05/07 Shmee PMPS 166, +3.75 41, +6 43, +7 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Member Since 2018
Previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-pmps-275-dose-increase.195215/#post-2185158

Good morning everyone,

Last night I increased Shmee to 4.75. Wendy pointed out yesterday she would've kept the dose a few more days. I was so ready to increase him after those high pinks that I totally forgot TR calls to wait five days instead of three when you see a number under 100, and he got down to 76 Saturday. So he should have been on the 4.5 dose another two days. :banghead: I assume it is too late to take him back to 4.5, correct? What do you think the best course of action is? Shooting in a little over an hour.
 
Last edited:
AMPS 315
Shot 4.75
I had to make a decision so I assumed it was better to keep the new dose, wasn't sure. Hopefully he doesn't go too low. I will keep a good eye on him.

Also - this morning he ate his AB in the pill pocket so his mouth must be feeling less sore. So happy and I hope he continues this trend. Also behavior wise he is a lot more lovey and has been able to nap more. So hopefully the reaction to the anesthesia is finally over with.
 
Not a bad call, Amanda. With all the craziness of the dental and your vets dose input and then seeing good numbers before and then numbers trend back up, lots of reasons to get confused. Keeping the depot more stable with last night’s increase, as long as you can monitor, Shmee will let you know what he thinks about it all.

So, so, so happy he ate his pill! :woot: A huge win and better option for all involved. Please keep eating the pill pockets, Shmee, trust me it’s better for you that way! :cat:
 
AMPS 315
Shot 4.75
I had to make a decision so I assumed it was better to keep the new dose, wasn't sure. Hopefully he doesn't go too low. I will keep a good eye on him.

Also - this morning he ate his AB in the pill pocket so his mouth must be feeling less sore. So happy and I hope he continues this trend. Also behavior wise he is a lot more lovey and has been able to nap more. So hopefully the reaction to the anesthesia is finally over with.
Still doing AB ourselves. Silver plays with the pill pocket making it all soggy before catching and eating it. Maybe he thinks it's alive.
 
Not a bad call, Amanda. With all the craziness of the dental and your vets dose input and then seeing good numbers before and then numbers trend back up, lots of reasons to get confused. Keeping the depot more stable with last night’s increase, as long as you can monitor, Shmee will let you know what he thinks about it all.

So, so, so happy he ate his pill! :woot: A huge win and better option for all involved. Please keep eating the pill pockets, Shmee, trust me it’s better for you that way! :cat:

Thank you! And yes it was such a nice surprise and made for a much better morning :coffee:

Still doing AB ourselves. Silver plays with the pill pocket making it all soggy before catching and eating it. Maybe he thinks it's alive.

Haha that is great :joyful: whatever works!
 
PMPS 166
Shot 4.75
Acted as though he was starving for the last hour and when I go to feed him at 9 he wouldn't eat.... I am so confused. He has acted so much better all day and now this. Was supposed to give him his shot at 9, finally got him to eat enough (about a 1/4 of a can. he is grazer and usually eats the rest later anyway?) to give him shot and pill (wouldn't eat the pill pocket again...) at 9:25. He only likes two flavors of the FF classics (beef and chicken) and I have tried them both. If he doesn't eat more by 10 I am going to try the seafood one I have as backup... It's making me scared it's his liver because since the dental I have not given him the Denamarin since he gets them with the pill pockets and he wouldn't eat the pill pockets since the dental, and when he did I wanted to be able to give him the AB in them. Ugh....
The low preshot was odd too... I hope I made the right decision to shoot him....
 
PMPS 166
Shot 4.75
Acted as though he was starving for the last hour and when I go to feed him at 9 he wouldn't eat.... I am so confused. He has acted so much better all day and now this. Was supposed to give him his shot at 9, finally got him to eat enough (about a 1/4 of a can. he is grazer and usually eats the rest later anyway?) to give him shot and pill (wouldn't eat the pill pocket again...) at 9:25. He only likes two flavors of the FF classics (beef and chicken) and I have tried them both. If he doesn't eat more by 10 I am going to try the seafood one I have as backup... It's making me scared it's his liver because since the dental I have not given him the Denamarin since he gets them with the pill pockets and he wouldn't eat the pill pockets since the dental, and when he did I wanted to be able to give him the AB in them. Ugh....
The low preshot was odd too... I hope I made the right decision to shoot him....

