Scrabble's ss. It helps a lot to take a look at other kitties ss's. I did that in the beginning all the time, it gave me inspiration! It was a good month and a half before Scrabble started seeing much action so believe me Patience is the key. Everyone kept telling me that but I know it is hard to do! Keep your head up and have some chocolate, lol!!!
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

Randi looking at Max's spreadsheet has given me so much hope. Thank you.
And thank you to all of you for your advice, encouragement and wonderful sense of humour. I'd be in the funny farm if I hadn't found this place! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

These early days are tough! There's a lot to learn and it all just seems like it's SO MUCH. And it is. But it gets easier. I promise, it does get easier. Read everything you can find on the site, look at other ss's (that's part of why we put 'em in our signatures) check profiles (lots to learn there too!) visit other condos. Never hesitate to ask questions or ask for help. I personally think the education and support found here is most of the battle... on your end. Once you know what to do in various situations and have handled one or two of them successfully, you feel more confident. You can do this =) We're here to help.
 
Re: 05/07 Tray's AMPS 418 Frustrated!

It is so nice to see people suggesting to look at other SSs. You can learn soooo much from other SSs.
And going into other condos really helps too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top