If you got the right size gel caps, you might be able to put the antibiotics and denamarin in the same cap to pill him. I don’t know how big they are. It’s okay that you gave him the shot, as long as you can monitor him. Asia didn’t eat one time after I gave her a shot. I syringed Karl syrup in her mouth every time her numbers dropped, all night. Not fun, but it works. Hopefully he will just eat more for you. :bighug:
 
If you got the right size gel caps, you might be able to put the antibiotics and denamarin in the same cap to pill him. I don’t know how big they are. It’s okay that you gave him the shot, as long as you can monitor him. Asia didn’t eat one time after I gave her a shot. I syringed Karl syrup in her mouth every time her numbers dropped, all night. Not fun, but it works. Hopefully he will just eat more for you. :bighug:

Thank you, I feel like a real fool messing up his dose, and now I am so scared for him.. I have honey and HC food just in case. What number do you think I should start giving the HC at, if he gets there? I was thinking 75? And then honey if he gets down to 60? Is that too conservative?
 
You’re doing TR, I think you can be reactive instead of proactive here. Don’t bust out the high carbs and honey unless he’s below 50 and needs it. If you see his numbers dropping, do like you did on 5/2 and just give some of his regular food and see if it works. If there is a steep drop, try perhaps a little medium carb or mix a bit of the high carb with your low carb, not a lot though, a couple teaspoons at most. If he’s not eating at all and you see a large drop, I would start small and give .1u of honey? And test in about 15-20 to see what kind of a dent it made. I find it works better to use an oral syringe because that way you know how much it took to give what kind of a rise.

The numbers will tell you what you need to do and make sure to write in your SS what and how much you gave where so you have it for future reference. Perhaps if he’s not eating because his mouth is a bit sore, he will be enticed by HC gravy, it’s hard for them to ever refuse that stuff. :rolleyes:
 
Thank you I appreciate the response! His behavior is confusing. I found him under my bed, somewhere he never goes, wide eyed. I took him out to test his +1, and now he's acting fine and playing. He hasn't played like this since before the dental! So odd... I also just caught him eating a tiny bit more. I cannot stay up all night.. I wish I could. I think I am going try to stay up to get the +2 and then set an alarm for another.
 
If he’s not eating and you can’t stay up with him until after nadir (or wake up to test him throughout the night) I would leave out a good amount of high carb and give him a good bit of honey before sleeping. If you can set your alarm to test him every 2-3 hours to make sure he’s safe that would be best, you can’t take a lot of risk here because he has gone green on a similar preshot and without food on board, he could go lower than you want.

It’s awesome that he’s being so playful. I hope the dental makes him feel so much better.
 
Oh yes I will set alarms but won’t be able to stay up the entire night since I work at 7am :confused: I do plan on trying to find his nadir, I set an alarm for a +4. Once I see what he is then and if he’s eaten more, I will set an alarm for either a +5 or +6 and go from there.
 
+3 58
Just came in to bed to lay with me after eating some LC food.
Testing again in 20 minutes.
I’m thinking I’m going to scale him back to 4.5U where he should’ve remained.... ugh
 
+3 58
Just came in to bed to lay with me after eating some LC food.
Testing again in 20 minutes.
I’m thinking I’m going to scale him back to 4.5U where he should’ve remained.... ugh

You just never know. It could have taken him a long time to see green after the bounce on 4.5. It’s all good stuff to file away and know for the future how he reacts to dose changes and such. If he gave you a 41, it’s a dose reduction anyway. Hope he comes up and you can get some sleep tonight. :):bighug:
 
+3 and 40 mins 41
Fed one Tbsp of HC (12%) food. Just realized this should have been a tsp not a Tbsp... yet another oops. :banghead:

+4 55
 
+ 6 43
Wouldn't eat HC food so gave him .1 honey from oral syringe.

+6 and 20 mins 44
Honey didn't do much? Gave 2 tsp of HC food (switched to 13% oceanfish to get him interested in it)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top